We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Captain influences quality of experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ride The Ducks of Branson

Ride The Ducks of Branson
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 26.50*
and up
Branson Duck Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Be Entertained on Branson's only Land and Water Adventure. One amazing experience that is fun, informative, entertaining, and unique.
Mansfield, Arkansas, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Captain influences quality of experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2012

We have rode the ducks on previous occasions and always enjoy it. I must say each captain puts his/her own spin on the ride. Some talk more about the history of the area and others make jokes and make it a comedy tour. Our captain was Captain Gramps on this most recent experience. He was pretty good. His sound equipment was messing up a lot so it was hard to hear him. We went at 10:30 on a Tuesday. The duck was completely full. He let each person who wanted to drive on the water do so, even adults. He didn't rush anyone. It was fun and we will ride again in the future.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank JesuslvsJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,370 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,717
    469
    125
    31
    28
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Merrillville, Indiana
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Definately worth checking out!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2012

I agree this is one thing everyone should try when in Branson. We took the Table Rock Lake tour and enjoyed it very much. We have small kids (3 under 4) and they enjoyed it and kept their attention for most of the trip (we cut it close to nap time!) The Captain was great and really made the ride even more enjoyable. Thanks Captain Preach! It was nice being able to drive around and see everything and not worrying about driving and taking pictures. And getting to hear the local history and info was nice too. It was fun and entertaining. Our 3 yr old got to take a turn driving when we got on the lake and she was just so excited. And dont forget the quakers. they loved making the duck noises every chance they got. I give these guys credit for driving those around! Not easy I'm sure.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Theresa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandview, mo
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“What a fun ride”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

We've rode the Ducks multiple times. Always enjoyable. One of our favorite things is they let the young kids take turns driving the boat when we're out in the middle of the lake. The kids loved that. Very corny humor.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank getawayfromhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jefferson City, Missouri
Level Contributor
66 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“As expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

Riding the Ducks is one of those must does in Branson. It has been around forever, so they've got it down pat. Continuous flow of Ducks, so the wait is minimum. Even when you do wait, it's under an airy shaded area with live "entertainment".
They are very pro military, thus a military discount is offered.
I personally did not like the idea of being corralled before a camera to have my photo taken before boarding. The same goes for when you return. Instead of being allowed to exit the Duck and go to your vehicle, you are required to go through their gift shop crowded with everyone else. It's the same marketing technique retailers use during checkout with items you never intended to purchase. This is especially irritating when you have kids.
The ride itself was fun and entertaining as well as informative. Our guide was funny with the exception of a couple of "bombs". Liked the fact that the kids got to drive the Duck one we FINALLY got on the water. This brings up my biggest complaint; we spent twice as much time driving thru traffic and the woods than we did on the water. A Duck belongs on the water, not asphalt.

If you want to get a little wet, sit on the rear seat. When you make the big splash into the lake, expect a big spray.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank JetPlt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Effingham, Illinois
Level Contributor
161 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A great experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

We were not sure what exactly to expect. I had read up on the Ducks and how everyone seemed to enjoy it. So I wanted to plan it. We had our ride on Saturday at 10:30 AM. The captain was Captain Preach. The Captain was funny and kept your attention the whole time.

I don't know how you drive a vehicle in Branson traffic and serve as a tour guide but these Captains do it.

They rev you up, before you get going, and also another location that they take photo's which that you can purchase later. They don't like to sell you one picture they want you to at least purchase 2 of them and I think they want to charge from $20-30. $30 being for all four.

They play music and you quack along with your quackers at certain times during the tour. They also tell you where you can use your quackers for discounts, such as the Titanic, and the Dixie Stampede. I am not sure how often the discounts change maybe yearly? We did the Table Rock Lake tour, it was the only one available at the time due to Lake Taneycomo not being up yet this year on the tour.

The wife was a little concerned about us not wearing lifejackets and going into Table Rock Lake with our 1 year old child. The splashdown was great, with minimal water taken on by anyone. I know that is a worry for some people.

The kids and anyone else wanting to got a chance while in the water to take the captain's seat. The history of the area, and Branson, and the military vehicles was great! My wife even enjoyed the history, and normally she can't stand history related things. She also loved the view from the heights during the tour.

Overall an excellent experience, everyone should at least take the tour once, and enjoy the rewards from the quacker using it as a discount! We did use a coupon we found in a brochure or paper I believe we got at the motel, which was good for $1 off so we saved each a $1 on our tickets. Pick up the tourism brochures and pamphlets you never know what you might find to help with your trip.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeD587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ride The Ducks of Branson also viewed

 

Been to Ride The Ducks of Branson? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing