We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just to sleep, do not expect anything more”
Review of El Mirador Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
El Mirador Hotel
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Paracas
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“just to sleep, do not expect anything more”
Reviewed 1 May 2012

barely a 2 stars hotel. It seems that Peru is generous for "stars". This hotel was old: no a/c, old tube tv, internet not working. Food was ok but nothing to remember of.
Very noisy if you room faces the main road. In any case, walls and doors offer no filter for the noise coming from walking guests, cars,...

Room Tip: don't go if your budget can afford more otherwise just think it is for one night only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jayjay9926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    27
    23
    16
    12
See reviews for
24
25
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

It is a simple motel, with a decent pool. But rooms are small, bathrooms dirty and smelly, full of ants, flies and spiders. Too old, overpriced

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrestraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paracas hotels

Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
378 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2011

The rooms themselves are fairly basic and the bathroom could certainly do with a lift although the shower worked fine with plenty of hot water and it all seemed pretty clean.
Arrived after dark and it appeared that the hotel was in the middle of nowhere so we decided to use the poolside restaurant. The food was very good, although it is a little strange being the only people about.
The following morning we found we were only a short walk from town and harbour, but due to the lack of lighting we had had no idea. Basic breakfast, eggs, rolls, jam and the off for a trip round the islands (interesting if smelly).
Popped back and used the pool (a real bonus) was tempted to stay and eat in the hotel again, but popped into town instead. Nice staff, allowed us to check out a couple of hours late for our bus.
Pleasant stay in a nice hotel with basic rooms.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lI0ve2h0liday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
686 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 363 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2011

El Mirador is a nice place to stumble upon and a good place to base yourself for trips into the Paracas National Park.
The rooms are quite simple but very clean with good bathrooms and beds. Breakfast on the verandah was nice and you can see the sea about 200 metres away. This hotel is on the very edge of town but the place is so small that it only takes 5 minutes to walk into town.
The only slight downside about it is the fact you are right on the edge of the Pan America so you always hear traffic. On the plus side though you have fabulous gardens, a huge swimming pool and a nice area around the pool to eat and have drinks.

Room Tip: Stay at the back of the hotel where is is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TartanWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2011

I spent the nite there this week and I expected basic and I got basic. I wanted to do the Isle Ballestra boat tour from Lima. I took Cruz del Sur and the hotel is walking distance from the bus stop. I don't know what people expect as 'expensive' but even with the lousy US exchange a single room was around $45 with brkfst included. A single was 140 Soles and a double was I think 190. Since there are NO other hotels convenient to boat tours and close to the Parque reserve your choices are ltd. The Doubletree is way out of town and you'd pay hundreds of dollars for a nite. The hotel arranged a boat tour for me and they picked me up at the hotel. IN the afternoon I asked them to arrange a taxi and driver to take me for a 3 hr private tour of the Park which was nice to do. That cost me the equivalent of around $20. Unless your super picky, this is on the level of a Motel Six. There was a bed, tv and hot water. The grumpy waiter is still there but even though I was the only one in the rest dinner was good and so was brkfst. If your expectations aren't set too high this place is just fine an filled a need for a hotel convenient to doing a tour. They also stored my luggage so I could take the bus back from Lima in the afternoon.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank davidgmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paracas hotels
0.9 km away
Hotel Gran Palma
Hotel Gran Palma
#7 of 11 in Paracas
253 reviews
0.3 km away
San Agustin Paracas
San Agustin Paracas
#4 of 11 in Paracas
580 reviews
3.4 km away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Paracas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Bamboo Lodge
Bamboo Lodge
#8 of 11 in Paracas
169 reviews
1.4 km away
Hotel Paracas, a Luxury Collection Resort
3.2 km away
La Hacienda Bahia Paracas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Mirador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Mirador Hotel

Property: El Mirador Hotel
Address: Carretera Paracas Km 20 | Paracas National Reserve, Paracas 11550, Peru
Region: Peru > Ica Region > Paracas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Paracas
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,415 - ₹ 4,252
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your El Mirador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Mirador Paracas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing