We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The staff is friendly and helpful and the location is still a major virtue.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Capitol Plaza Hotel & Convention Center Jefferson City
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Jefferson City
Savannah, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“The staff is friendly and helpful and the location is still a major virtue.”
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Stayed two different times due to conferences and meetings at the Capitol. Our first room was 611 and the second 421 which is a handicap accessible room. Dates were Jan 23 and Jan 30 & 31. Check in was smooth and rooms were available at check in time. Both rooms were clean, comfortable and we were not bothered by noises either stay.

During our last stay we had three large group meals. The food was good, the service was just as good and efficiently presented. The staff at all events and housekeeping staff were very courteous and friendly.

It seems that this hotel has problems keeping its two elevators operational. During both stays at least one of the elevators was not operational at some point. To help accommodate the guests reaching their rooms access to the service elevator was provided. This helped reduce the wait.

Having access to both covered and outdoor parking is a plus, especially if there is severe weather. The proximity to the Truman Office Building and State Capitol are major advantages for staying here. Conference and banquet facilities are also positive features.

The waterfall was non operational during both stays which made for a quieter hotel but not necessarily an improvement. Will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harold J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

795 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    249
    162
    101
    66
See reviews for
114
66
28
464
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nixa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

My wife and I stayed in July 2011 and were so thrilled with the experience we brought the whole family to stay over Christmas. The Executive Suite was beautiful and allowed us to seperate the children from the adults while still maintaining security and safety. The staff at this fine hotel are completely interested in making you comfortable and happy. This will be our place to stay anytime we come home to Jefferson City for a visit. Thank you for 2 awesome experiences in 2011.

Room Tip: The executive suite is the best value for any family!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midwest
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2011

We just stayed for 2 nights here. It's got a beautiful waterfall in the atrium. We felt our room was clean but the bed was actual torture. The mattress was like a cement slab and it had 4 of the smallest, hardest pillows we've ever seen. Think the size of a travel pillow. My husband asked for 3 more and we received them promptly but they were, of course, more of the same. We both hardly slept and woke up the next day with terrible back/neck aches. And, the bathroom is very small. 2 of us could not be in the bathroom getting ready at the same time. The door comes within inches of hitting the toilet when you open it. No Fridge if you like having those available.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stamping1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Jefferson City hotels

Conception Junction
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

Stayed one night for a conference. Room was fine, clean, except for some hair in the shower. No bugs. Glad to have free underground parking.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank msj5674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, MO
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

We recently stayed here for a professional association conference. We were put in 3 different rooms due to the following: First, we were in a room prepared for someone else (who hadn't yet checked in), but rather than move that person, we were told to get our things and move to another room. Our next room was so smoky that we couldn't stand it, it hit like a ton of bricks when opening the door. Our third room was acceptable.

As we settled in for the night, our heat didn't work (we were told it just takes a long time on the 9th floor, but at 4:30am, it was down to 66 degrees in our room), one of our TV's didn't work, the internet service was out of commission on the 9th floor. Our room didn't have an iron, we had to request one.

Finally, we asked for a late checkout. We were told that no rooms were available so that couldn't be accommodated. So instead, I offered to pay for an additional night. Well, in that case, we were offered to stay in our same room. How could a late checkout not be accommodated by paying for an additional night in the same room was possible??

Our professional association must consider moving to another hotel, even if that means going to Columbia or Lake of the Ozarks, this place is awful....would never stay here again. If I ever have to be in Jefferson City again, I'll drive in every day before I subject my family to this again.

Room Tip: Just don't stay here, go anywhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spfd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
candy c, Front Office Manager at Capitol Plaza Hotel & Convention Center Jefferson City, responded to this review, 18 November 2011
We appreciate that you took the time to comment on your stay at our hotel.
We apologize for the inconvenience of having to move your room. It is not our policy to move a guest and not something that should have happened. Be assured that this is something that I plan to address with my front desk team.
As of November 1, 2011, our hotel became completely nonsmoking. We hope that this will please the majority of our guests.

Here at the Capitol Plaza Hotel we pride ourselves on our customer service. The deficiencies you experienced during your stay were unacceptable. We have shared your comments with all the departments involved and taken steps to ensure that these service snags do not repeat.

We understand why you would prefer to not stay with us again based on your experience, however, we would like the opportunity to offer you an improved experience at the Capitol Plaza Hotel. Our hope is that after your next visit we would become your hotel of choice. Thank you again for your comments. They have been valuable to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jefferson City hotels
0.8 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Jefferson City
3.5 km away
Best Western Plus Capital Inn
Best Western Plus Capital Inn
#1 of 13 in Jefferson City
494 reviews
0.2 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Jefferson City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 km away
Candlewood Suites Hotel Jefferson City
3.7 km away
Days Inn Jefferson City
Days Inn Jefferson City
#5 of 13 in Jefferson City
501 reviews
6.6 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Jefferson City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capitol Plaza Hotel & Convention Center Jefferson City? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capitol Plaza Hotel & Convention Center Jefferson City

Property: Capitol Plaza Hotel & Convention Center Jefferson City
Address: 415 W McCarty St, Mo., Jefferson City, MO 65101-1537
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Jefferson City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Jefferson City
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,098 - ₹ 10,656
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Capitol Plaza Hotel & Convention Center Jefferson City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit Missouri's capital city and experience its rich history and great entertainment options. Enjoy first-class accommodations in recently renovated guest rooms appointed with all the comforts of home, including wireless Internet access, luxurious new bedding, and USA Today available complimentary Monday through Friday. With six room types to choose from, you'll find the ideal accommodations to meet your needs - whether you're in town for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Capitol Plaza Hotel & Convention Center Jefferson City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capitol Plaza Jefferson City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing