We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Auberge Camelia
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aviernoz
Certificate of Excellence
Sandy, Beds
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Excellent holiday”
Reviewed 17 June 2007

We were met at Geneva Airport by Suzanne Farrell-Cook and transported to Auberge Camelia in their Van Rouge and were met by the most genial host Roger. We were immediately made to feel at home and despite the most varied cross section of guests - American, British, Indian - we were soon integrated into one happy family.
There were absolutely no signs of the criticisms made in July 2005, everywhere was clean and well organised, Suzanne's cooking was excellent.
Excursions in Van Rouge with other guests were well planned and most enjoyable, Roger driving and Suzanne giving detailed explanations of flora, fauna and related historical information.
I am unable to fault our visit in any way. Roger's recommendations for a day visit to Annecy were also most beneficial.


  • Liked — Kingsize bed, food and friendliness
  • Disliked — No swimming pool
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BSAP4853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    40
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
25
45
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicestershire
1 review
Reviewed 28 January 2007

We were really well looked after at the comfortable Auberge Camelia. Roger and Sue were great hosts to our group of 12 for a week and have a wealth of information about this fascinating area., with its links to the 2nd world war French resistance. It is in a quiet rural position, with lovely views and dramatic limestone scenery. The food and ambience were great. I reached the hotel in 10 hours from London by rail to Annecy, and then 20 mins by transport from the hotel.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
Thank hybrid_consumer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2006

We have had a wonderful few days at the auberge. We found it to be very warm and friendly. Large comfortable bed. Good food and good company. Sue and Roger go out of their way to make you very welcome. Their knowledge of the region and it's history is excellent and their recommendations of things to do and places to visit should be followed. If we are ever in this region again we would use this auberge and have no hesitation in recommending it to others.

  • Liked — warm and friendly atmosphere - good food _ large comfy bed
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank cariadogymru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2006

We stayed at Auberge Camelia recently, but all too briefly. A great location and a very comfortable room, with a fabulous view down the slopes to the distant church spire at Villaz, and the bathroom was spotless. A warm and generous welcome was provided by Roger and Sue; this was a great place to unwind.... We would strongly recommend this hotel.

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2006

We have just returned from a six night stay at Auberge Camelia. The hotel has undergone some refurbishment since my last visit two and a half years ago and is now even more welcoming than it was previously. What hasn't changed is the standard of service, cuisine and hospitality which were already as good as any I've experienced and extremely good value for money. The area is great for keen walkers and Sue and Roger are able to recommend a number of good locations for walks dependent upon aims and abilities. The location of the hotel in an alpine hamlet is wonderful and the hotel itself has a sun drenched terrace and balconies. It is in a quiet location, but frankly, what's wrong with that?

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
Thank Winstanleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aviernoz
7.7 km away
B&B Hotel Annecy
B&B Hotel Annecy
#1 of 2 in Argonay
93 reviews
15.1 km away
Hotel Rey
Hotel Rey
#1 of 1 in Saint-Blaise
157 reviews
13.0 km away
Domaine des Avenieres
Domaine des Avenieres
#1 of 2 in Cruseilles
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 km away
L'Imperial Palace
L'Imperial Palace
#4 of 47 in Annecy
1,087 reviews
7.0 km away
Logis Hotel Restaurant Annecy Nord / Argonay
12.9 km away
Mercure Annecy Sud
Mercure Annecy Sud
#2 of 4 in Seynod
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Auberge Camelia? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Auberge Camelia

Property: Hotel Auberge Camelia
Address: 406 route de Villaz | Grand Annecy, 74570 Aviernoz, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Aviernoz
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aviernoz
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,898 - ₹ 7,610
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Auberge Camelia 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Auberge Camelia is peacefully situated between Lake Geneva and Lake Annecy in the French Alpine village of Aviernoz.Offering 10 very comfortable bedrooms with en-suite bathrooms, and a restaurant, this is an ideal location for skiing, mountain walking or relaxing. It also serves as an excellent base to explore the French Alps, whether enjoying the clear, clean mountain air, or discovering the beauty of the mountains, lakes and villages in this outstanding area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Auberge Camelia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Camelia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing