We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely traditional farmhouse. Cream tea on arrival really appreciated. Valerie makes you feel very welcome.”
Review of Wheatley Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wheatley Farm
Ranked #1 of 1 Maxworthy B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 September 2016

Such a treat to have breakfast freshly made and hot. Nothing was too much trouble for val. If you visit, take note of her suggestions on the best places to go. Swimming pool wonderful. Bedroom really cosy. Lovely to have a shared fridge, to store food you may need. Guided tour at Pitt Isaac around doc Martin country was well worth the £10 each.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely, from what we could see.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2016

Wheatley Farm isn't the easiest place in the world to find but it is well worth the effort! A lovely period property with just four rooms let to guests, all (I believe) with en-suite facilities as well as tea/coffee making facilities.

Ideally located for the North Cornish coastline, and for those more adventurous the rest of Cornwall is easily accessible for a day trip.

Fantastic full English breakfast each morning and the owners couldn't have been more hospitable during our stay, offering advice on where to eat and what local attractions are worthy of a visit.

Oh - and don't forget the heated swimming pool and jacuzzi!

If I had to make criticisms they'd be the following:

1) They offer free Wi-Fi but due to the construction of the building it's not available in all rooms (wasn't in ours anyway). Valerie - use Google and search for 'TP-Link Powerline'. A couple of those would sort your problem out in minutes! :)

2) Not all rooms have a bath, and although we asked for one unfortunately we were gazumped by another guest who arrived the day previous!

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank themanwithnoshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2016 via mobile

My partner surprised me with a 3 night stay at this beautiful B&B.
Upon arrival we were greeted by the owner Valerie who was very friendly and hospitable.
We stay in the room which had the spa bath which was absolutely stunning.

A large double bed which both myself and my partner just sunk into. We had the most amazing sleep ever! Truly a magical bed :)

The breakfast at the wheatley farm was amazing. All locally produced products so tasted much better than your average cafe breakfast.

We used the indoor pool which is a lovely size they have other facilities such as a hot tub ,sauna and steam room however as I am pregnant I was unable to use these.
I would definitely recommend staying here it is a lovely relaxing break with large rooms and a very accommodating host.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Gemma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2015

we stayed for a long weekend fri - mon. and where made very welcome upon arrival. after being shown our room a welcome cuppa in lounge was made for us along with a cornish cream tea. breakfast was very nice using local produce, and was cooked to order. our room (sharon) was a good size with a king size bed and both my husband and i said to each other that it was the most comfortable bed in a b&b that we had stayed in and had 3 good nights sleep also the shower was the best with great power and even a boost button if you want it more powerful (we had been in b&b's and even hotels where the shower has been rubbish with no power and even goes cold but not here). what was also a great added bonus was the swimming pool and Jacuzzi which we used and they have a changing room and toilet there as well. in all we had a great stay at a lovely b&b with very friendly and welcoming hosts and if we where in the area and need a place to stay we would defiantly return.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank hndws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2015

Stayed here for 2 nights at the recommendation of friends. Valerie very welcoming with pleasant afternoon tea.
Room was large and well furnished (Bradford Room), large en suite, with jacuzzi bath.
Plenty of tea/coffee/water in the room.
Valerie offered suggestions for an evening meal and was kind enough to pre book it for us.
A varied selection for breakfast, and although the menu stated that dishes had to be ordered the night before, that was not the case and she was happy to make anything on the menu.
The farm is in the middle of no where, but a good base to visit the local area - Valerie also suggested some good areas off of the beaten track which we explored and enjoyed.
Due to lovely weather whilst we were there, we did not need to use the pool so cannot comment on it.
Would not hesitate to recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ipw51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Wheatley Farm? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wheatley Farm

Address: Maxworthy PL15 8LY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Maxworthy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Maxworthy
Price Range: ₹ 7,771 - ₹ 8,403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Wheatley Farm 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to stay in our home, an award-winning farmhouse set in a large landscaped garden. Each of our four lovely en-suite bedrooms is individually decorated, and we have taken much care to make each room special. You may relax in our large lounge, on comfy sofas in warm mellow fabrics, with log fires on those cooler evenings. Farmhouse guests have their own secluded garden on a warm sunny evening sit outside on the patio with a glass of wine and just listen to the peace and quiet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Wheatley Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing