We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel...but that bed...ugh!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
Carrollton, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great hotel...but that bed...ugh!!!”
Reviewed 9 March 2012

I stayed here overnight and I must say the hotel is awesome!! Updates, flat screens, new carpet, comfy bedding, everything!! I have no complaints about that!!!

As we all know with HGI's the only downside or upside depending on who you are is the adjustable bed. That's usually the reason I pick another hotel over HGI. While we were there no netter how I tried we could not get our king size bed to have the same firmness settings. It was horrible!! I had to get up and go to work and he had to get up to catch a flight. We were so miserable the next morning.

For that reason and that one alone, we decided that the next time we'd go back to Hilton.

Everybody won't have that problem and I had learned how to get their beds just right. It just didn't work for us this time.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle21496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wes S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown, responded to this review, 11 July 2015
Thank you for your review. We truly appreciate your business and would be honored for you to stay with us in the future. Wes Scrape - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

988 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    476
    290
    121
    58
    43
See reviews for
226
169
63
401
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
98 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

The hotel is very nice. The lobby is happening with the bar just off of it. Check in was very quick and friendly. The room was standard for HGI with enough room to spread out. Everything was very clean. The work out room in the basement had a nice variety of stuff...little bit more than your standard hotel treadmill and bike. The breakfast buffet is great and the service was excellent. The only real problem is the area around the hotel is pretty run down. My room overlooked a set of abandoned buildings. Once you get to the hotel, you are pretty much stuck there.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FJOP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MMAC2010, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown, responded to this review, 3 March 2012
Many thanks for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate and enjoy all customer feedback as a critical part to our success. Indeed, the immediate area requires some additional improvements and the downtown development group is working towards just that issue. Jackson is poised for growth and we are indeed happy to be part of its revitalization. Please feel free to contact us prior to your next visit and we'll be happy to share any improvements to the immediate area.

Kind regards,
Marlene Macaluso
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

I stayed here for a business trip. I booked a king size nonsmoking room. I was given a king-size bed, but it was in a handicapped room so it had a very "hospital" feel to the shower with a fold out bench and a spray nozzle instead of a shower head installed. Not what I wanted in a business hotel stay. There was also a half bath in the room, inexplicably. The hallways reeked of cigarette smoke, and there was an ashtry in my room, even though it was declared a "nonsmoking room." Guess that depends on the day of the week. The bed had a dial for firmness of the mattress which seemed cheap and more like an air mattress than a luxury. The towels had some tangle of someone else's hair (yuk!) from the washing machine. Looking out the window, every single business in the apparently once-quaint street was boarded up. The breakfast was average. The bar downstairs was nice, and the lobby looked nice, but nothing else about my stay made me want to return. Veeeery mediocre at best.

Room Tip: Ask for something NOT handicapped...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmhlite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MMAC2010, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown, responded to this review, 3 March 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. My apologies for your less than satisfactory visit. I expect you were visiting us during a highly occupied and busy time. It would appear from your comments that you were upgraded to a suite accommodation, thus explaining the half bath, yet it appears to have been on our floor where some rooms do accommodate smoking guests. The suite on this floor is also an accessible suite which indeed does appear to be less homey to some guests. Should you wish to give us another opportunity, please feel free to contact us in advance and make your preferences known so that we may assign accommodations more to your liking. Thank you again for your feedback. Indeed it shall be shared with the entire management team for follow up and improvement.

Kind regards,
Marlene Macaluso
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

The rooms here were really nice and we enjoyed our brief stay in Jackson. The location was great and easy to find. Even though it was by the Amtrak...we didn't hear it. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. The only negative was the restaurant. We were turned off by what we thought was a buffet (covered containers) only to find out that it was the "sides" that you order off the menu. It wasn't removed from view and there was a plate of half eaten food on the same table in plain view. To be fair, I can't review the food because I couldn't get that far!
But...it was a great hotel and right down the street just a few steps was a fabulous restaurant..Mayflower Cafe!!! Don't miss that dining experience.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1boiledham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wes S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown, responded to this review, 11 July 2015
Thank you for your review. We truly appreciate your business and would be honored for you to stay with us in the future. Wes Scrape - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

We stayed here over the Christmas period and were very happy with every aspect of our stay.

The room, like the rest of the hotel, was beautiful; clean and comfortable. Staff very helpful and eager to please. We enjoyed being in downtown Jackson.

Ordered room service twice, food very tasty and not bad value.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thetravellingoctopus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wes S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown, responded to this review, 11 July 2015
Thank you for your review. We truly appreciate your business and would be honored for you to stay with us in the future. Wes Scrape - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jackson hotels
11.9 km away
Hilton Jackson
Hilton Jackson
#1 of 39 in Jackson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
0.5 km away
Jackson Marriott
Jackson Marriott
#4 of 39 in Jackson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
1.0 km away
Old Capitol Inn
Old Capitol Inn
#5 of 39 in Jackson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Best Western Executive Inn
5.8 km away
Residence Inn Jackson The District at Eastover
2.1 km away
Hampton Inn and Suites Jackson Coliseum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown
Address: 235 W Capitol St, Jackson, MS 39201-2004 (Formerly King Edward Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Mississippi > Jackson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Jackson
#4 Family Hotel in Jackson
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,804 - ₹ 12,767
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're attending an important business meeting, visiting historic sites or enjoying a Mississippi vacation, Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown provides all you need to be your best. Rest comfortably in a bed with adjustable firmness or work efficiently at the large desk while seated in an ergonomic chair. All guest rooms and suites provide high-speed internet access, a refrigerator and microwave, so you will have everything you need to prepare for a successful day. At this Downtown Jackson hotel, we take care of life's details so you can focus on being your best while traveling. Review your meeting agenda or plan a day of sightseeing as you enjoy a cooked-to-order breakfast in the King Edward Grille, or savor classic American cuisine and Southern dishes for lunch and dinner. Our 24-hour Business Center and complimentary high-speed internet access enable you to keep in touch with your colleagues and family or take care of work tasks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown Hotel Jackson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing