We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our "Capitol" Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Old Capitol Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Old Capitol Inn
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
Saucier, Mississippi
Level Contributor
151 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Our "Capitol" Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Great place to stay in downtown Jackson. Our room had a small balcony which had a view of the courtyard. Because we were attending a banquet there that night, our "cocktails" were taken after the event. Breakfast was fantastic!!! Rooms are themed. Next time we may opt for a suite!

Room Tip: Rooms on the back view the courtyard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    50
    21
    2
    4
See reviews for
32
77
10
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hattiesburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

We found this after looking for a place to celebrate our 10th anniversary in downtown Jackson. It hit all the marks: free, gated parking, wine and cheese at 5pm, a very nice little room with a great little balcony, roof-top patio (with jacuzzi and views), and a delicious, full breakfast in the morning. It was exceptionally reasonable, fun, and comfortable. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask them if the room they reserved has a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, DE
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

The people at the Old Capitol Inn are remarkably friendly and helpful. After my flight got in at 10:30 am, I went to the hotel just to drop off my bags, but rather than just hold the bags, they cleaned my room and had it ready in no time. That was impressive. The room was very spacious, and the bathroom had gorgeous tiling and a shower so nice I didn't even miss not having a bath tub. If having a bath is important to you, you should call in advance and make sure your room has one. The elevators are a bit dated, but there is a free happy hour every night with light hors d'oeuvres (crackers and dip, etc.). A filling hot breakfast is served buffet style in a pretty dining room (see picture attached) and you can also take breakfast out into the courtyard complete with coy pond.

Note: If you are traveling with the government (contractor, federal employee, any state government other than Mississippi) you will need to write to the Mississippi Department of Revenue to prove you should be tax exempt. If the Department approves your request, they send you a letter saying so. You must present that letter to the hotel not to be charged taxes. Some larger hotels in Jackson waive the letter requirement, but the Old Capitol Inn doesn't, mostly because they are small and need to keep good records. It's worth the effort, this Inn is gorgeous.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a bath tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kzatrini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2011

I always look forward to business trips to Jackson because I always get to stay at this special Inn. It's much more fun than a cookie-cutter mainstream hotel. Each room or suite has its own theme. The breakfast is gorgeous -- homemade eggs, bacon, grits, biscuits, muffins. Fresh fruit and coffee. The eating space is well lit and faces a beautiful, relaxing courtyard with a garden and coi pond. In the evenings, they serve wine and cheese in the lobby. The staff are friendly, the sheets are soft, the place smells good. What else can I say? I love this place.

Room Tip: Ask to face the courtyard instead of State Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
123 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2011

I did not stay at the Old Capitol Inn, but had lunch there. And it was good! I ordered a crab chowder and their famous shrimp and grits. Both dishes were excellent! The dining room is very charming and as close to antebellum as is possible - most of Jackson was destroyed during the Civil War.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janemilyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jackson hotels
1.0 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown
11.5 km away
Hilton Jackson
Hilton Jackson
#1 of 38 in Jackson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
0.5 km away
Jackson Marriott
Jackson Marriott
#4 of 38 in Jackson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Executive Inn
5.2 km away
Residence Inn Jackson The District at Eastover
0.9 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 38 in Jackson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Capitol Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Capitol Inn

Property: Old Capitol Inn
Address: 226 North State Street, Jackson, MS 39201
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Mississippi > Jackson
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Jackson
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,701 - ₹ 10,601
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Capitol Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Capitol Inn is Jackson, MS only designer boutique hotel. With 24 suites, each representing different people, places and things in Mississippi, the Inn is ideally situated downtown, minutes from the area's museums, University's, shopping, reataurants and nightclubs and State Government buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Old Capitol Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Capitol Hotel Jackson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing