We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above average college town restaurant ”
Review of Harveys

Harveys
Ranked #2 of 128 Restaurants in Starkville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 10 - US$ 30
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Great food, great service, and a great atmosphere are the three things we offer to ensure you have a GREAT dining experience. Harvey's is a contemporary restaurant with an atmosphere set by old brick, decorative woodwork, and great music. We serve everything from specialty salads and sandwiches to our signature 48 hour marinated ribeyes and famous prime rib. Go to our website for our most current menu!
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Dined here while in the area for a business meeting. Keeping in mind that this is in a college town and thus it is primarily serving students, faculty, family, etc, it is above average. It is clean and comfortable. The menu offers a mix of choices. The food quality is good. They have a full bar, inclusive of a good selection of bourbons. The server (Jen) was fabulous; very attentive and extremely friendly.

Thank Dennis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harveys-Starkville, General Manager at Harveys, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dennis, thank you so much for your kind words! We look forward to another opportunity to make you happy soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 225 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2018 via mobile

Arrived early (4:30) to beat the evening crowd. Seated immediately and drink orders taken. The drinks arrived in a timely manner, but orders weren’t taken for another eight minutes. One kids hot dog with fruit, two burgers and fries, six shrimp kabobs, and a ribeye with vegetable kabob. Wanted a filet but they were out. By then the crowd began coming in and we began an approximately thirty minute wait. My salad came after we brought to the attention of our server and after all the entree’s were served. A usual 45 minute service turned into an hour and fifteen minutes. The food was good enough, but the service has been slow the last couple of times we have been in. Management needs to notice as we will be looking for an alternative.

Thank BoGo1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harveys-Starkville, General Manager at Harveys, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

My name is Duston Price and I am the General Manager at Harveys Starkville. I'm so sorry to hear about your recent experience with us. We pride ourselves on efficient service, and we obviously have missed the mark in this situation. I'm going to bring this to the attention of my management and service teams and we will work to resolve the issue so that you don't experience this issue on your future visits with us. If you don't mind, please email me at stkharveysgm@gmail.com so that we can discuss the situation further. Thank you for bringing this to my attention, and I hope that you'll give us another chance to make you happy soon!

Sincerely,

Duston Price
GM Harveys Starkville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018 via mobile

Restaurant looks nice. Staff persons are friendly. However, our waiter was not as on the ball as he should have. He goofed a few requests. Service was sluggish. Steaks had good flavor but were not hot. In fact all 4 dinners ordered were not hot. Coffee was marginal. Why bother if excellence is not the goal? I will check out other area restaurants before considering a return to this one.

Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harveys-Starkville, General Manager at Harveys, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018

We are sorry to hear you had a bad experience. We would like to hear more about your experience so that we could improve in any area we need improvement. Please reach out to us via e-mail so that we can get more information about this experience at stkharveysgm@gmail.com. Thank you very much and again we are so sorry that you had a bad experience in our store!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018

No matter what we've ordered...it's always superb! Atmosphere is lovely and the wait staff is great. You need to visit.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank woodscrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2018

We happened to be in Starkville on Valentine's night. We and three friends were lucky enough to get in, they don't take reservation on Valentine's but had a larger table in a back room. Our server did a good job. I ordered salmon which was nicely prepared, my husband ordered prime rib and was highly complimentary. Those who ordered a hamburger, a salad and other items were also well pleased. We have eaten there in the past when visiting Starkville and have always had good results. The persons working the desk as we entered were friendly and helpful. Would return.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alabamatripcreator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Harveys also viewed

 

Been to Harveys? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing