We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown
Nearby Hotels
US$ 131
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn(Jackson)
US$ 92
US$ 83
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Spa
Comfort Inn(Jackson)
US$ 76
US$ 68
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jackson Marriott(Jackson)
US$ 122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$ 139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairview Inn(Jackson)
US$ 221
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 108
US$ 98
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 115
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 104
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,114)
Filter reviews
1,114 results
Traveller rating
544
321
138
62
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
544
321
138
62
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsking edwardhistoric hotelvalet parkingfront desktrain stationvalet staffmayflower cafecoffee shopparlor marketbeautiful lobbynice hotelconvention centerindoor poolthe entire staffdefinitely stay here againsouthern hospitalitygreat customer service
Filter
Updating list...
1,036 - 1,041 of 1,114 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2012

The hotel is very nice. The lobby is happening with the bar just off of it. Check in was very quick and friendly. The room was standard for HGI with enough room to spread out. Everything was very clean. The work out room in the basement had a nice variety of stuff...little bit more than your standard hotel treadmill and bike. The breakfast buffet is great and the service was excellent. The only real problem is the area around the hotel is pretty run down. My room overlooked a set of abandoned buildings. Once you get to the hotel, you are pretty much stuck there.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FJOP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MMAC2010, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2012

Many thanks for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate and enjoy all customer feedback as a critical part to our success. Indeed, the immediate area requires some additional improvements and the downtown development group is working towards just that issue. Jackson is poised for growth and we are indeed happy to be part of its revitalization. Please feel free to contact us prior to your next visit and we'll be happy to share any improvements to the immediate area.

Kind regards,
Marlene Macaluso

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

I stayed here for a business trip. I booked a king size nonsmoking room. I was given a king-size bed, but it was in a handicapped room so it had a very "hospital" feel to the shower with a fold out bench and a spray nozzle instead of a shower head installed. Not what I wanted in a business hotel stay. There was also a half bath in the room, inexplicably. The hallways reeked of cigarette smoke, and there was an ashtry in my room, even though it was declared a "nonsmoking room." Guess that depends on the day of the week. The bed had a dial for firmness of the mattress which seemed cheap and more like an air mattress than a luxury. The towels had some tangle of someone else's hair (yuk!) from the washing machine. Looking out the window, every single business in the apparently once-quaint street was boarded up. The breakfast was average. The bar downstairs was nice, and the lobby looked nice, but nothing else about my stay made me want to return. Veeeery mediocre at best.

Room Tip: Ask for something NOT handicapped...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lmhlite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MMAC2010, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2012

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. My apologies for your less than satisfactory visit. I expect you were visiting us during a highly occupied and busy time. It would appear from your comments that you were upgraded to a suite accommodation, thus explaining the half bath, yet it appears to have been on our floor where some rooms do accommodate smoking guests. The suite on this floor is also an accessible suite which indeed does appear to be less homey to some guests. Should you wish to give us another opportunity, please feel free to contact us in advance and make your preferences known so that we may assign accommodations more to your liking. Thank you again for your feedback. Indeed it shall be shared with the entire management team for follow up and improvement.

Kind regards,
Marlene Macaluso

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

The rooms here were really nice and we enjoyed our brief stay in Jackson. The location was great and easy to find. Even though it was by the Amtrak...we didn't hear it. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. The only negative was the restaurant. We were turned off by what we thought was a buffet (covered containers) only to find out that it was the "sides" that you order off the menu. It wasn't removed from view and there was a plate of half eaten food on the same table in plain view. To be fair, I can't review the food because I couldn't get that far!
But...it was a great hotel and right down the street just a few steps was a fabulous restaurant..Mayflower Cafe!!! Don't miss that dining experience.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1boiledham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wes S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2015

Thank you for your review. We truly appreciate your business and would be honored for you to stay with us in the future. Wes Scrape - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

We stayed here over the Christmas period and were very happy with every aspect of our stay.

The room, like the rest of the hotel, was beautiful; clean and comfortable. Staff very helpful and eager to please. We enjoyed being in downtown Jackson.

Ordered room service twice, food very tasty and not bad value.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thetravellingoctopus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wes S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2015

Thank you for your review. We truly appreciate your business and would be honored for you to stay with us in the future. Wes Scrape - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

I checked into the Hilton Garden Inn for a one night business trip centered around the MS Capitol. It wasn't the nicest neighborhood, so if you're looking for stuff to do at night go elsewhere or stay outside of town (Someone said Ridgeland may be more suitable). You definitely need a car if you want to go anywhere. Taxis aren't cheap but are easy to get from the valets outside the hotel. The restaurant was fine, a good breakfast buffett and service was excellent.
The bar was medicore- it wasn't too big and if you just want to sit in there and kill time there are small tv's that make watching sports not the best idea, but it is fine- a small Hilton property that is perfectly suitable for a business trip of one night- but i wouldn't bring my wife there for more than one night.

If you're looking for a place to stay near the Capital building it's more than adequate, there are a few restaurants around that seemed reasonable and came recommended.

Room Tip: Don't expect a room with a view, I didn't see a view worth asking for....
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank orion1782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wes S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2015

Thank you for your review. We truly appreciate your business and would be honored for you to stay with us in the future. Wes Scrape - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews