We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food and welcoming service”

Godfrey's Cafe Bistro in Duffield ( booking recommended )
Ranked #3 of 18 Restaurants in Duffield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 3 - US$ 40
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Established in 1999, Godfrey's Cafe Bistro is conveniently located at the old butchers shop in the heart of Duffield, just a short walk from Duffiled railway station. We are fully licenced and offer our customers access to free WiFi.Our friendly staff, freshly prepared food and relaxed atmosphere make Godfrey's Cafe Bistro the perfect place to come to for a quiet cup of coffee, a hearty full english breakfast or dinner with family and friends. (Children are always welcome).Our cafe is open daily from 8am till 3/4 tuesday to Saturday , Sunday 9 till 1 , breakfast and papers .In an effort to reduce our carbon footprint, where possible, we source all our ingredients from local suppliers. NB- we open on an evening for private parties of 8 or more, any celebration ! Please be aware, due to customer pressure, we now only serve breakfast all day on Saturdays, feel free to call me and discuss a lunch menu if you would prefer. Dog friendly, yes; outside only I’m afraid!
Reviewed 28 April 2018 via mobile

Went with my Wife and 4 year old for lunch. It was about 1130 because we had to get the little one back for preschool. This did mean that only the breakfast menu was available so was a little disappointed with that. The food we had from the breakfast menu however was superb. They were also very accommodating with our boy. Will definitely go back.

Thank jjc978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris W, Owner at Godfrey's Cafe Bistro in Duffield ( booking recommended ), responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2018

Thank you for your review, sorry you were disappointed that only breakfast was available! I don’t get many people wanting lunch at 1130am , hence breakfast finish at 12, and lunch begins, maybe you can come again and try something of the lunch time menu in the future.
Thanks chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2018 via mobile

Came here this morning without booking and, although they were busy, received our drinks and food in a timely manner. Waitress was very polite. This is the first time we've been here and we were initially taken aback by the volume and apparent brusqueness of the owner. However, it became apparent that this was simply his character coming through. We would certainly return. Thanks.

Thank Penaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris W, Owner at Godfrey's Cafe Bistro in Duffield ( booking recommended ), responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2018

Cheers, thank you very much for a great review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2018

Had a travelzoo vouch for a trip on the Ecclesbourne Valley Railway starting in Wirksworth and finishing in Duffield. Searched Tripadvisor to find somewhere to eat within walking distance from Duffield station as we had 2hrs to kill before the return trip back to Wirksworth.
Decided on Godreys Cafe Bistro and what a great place it was. The staff were welcoming and friendly, the decor bright and colourful and the food amazing. Had a breakfast/ brunch of eggs benedict with crispy maple cured bacon rather than the usual ham, 2 soft runny eggs all on a thin toasted base rather than the usual thick stodgy breakfast muffin. The hollandaise sauce over the top finished it off to perfection.
Could have chosen anything off the varied menu and I'm sure I wouldn't have been disappointed.
Will definately visit again iwhen passing through Duffield again perhaps to try something off the Lunchtime menu next time. Well done to the owner and chef . What a fabulous place you have.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Duffy53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris W, Owner at Godfrey's Cafe Bistro in Duffield ( booking recommended ), responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Thank you so much for a fantastic/ fabulous review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2018

Always a warm and friendly greeting here and if you want somthing to set you up for the day go for the Full English. Well cooked lovely ingredients and wash it down with a pot of tea, you will waddle out of here contented.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank johnhp702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris W, Owner at Godfrey's Cafe Bistro in Duffield ( booking recommended ), responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Thank you for your review and pictures

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

Had an amazing breakfast at Godfrey's cafe in Duffield on saturday. The breakfast was huge and didn't eat for the rest of the day. I went with my husband, son and daughter and will go again. Highly recommended.

Thank Mandy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris W, Owner at Godfrey's Cafe Bistro in Duffield ( booking recommended ), responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to give a great review
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Godfrey's Cafe Bistro in Duffield ( booking recommended ) also viewed

 

Been to Godfrey's Cafe Bistro in Duffield ( booking recommended )? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing