We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown
Ranked #1 of 39 Hotels in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 January 2012

The refurbished King Edward is a gem. Its just nice to walk into and look around. Its not hard to find, just find the Amtrak station, its across the street. This is my second stay, and the staff is excellent, especially the valet service as well as the dining room servers. The rooms are pretty standard garden inn, which, by the way, isn't bad at all. Rooms are probably a few square feet smaller than typical, but necessary based on the building it is in. Trains do run by pretty regularly, but only a modest distraction unless you need the silence of the dead to sleep.

The breakfast bar is $12.95 plus, but I think worth it, especially as treat, and you don't have to leave the hotel. Also, this hotel is underused on the weekends, a very reasonable weekend getaway is possible. I'll be back, P.S., be sure to join Hilton Rewards, this hotel goes on sale for almost nothing sometimes on weekends, like 12,500 pts a night.

Room Tip: if train rumbling by bothers you, just ask for higher room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TableGamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MMAC2010, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2012

Thank for your sharing your recent experience with us. We hope to see you again in the near future....and, you are correct...you can enjoy a Hilton Honors redemption stay for as little as 12,500 points!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,066)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

997 - 1,001 of 1,066 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. The first room I was assigned was directly next to the vending machines. Once I told the front desk that this was not suitable for me, then immediately changed the room without incident to a larger room.

The rooms are good. Nice decor a little traditional, a little modern.

Because the hotel is directly next too the train station there is a slight noise from train. The are is under renovation. so there are empty store front across the street.

We chose the breakfast buffet. I didn't enjoy it.

I would choose the hilton franchise again, but I would choose a better area.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kicrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wes S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2015

Thank you for your review. We truly appreciate your business and would be honored for you to stay with us in the future. Wes Scrape - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

I stayed at this hotel at least once per month during 2011. I highly recommend it. They have done an excllent job of restoring the old King Edward and the rooms are clean and modern.
The staff at this hotel makes you fell like home, from the valet (Pat) to the front desk to the cleaning staff to the restaurant staff -- everyone is helpful and has a ready smile. The in-house restaurant is delicious. Well-cooked, tasty and affordable food.
Downtown Jackson on the other hand, leaves much to be desired other than this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelGal10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MMAC2010, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2012

Dear Guest,
Truly, you've made our day! Many thanks for the accolades to our team. Indeed it was our pleasure to serve you.
Kind regards,
Marlene Macaluso
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

This is a beautiful, historic hotel. The room was clean, quiet and i loved the adjustable bed. There were multiple HBOs on the TV and the internet was reliable and fast.

The lobby attendants were nice and the hotel allowed for a late check out.

The only issue I had with the room was the lack of blackout curtains. The light from the street kept me awake.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brigitt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wes S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2015

Thank you for your review. We truly appreciate your business and would be honored for you to stay with us in the future. Wes Scrape - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

This Hotel used to be the King Edward Hotel years ago. The building sat on Capitol Street for many years with the windows busted out, pigeon poo and homeless people lived in it. The city finally renovated it and it is SPECTACULAR. I have stayed twice now. My husband and I most recently stayed NYE night and were very impressed. The rate was only 109.00 and the valet was only 14.00. The valet were so helpful and fast. Upon checking in, the ladies at the front desk were more than helpful in getting us in earlier than the 4:00 p.m. check in time. We were able to check in at 3:00 with no problem. The elevator system is a little tricky if you want to go to the indoor pool which is by the way super nice with a hot tub and a view of the very state of the art fitness center. If you want to go to the pool, which is on the basement level, you must use the Middle elevator to get to it. I am still confused on why it is set up that way but we learned the system fast but it is a pain to leave your room and wait on the middle elevator, it may not come so you would need to take one of the other elevators to the lobby and then get on the middle elevator to go down, confusing right? Other than that, the staff was lovely, the bar and outdoor patio are so nice. We will plan our 2013 NYE night there next year without a doubt. If you are new to Jackson, this is the place to stay HANDS DOWN! Also, Hot breakfast in the morning, not included but priced reasonably and very delicious. Freshly prepared Omletts, Biscuits & Gravy, sausage, hot and cold bar, DELICIOUS coffee. Love it!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tandyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wes S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2015

Thank you for your review. We truly appreciate your business and would be honored for you to stay with us in the future. Wes Scrape - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jackson hotels
11.9 km away
Hilton Jackson
Hilton Jackson
#2 of 39 in Jackson
948 reviews
1.3 km away
The Westin Jackson
The Westin Jackson
#12 of 39 in Jackson
24 reviews
0.5 km away
Jackson Marriott
Jackson Marriott
#3 of 39 in Jackson
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Best Western Plus Jackson Downtown-Coliseum
5.7 km away
Residence Inn Jackson The District at Eastover
2.1 km away
Hampton Inn and Suites Jackson Coliseum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown

Address: 235 W Capitol Street, Jackson, MS 39201-2004 (Formerly King Edward Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Mississippi > Jackson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Jackson
#4 Family Hotel in Jackson
Price Range: ₹ 6,934 - ₹ 12,951 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're attending an important business meeting, visiting historic sites or enjoying a Mississippi vacation, Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown provides all you need to be your best. Rest comfortably in a bed with adjustable firmness or work efficiently at the large desk while seated in an ergonomic chair. All guest rooms and suites provide high-speed internet access, a refrigerator and microwave, so you will have everything you need to prepare for a successful day. At this Downtown Jackson hotel, we take care of life's details so you can focus on being your best while traveling. Review your meeting agenda or plan a day of sightseeing as you enjoy a cooked-to-order breakfast in the King Edward Grille, or savor classic American cuisine and Southern dishes for lunch and dinner. Our 24-hour Business Center and complimentary high-speed internet access enable you to keep in touch with your colleagues and family or take care of work tasks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown Hotel Jackson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing