We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Herzog Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Herzog Mansion
Ranked #34 of 50 Hermann B&B and Inns
Olathe
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very good experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2011

We visited Hermann with a group of friends; and stayed at Birk's Gasthaus. This B&B is very clean; and holds the traditional charm of Hermann. The rooms are large with comfortable beds and nice bedding. The parlor has a nice pool table and big screen TV. There is a huge wrap-around porch with plenty of seating and shade trees. The breakfast was excellent. The owner was very accomodating to our needs.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KC2035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    14
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
24
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2011

My colleagues and I periodically have court cases in Hermann, and sometimes require that we stay overnight to finish our court cases. We always stay at Birksgasthaus/Herzog Mansion because they have WIFI and a recreational room with a large screen TV, pool table and a porch. Richard our host has always been accommodating, he allows us to spread our papers on the dining room table to prepare for court, the food is very tasty and we get lots of it......YUMMY! he even shared his recipes with us. His granola and berries yogurt mix is to die for.... If you are not a breakfast eater, a big bowl of it will keep you full all day. The beds are very comfortable, the rooms are clean and very spacious. It is very quiet and serene over there and a great place to relax or a quiet getaway. I did not care to use the claw tub in my room but Richard allowed me to use the shower in another room that wasn't occupied. This was our fifth stay in the last year and our Corvette Club is coming back for October Fest. I would definitely recommend Birksgasthaus for your future stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sissyskydiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2011

Richard was a great innkeeper, myself and five friends stayed at Birk's for the weekend for an annual Wine Weekend in Hermann, Missouri. Though 3 of us rode together on the way down and called Richard to let him know that we were checking in late (because of work obligations), he was very nice and checked us in without any issues on Friday night.

The rooms were nice, they were older (as you would expect in a restored house), but they were comfortable. I think many of the girls rented rooms without a shower, so the tub was the only way to get ready in the morning.

Breakfast is served at a certain time in the morning and some of our party wished it was a little later because this was their weekend getaway. But a few of the girls would eat, then head back for a nap before we started our day.

There is a main fridge that Richard allows guests to put items in if needed, this is nice if you order Pizza and have leftovers for the next night or want to have cheese with your wine.

We had a great stay and utilized the shared lobby, sitting room and game room to talk and relax. The front porch is roomy and is nice to sit outside and have a glass of wine and spend time with your friends and family.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HAHAalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2011

Birks Gasthaus (now known as the Herzog Mansion which should have been a red flag) has fallen on some hard times. At one time a very popular spot in the beautiful town of Hermann, they were known for doing murder mystery dinners. The current owners unfortunately bought the home as an investment and never intended to run the business, that didn't work out. They are now running the home and are really unhappy about the way things have unfolded. The one word to describe this B&B is potential. If someone wanted to invest a considerable amount of time and energy this could be the showpiece in Hermann, but as for right now I would avoid it at all costs. The home is in desperate need of major repair. The place is DIRTY and needs a professional cleaning! We stayed in a room with dust and dirt everywhere. There were water stains running down the walls and much of the house had cobwebs and dirt. Richard, the owner, is in way over his head and is so unhappy and surly about his current situation that he makes guests feel uncomfortable rather than welcome. He would often follow me around the house lamenting on his woes about the home and begging someone to take it off his hands. For the $150 a night he charges we felt this was a terrible visit and wanted to have our money refunded (at one point my wife suggested I ask him to pay us for providing an ear for him to bend about his problems). The only time he tried to make our stay enjoyable was at breakfast. He is not a very good cook and his meals were average, but he tried. Although for the price I would expect a restaurant quality breakfast instead we were served a meal my daughter could have made. One of his breakfast attempts included day-old reheated bacon, an egg, and French toast that tasted like it was from a mix. He also served Sam's club brand OJ which is really unacceptable at these prices. Let me say this was, at one time, a jewel in Hermann and it could be again, but right now I would avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank znalbandian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rmacprivate, Owner at Herzog Mansion, responded to this review, 8 April 2011
Wow! Where to start to reply? Hard Times NO. It was when we took over three years ago and we've been working to bring it back since then. The severe hail storm that Hermann had caused everyone some damage and we are waiting for the insurance to correct some water damage. As for the rest of the review, all I can say is that their experience, seems to be very unique compared to all the other reviews we have ever received. If they had mentioned anything to us about their displeasure, we would have gladly given them a refund and found them other accommodations. I once gave a couple an unasked for full refund because there was a hot water issue in their room. Most of our guest enjoy our scratch made country breakfasts and our juice is actually our own blend of various fruit juices. All I can say is to look at all the reviews and then decide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
O'Fallon, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2011

We stayed at the Birk's (now called Herzog) B&B the weekend of 2/26/10. Nice place - very large (9+ bedrooms) and would be ideal for a large group (Hermann has many B&B's, but not many with that many rooms). The home was very spacious, quiet & comfortable. It is right in the middle of Hermann...about a 1/2 mile walk to Stone Hill or downtown. The host was very friendly and made great breakfasts. A great value - we would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sadiedog101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hermann
19.5 km away
Cedar Creek
Cedar Creek
#1 of 1 in New Haven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.7 km away
Hermann Crown Suites
Hermann Crown Suites
#8 of 50 in Hermann
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.8 km away
Harbor Haus Inn & Suites
Harbor Haus Inn & Suites
#10 of 50 in Hermann
3.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Stone Haus B&B
Stone Haus B&B
#14 of 50 in Hermann
5.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.9 km away
Captain Wohlt Inn
Captain Wohlt Inn
#2 of 50 in Hermann
5.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
0.8 km away
Cobbler Room & Cottage B&B and Massage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Herzog Mansion? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herzog Mansion

Property: Herzog Mansion
Address: 700 Goethe St, Hermann, MO 65041-1247 (Formerly Birk's Gasthaus)
Region: United States > Missouri > Hermann
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Hermann
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,384 - ₹ 11,686
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Herzog Mansion 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Birk's Gasthaus is a mansion completed in 1886 for Mr. Herzog. It is furnished in a variety of antiques including brass beds, claw foot tubs and furniture. The mansion is once again used to entertain guests. The B&B has nine rooms, seven with private baths, and serves a full breakfast. Heat and air conditioning are provided by central units. Hospitality and warmth are provided by Dianne and Rick. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Herzog Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing