We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Under final approach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Southaven - Central
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Southaven
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We spent one night here during a Christmas trip. First, the rate was fantastic. The location was slightly off the major highway but convenient to nearby Memphis. As previously mentioned, the hotel is located directly under final approach, expect to hear aircraft overflying the hotel and to see flight crew in the lobby. There was a mechanical problem with our first assigned room, so we moved to another room. We enjoyed a light supper and drinks in the hotel bar, while chatting with the bartender and other guests. We enjoyed chatting with our server during breakfast.

Cons: The walls were on the thin side, we overhead two different family arguments. (Too much "family time" over the holidays.)
The hotel room doors are nearly impossible to close quietly. I was awakened by one at 2:30am, got up, found my earplugs and slept with no further problems.
No welcome gift for Priority Club members.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Big D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (252)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

176 - 180 of 252 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2012

My husband and I decided to stay here over Thanksgiving to avoid staying with the relatives. It is a nice hotel and new. When we arrived, we made sure to tell the guy at the front desk that we had added a second night to our stay on Priceline. He told us he would adjust accordingly. The room we were given was very nice.The following day we were gone most of the day and when we returned our room had not been cleaned. I did mention this to the front desk and she apologized and explained the issue could have been because of the holiday. Additionally, the planes are loud but not enough to have a big impact on the quality of your stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank danielle s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

Close to everything---eateries, shops, Memphis. Quiet location with no traffic. Employees were very friendly and helpful. It was under flight plan for Memphis airport, but it wasn't a problem. I would stay here again when I have to come to south Memphis.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPGOFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

This is a wonderful place to spend the night when traveling through Memphis. New, clean, spacious and, as another reviewer mentioned, as yet undiscovered. We were very impressed....we are platinum member of Priority Club, and this place does deserve 5 stars for delivering just what we needed.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank StephanyIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

I was delighted to get a great deal on a room at this Holiday Inn, and when I arrived, I was very pleasantly surprised to see this beautiful, new hotel. This hotel is immaculate and brand-new, the rooms are very clean and well-appointed, and it has all the bells and whistles like an indoor pool and fitness center, restaurant, all of the things you expect from a Holiday Inn. My only complaint was that it was strangely quiet...I hesitate to say "devoid of character", but my feeling was that as of my stay in September 2012, this hotel hasn't been discovered yet. The high ceilings and open spaces in the lobby accentuate the emptiness. When I travel, I expect to see other guests, and I take some comfort in being around other people. This hotel had virtually no guests staying there that evening, which might explain why I got such a great deal. Might be a great hotel if you're looking for a quiet place to stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, but I have to say that having a king-size bed to myself was a treat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise M, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Southaven - Central, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2012

Thank you so much for your nice comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Sometimes, depending on the day of the week that you stay, that it is pretty quiet, other times is bustling around here.
We look forward to having you again as our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southaven hotels
1 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Memphis Southaven
0.7 km away
Home2 Suites By Hilton Memphis - Southaven
1.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Southaven Central - Memphis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#8 of 17 in Southaven
195 reviews
1.2 km away
Hampton Inn Memphis Southaven
0.3 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Southaven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Southaven - Central? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Southaven - Central

Address: 280 Marathon Way, Southaven, MS 38671-9554
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Mississippi > Southaven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Southaven
#3 Business Hotel in Southaven
Price Range: ₹ 6,555 - ₹ 9,704 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Southaven - Central 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The property is just minutes off I-55 at exit 289. Located just one block off of Goodman Road in one of the most thriving areas of Southaven. We are just 15 minutes from downtown Memphis for all the area attractions or the Memphis International Airport. Quiet location with clean comfortable accommodations. All rooms have a microwave, refrigerator, coffee service, HD TV and complimentary internet service that are fast and reliable. We have a restaurant and lounge on site, indoor pool, two outdoor patios, and lots of parking. No fees for parking. Parking lot can accommodate large vehicles. Our friendly staff is waiting to greet you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Southaven - Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Southaven - Central Hotel Southaven
Southaven Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Memphis Southaven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing