We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Welcoming comfy very clean”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Coundon, Bishop Auckland, Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
PATANDRIC...
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Welcoming comfy very clean”
Reviewed 29 May 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Dog friendly area,visited Darlington,Seaham Barnard Castle.beautiful countryside.
Lots of walks. Owner very friendly,and helpful.She provided us with a casserole to welcome us

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidS124...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely perfect”
Reviewed 2 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018
1
person found this review helpful

What a fabulous stay we have had at Westerton View. Margaret, the owner, is absolutely lovely. She had provided welcome goodies and a casserole for our arrival, it was delicious. The accommodation itself is absolutely perfect and provided the ideal place for our weekend of rest and relaxation. Thank you Margaret for a wonderful stay. We will be back x

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet M
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So comfy”
Reviewed 3 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

In our previous review, I forgot to mention: proximity to Kynren, downstairs smoker tolerant. The best place we stayed on our wait for our house purchase to complete. Margaret doesn't shunt smokers out into the weather. Although not PC, many people do smoke. Obviously not permitted in the living quarters, but a garden room is provided. I believe this is a VERY important point. They are non smokers, but open minded enough to offer the option.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna C
Mold, Flintshire, UK
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Above and beyond”
Reviewed 23 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We stayed for a week in this spotlessly clean, comfortable and tasteful flat. The pictures do not do it full justice. The flat is equipped with everything you could possibly need and so far this is like many other holiday lets. However, the owner, Margaret Taylor, makes this property something special. She is friendly, welcoming, but above all kind and generous. To be given a delicious meal on our first evening was wonderful after a long journey. But on top of that Margaret provided milk, butter, bread, cake, biscuits, tea, coffee and wine as part of the deal. We have never encountered such hospitality elsewhere. We cannot recommend this property highly enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Sep 2016
Thank you for taking the time to share this thoroughly lovely review with us all, we are absolutely over the moon that you enjoyed your stay at Westerton View. It is wonderful to hear you had everything you needed to hand there, and indeed, having such a thoughtful owner sounds like the icing on the cake! We will be sure to pass your compliments along to the owner and hope you return for another holiday very soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret...
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
Reviewed 26 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We stayed here in June and were very pleased with the apartment. Everything was there for your convenience and Mrs Taylor (the owner) was on hand if needed to rectify or answer your questions. We found the apartment spotlessly clean with everything you could want, she even provided us with bread, butter and milk + a selection of biscuits and cake. We found them useful and a welcome addition. Not had this treatment before in other holiday rentals. The apartment was situated in a very good position for visiting many of the attractions the area has to offer. Dogs are very welcome too. We would certainly stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was well situated for visiting the attractions of Durham,.Yorkshire and Northumberland etc.
Liked least: The weather!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jun 2016
We couldn't be happier that you had a great break at Westerton View, thank you for taking the time to tell us about it. It sounds like the property was a great 'home' for your time there, and what better way to settle in than with biscuits and cake! We will be sure to pass your lovely comments along the the owner and hope you return for another holiday very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing