We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service, Good Food, Nice Atmosphere :)”

Joe Boccardi's Ristorante
Ranked #4 of 45 Restaurants in Eureka
Price range: US$ 10 - US$ 30
Cuisines: Deli, Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Description: With incredible pizza, pastas, and other authentic Italian cuisine, Joe Boccardi's has been a St. Louis favorite since 1971. Enjoy the casual and family-friendly atmosphere of Joe Boccardi's Ristorante at any of our four locations.
Reviewed 6 September 2017

We came to celebrate my Mom's birthday. She moved to Eureka last year and we have slowly been checking out the restaurants. They have a very classic Italian menu, which you can check out online, that covers a variety of tastes. We got what we expected in an Italian place for atmosphere and food and were quite pleased.

We had the toasted ravioli appetizer, a fried chicken dinner, a cannelloni dinner, and a steak dinner. All were above average except the chicken. Chicken meat was fine, but the crust was burnt (overly brown, not black). I did not complain, so it is quite possible that it would have been fixed had I done so. I had bites from all the dishes :) Both the white sauce and the red sauce were good and tasted very traditional. The steak was reasonably priced and tasted good. Next time I am ordering pizza - every one of them that went by my table smelled & looked excellent.

Not sure why people are complaining about the service - certainly possible that the owner/management has been listening and improving that aspect of it. We went on a weekend night and there were plenty of wait staff and cooking staff. You can watch them cook on one side of the place, which is interesting. We were treated very well by a charming, attentive young lady. A few other young people kept a good eye on our glasses and plates for refills and removal if the waitress got tied up. The excellent service went far in influencing me to give a five-star rating despite the chicken.

The atmosphere is traditional family-style ristorante on one side and combination bar/cafe on the other. Both are dark and a little noisy, but overall a happy noise and not painful. The place was busy.

They have a lovely and large outdoor seating area that looks very shady & inviting. It was above 90 degrees the night we went, so we did not get to try it out. Can't wait to come back when it is cooler & try it.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank IDKwhoIare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cass K, Public Relations Manager at Joe Boccardi's Ristorante, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

We are excited to hear that you and your family had such a great time celebrating your mother's birthday with us and that you were able to find a local restaurant that you liked! We love that you all enjoyed everything that you ordered to eat! We cannot wait to have you back again this fall to try one of our pizzas very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2017 via mobile

We had gone here last year and were very frustrated with the service and food, but they asked us to try again in a follow-up letter.

We went back with a group and had a much better experience. The service was slow but the place was extremely busy. The service was excellent and the food was very good.

Most of our group had pizza, but some had lasagna and I had the nonna salad. It was excellent. The staff was very helpful and efficient. We were glad we tried again and will go back.

Thank zomzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cass K, Public Relations Manager at Joe Boccardi's Ristorante, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

We are thrilled to hear that your second visit to our restaurant was a success! We love that everyone in your group had a wonderful time and that you all enjoyed everything that you ordered to eat. We hope that you all will come back and join us for another meal very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

Overall the food was ok but the service was awful. We had a party of 8 and they brought out everyone's food but one pizza. The server said it would be right out, 10 minutes later the server came back to the table without the pizza. We asked where it was and she said she gave our pizza to the wrong table. Long story short after everyone else finished eating the final pizza arrived. Our server didn't apologize or offer any kind of discount. It started to rain right before dessert came out so we tried to move under the covered area of the patio. The staff was very rude and didn't help accommodate us. They all stood around and watched us while one server held our ice cream as it was melting. We moved back in the rain and paid our bill full price with a 20% tip even though they all deserved 10% at best. I suggest ordering pizza Togo don't waste your time with the staff.

Thank Betsy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cass K, Public Relations Manager at Joe Boccardi's Ristorante, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Thank you, Betsy, for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are disappointed to hear that your experience at our restaurant was not what you had anticipated. Customer service is very important to us and this is certainly not the way that we want our customers to leave. We would love to further discuss your situation if you could please give us a call. We hope that we can make things right with you and that you will come back to give our restaurant another chance!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017

Went there for dinner and had 2 pastas and 1 chicken special. Red sauce on tortellini tasted burnt and not much of it on the pasta. Tutti mare seafood pasta was OK at best. House made ravioli may have been the best dish but was only average. Chicken special came with a sauce but no accompanying pasta, but it did include 1 side dish.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Al W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cass K, Public Relations Manager at Joe Boccardi's Ristorante, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Al, we are pleased to hear that you had such a wonderful dining experience with us! We value the feedback of all of our customers and we appreciate you taking the time to provide us with yours! We hope that you will come back and visit us again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

I've frequented Boccardis for 33 years. Joe is often there making sure everything is up to his perfection. I've never had a bad dinner or even an off dinner here. My favorite is a wonderful pizza and salad with a glass of wine. Service is top notch. If I'm lucky I get to speak to Joe himself such a gentleman. I'm glad this wonderful establishment has persevered in spite of Eureka's recent floods. Well worth stopping by

Thank green2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cass K, Public Relations Manager at Joe Boccardi's Ristorante, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2017

We are so thankful for all of your service over the last 33 years! We greatly appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback! We are happy to hear that you have never had a bad experience at our restaurant and we are looking forward to having you visit us again in the very near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Joe Boccardi's Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing