We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Place to Stay on Business” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Capitol Plaza Hotel & Convention Center Jefferson City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Capitol Plaza Hotel & Convention Center Jefferson City
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Jefferson City
Missouri
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Good Place to Stay on Business”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

I have been staying at the Capitol Plaza when on business trips to Jefferson City for the last eight years. It is the best place in Jefferson City if you have any business at the Capitol Building. I will stay again. It is not a luxury hotel, but that is not why you would go there. On my most recent stay the room was clean and comfortable and as quiet as can be expected in a downtown area. The televisions have been updated recently to flat screens. Service is generally good. We did have issues with the workout room, it is little toward the stuffy side, too warm, not enough airflow, machines were in good condition though. The property is starting to show signs of neglect, and judging from management responses to other reviews, they are trying to update. The parking garage and connecting elevator need some serious paint and cleaning. The carpet in the main atrium is worn out. As I said earlier, I will be back and I expect these issues to be addressed.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Arch_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

616 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    188
    127
    83
    53
See reviews for
85
55
21
355
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bismarck, Missouri
Level Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Looking for a weekend of romance, my wife and I booked a room at the Capitol Plaza. Based on earlier reviews we'd heard the atrium had a waterfall from ceiling to floor, a nice breakfast, and, for a bit more money, a romance package. It seemed perfect, so we booked it.

Upon arrival, we were impressed with the ease of check-in and the parking. For the price, however, there was no bell service, so we spent a while lugging our luggage up to our room (perhaps that's why they call it luggage).

On first glance, the room seemed fine. According to our Romance Package, however, we were supposed to have a room with a special view... in our case, special means a Model 324D Rooftop Air Conditioning Unit. In addition, instead of finding a chilled bottle of champagne in the room, we had to call the front desk to order it. Once it arrived, however, we popped the cork and had a couple of glasses. The champagne was excellent. One of the best bottles I've had.

On our way to dinner, we decided to take a tour of the hotel. It was nice, but a few notches south of luxury. The middle atrium was open, but there was no waterfall, just a few empty chairs waiting for patrons to also discover a lack of activities and take a rest.

After dinner, there was really nothing to do, so we returned to our room... only to find it reeking of cigarette smoke. Because there were notices warning that smoking in one's room would earn a $200 plus cleaning fee, we called the desk to inform them that we weren't the ones smoking in the room.

The front desk sent a maintenance man to the room, but he couldn't discover the source of the smell. He offered to change the air conditioning filters, but told us that the floor we were on was once the smoker's floor, so we would probably smell the smoke as long as the air conditioner was on. Really?

By the next morning, my wife was sick and unable to breath through her nose after a night of breathing in the stale smoke smell.

And that's how our romantic weekend went.... up in smoke.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the 2nd floor and ask for a floor that has never been a smoker's room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank etherius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeffCityGM, Front Office Manager at Capitol Plaza Hotel & Convention Center Jefferson City, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Your comments are greatly appreciated both the negative and positive. I would like to extend our sincerest apologies to your wife. We are currently updating the waterfall and the project is almost complete. We do not have a bell staff but there is always someone more that willing to assist our guests. Your review has been shared with our management staff as well as our associates. There is always room for improvement. Again, I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Our goal is always to achieve the highest level of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Jefferson City hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

This place is old and rundown and is an embarrassment. I hope people that come to see our state Capitol don't think the people of Missouri live like this.

Service stinks. The following things were broken: sauna, hot tub, waterfall, tv. The fitness room is a joke and there were loud groups here both nights I was here.

Avoid staying here.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steffadoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeffCityGM, Front Office Manager at Capitol Plaza Hotel & Convention Center Jefferson City, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Thank you sharing your experience with us. We are currently udating the waterfalls and tv's.
Unfortunately there is no convenient time to schedule these projects without impacting our guests. We are excited about the updates and are looking forward to the completion of these projects. I am sorry that your past stay with us was so disappointing. I would like to invite you back to stay with us in the future. We would like to be your hotel of choice during your visits to Jefferson City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Missouri
Level Contributor
115 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

Stayed two different times due to conferences and meetings at the Capitol. Our first room was 611 and the second 421 which is a handicap accessible room. Dates were Jan 23 and Jan 30 & 31. Check in was smooth and rooms were available at check in time. Both rooms were clean, comfortable and we were not bothered by noises either stay.

During our last stay we had three large group meals. The food was good, the service was just as good and efficiently presented. The staff at all events and housekeeping staff were very courteous and friendly.

It seems that this hotel has problems keeping its two elevators operational. During both stays at least one of the elevators was not operational at some point. To help accommodate the guests reaching their rooms access to the service elevator was provided. This helped reduce the wait.

Having access to both covered and outdoor parking is a plus, especially if there is severe weather. The proximity to the Truman Office Building and State Capitol are major advantages for staying here. Conference and banquet facilities are also positive features.

The waterfall was non operational during both stays which made for a quieter hotel but not necessarily an improvement. Will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harold J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nixa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

My wife and I stayed in July 2011 and were so thrilled with the experience we brought the whole family to stay over Christmas. The Executive Suite was beautiful and allowed us to seperate the children from the adults while still maintaining security and safety. The staff at this fine hotel are completely interested in making you comfortable and happy. This will be our place to stay anytime we come home to Jefferson City for a visit. Thank you for 2 awesome experiences in 2011.

Room Tip: The executive suite is the best value for any family!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jefferson City hotels
0.8 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Jefferson City
3.5 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Capital Inn
BEST WESTERN PLUS Capital Inn
#1 of 13 in Jefferson City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
0.2 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Jefferson City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 km away
Candlewood Suites Hotel Jefferson City
3.7 km away
Days Inn Jefferson City
Days Inn Jefferson City
#5 of 13 in Jefferson City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
6.6 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Jefferson City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capitol Plaza Hotel & Convention Center Jefferson City? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capitol Plaza Hotel & Convention Center Jefferson City

Property: Capitol Plaza Hotel & Convention Center Jefferson City
Address: 415 W McCarty St, Jefferson City, MO 65101-1599
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Jefferson City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Jefferson City
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,066 - ₹ 9,571
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Capitol Plaza Hotel & Convention Center Jefferson City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit Missouri's capital city and experience its rich history and great entertainment options. Enjoy first-class accommodations in recently renovated guest rooms appointed with all the comforts of home, including wireless Internet access, luxurious new bedding, and USA Today available complimentary Monday through Friday. With six room types to choose from, you'll find the ideal accommodations to meet your needs - whether you're in town for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Capitol Plaza Hotel & Convention Center Jefferson City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capitol Plaza Jefferson City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing