We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Old Capitol Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Comfort Inn(Jackson)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (209)
Filter reviews
209 results
Traveller rating
127
53
21
2
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
127
53
21
2
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboutique hotelrooftop barkoi ponddowntown jacksonsmall balconyoutdoor courtyardleaded glasssitting roomfriesbiscuitsturn down servicegreat boutiquesmall hoteleach eveningchain hotelsseparate sitting areasouthern breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
154 - 159 of 209 reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2012

We found this after looking for a place to celebrate our 10th anniversary in downtown Jackson. It hit all the marks: free, gated parking, wine and cheese at 5pm, a very nice little room with a great little balcony, roof-top patio (with jacuzzi and views), and a delicious, full breakfast in the morning. It was exceptionally reasonable, fun, and comfortable. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask them if the room they reserved has a balcony!
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

The people at the Old Capitol Inn are remarkably friendly and helpful. After my flight got in at 10:30 am, I went to the hotel just to drop off my bags, but rather than just hold the bags, they cleaned my room and had it ready in no time. That was impressive. The room was very spacious, and the bathroom had gorgeous tiling and a shower so nice I didn't even miss not having a bath tub. If having a bath is important to you, you should call in advance and make sure your room has one. The elevators are a bit dated, but there is a free happy hour every night with light hors d'oeuvres (crackers and dip, etc.). A filling hot breakfast is served buffet style in a pretty dining room (see picture attached) and you can also take breakfast out into the courtyard complete with coy pond.

Note: If you are traveling with the government (contractor, federal employee, any state government other than Mississippi) you will need to write to the Mississippi Department of Revenue to prove you should be tax exempt. If the Department approves your request, they send you a letter saying so. You must present that letter to the hotel not to be charged taxes. Some larger hotels in Jackson waive the letter requirement, but the Old Capitol Inn doesn't, mostly because they are small and need to keep good records. It's worth the effort, this Inn is gorgeous.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a bath tub
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kzatrini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2011

I always look forward to business trips to Jackson because I always get to stay at this special Inn. It's much more fun than a cookie-cutter mainstream hotel. Each room or suite has its own theme. The breakfast is gorgeous -- homemade eggs, bacon, grits, biscuits, muffins. Fresh fruit and coffee. The eating space is well lit and faces a beautiful, relaxing courtyard with a garden and coi pond. In the evenings, they serve wine and cheese in the lobby. The staff are friendly, the sheets are soft, the place smells good. What else can I say? I love this place.

Room Tip: Ask to face the courtyard instead of State Street.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2011

I did not stay at the Old Capitol Inn, but had lunch there. And it was good! I ordered a crab chowder and their famous shrimp and grits. Both dishes were excellent! The dining room is very charming and as close to antebellum as is possible - most of Jackson was destroyed during the Civil War.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janemilyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

This place is best described as a boutique hotel, not a B&B. It was originally built as a YWCA, then converted about a decade ago. Each room is uniquely decorated (we had the Elvis room). It's obvious that care went into the renovation from very upscale showers, well-fitting doors, good A/C and nice furniture/beds.

The proprietor is usually on-site; all staff are courteous and well trained. The complementary breakfast is nothing like the typical stuff you get at those motels along the way. This is a truly well-done breakfast, different each morning and attended to by at least a cook and sometimes additional waitstaff. You would be hard-pressed to get a morning meal like this anywhere for less than $15/person.

Parking lot is gated and secured with no additional charge. Wine, cheese and munchies in the late afternoon is gratis as well. It should be added that this hotel does not accept children or pets - a welcome amenity from our standpoint but maybe a deal-breaker for others.

We did not have any problem with cleanliness, although I must add that the maids came by fairly early and asked if we needed anything. If you say, "No thanks", you can expect the room to be cleaned and bed made much later. I think this has to do with the small staff since this is a small hotel. Not a problem for us, but could be a nuisance for a traveler who likes a made bed and cleaned room early. The trick seems to be to let the cleaning staff in when they first come by. I should add, we were also asked in the evening if we wanted a turn-down on the bed - nice touch for a small hotel.

There appear to be three room options: a basic room, a small suite with a nice sitting room with an additional TV and doors that actually close it off from the sleeping area, and a larger suite with a small kitchen and bar. Prices are quite competitive with the big competitors down the street.

In summary, if you are interested in a small hotel with attentive staff, an on-site proprietor and one heck of a breakfast, this place is for you.

Room Tip: The desk staff seems happy to show you rooms to help you make your choice.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Islandtexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews