We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Travelocity
$1,926
View deal
Expedia.com$1,926
Hotels.com$1,926
Orbitz.com$1,926
FindHotel$1,972
Tripadvisor$1,926
Etrip$1,972
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (398)
Filter reviews
398 results
Traveller rating
371
14
7
2
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
371
14
7
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews game drives safari experience other guests other camps family tent bush bath three days great migration high end mara river bush breakfast under canvas gold star sand river luxury camp kenya tents
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 398 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2021

We stayed at cottars camp for 3 nights during our 2 week trip to Africa. I will say the place is JUST ok. Nothing special and honestly way overpriced for what you get. We stayed at other camps that were in the price range and everything was phenomenal. I would say everything at cottars is just “fine” nothing special but not the worst…. But I suppose you could stay at lesser expensive places and have the same mediocre experience.

I say skip this place if you are a high end traveler. Perhaps if you have a family and don’t mind things not luxury standard this place is fine for you. But for me I expected more.

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calvin Cottar, Owner at Cottar's Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2021

I'm very sorry to hear this and apologies that we weren't what you were looking for on your safari, it seems that luxury means different things to different people. All the best, Calvin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2021

We just came back from Kenya and I am still dreaming of our four nights under canvas at Cottars. My husband and I have been to Kenya over forty times since 1995 and yet we still had some surprises in store on our most recent safari. First of all the camp itself is set up in a wonderful way. There are two gorgeous big tents full of antiques , old books, silver candelabras , British colonial furniture and lots and lots of old photos.Instantly you are taken back to a bygone day of the first safaris ( hinting ones and then photographic ). It was so nice to have time almost stand still for four days and to forget all the trouble of the outside world as we immersed ourselves in nature.

Both of our guides were simply outstanding......we had been recommended Matura ; but together our two guides were an incredible team. After being on safari too many times to count we were amazed to see three leopards together and spend a couple of magical hours watching this leopard family interact Never have we seen that before. Another cool highlight was having twenty lions walk towards us and then lie down all around us......they were looking for shade not us. We just loved the landscape and never tired of the drives ....the mountains, the sand river, the rocky areas and the long grass were all intoxicating. And, how nice to come back to absolutely the most fantastic meals cooked by Boniface.
Our tent opened up to an open grassy area so it was not dark like some tents can be. Each morning we woke up to a herd of grazing leaping impalas and the resident very friendly eland. Nothing is more delightful than waking up to the smell of coffee and watching animals through the netting. Another highlight was "the canvas bath".Thank you Lucie for wiping up all the bubbles that spilled out and for the bubbly too. We are still laughing about that bubble bath in the wild.
Our servers Gladys and Joseph were always there to get us whatever we needed to eat or drink and the manager Bruce was always nearby if anyone needed anything. Next time we will try the honeymoon suite since I heard it was a little newer and more updated. Our tent had a great view and nice space but could use a little refresh, We were lucky that no one was in the tents near us; so it was truly a peaceful retreat. A BIG shout out to Laurent who helped get us to Cottars.....and flew up for lunch at the very lovely pool site. I will make it a priority to sit by that beautiful pool when we come back.....there just was not enough time even being there four nights. Asante sana to ALL!

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luckylindy0707
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calvin Cottar, Owner at Cottar's Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2021

What a wonderful review, thank you so much and I'm so thrilled to hear that you spent such a fantastic time with us! What amazing sightings you had, it's great to hear that you were so well looked after - we do have a wonderful team. And yes next time you come back you must try the new honeymoon tent, it's lovely. Thank you for all your comments, we have taken note and will continue to try to keep updating and providing the best safari experience we can. We can't wait to welcome you back again! All the best, Calvin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2021

Cottar’s 1920s camp, as the name suggests, is a safari camp. What that means is that unless you’re staying in the amazing 5-bedroom, brick-and-mortar Bush Villa, you will be staying in a very large and beautifully decorated canvas tent. We were coming to the camp from incredibly nice and more modern accommodations elsewhere in Kenya, so it took us a bit to adapt. But altogether, we really enjoyed our stay and the overall experience. Some comments:

Lodging: we stayed in a family tent, which comfortably sleeps four people. As a plus, it has 2 separate, full bathrooms, which is handy for getting ready for the early morning drives. As a con, it has no views. Our tent just opened up to a grassy area. For killer views, you’ll need to stay in one of the honeymoon suites (for 2 pp) up the hill. I also thought that it was a bit too dark inside the tent at night but, alas, it is a tent.

Experiences: While game drives are main attraction, they provided a variety of fun activities during our stay. We didn't get to do all of them, but there was beading (lovely older Masai lady teaches it without speaking a word of English); a quick but interesting typical dance show; outdoor ‘bush bath’ in canvas bathtubs (definitely a highlight if your tent has a view…); archery; massage; electrical bike rides (charged extra); or just lounging in the Disney-esque main hall. A highlight was a visit to a nearby Masai village (also a small extra charge), where we got to learn a bit more about the local culture. With a full camp, there was a bit of competition for some of the more scarce resources (e.g., massage, outdoor bathtubs, or bikes), so it might be wise to plan and book those ahead in spite of their advice to let your days just flow flexibility.

Staff: This is where Cottar’s really shines. Everyone there is soooo nice and friendly. You have a dedicated safari guide who will manage your day-to-day activities (and eat most meals with you, which was perhaps a bit too much for us...). The tent comes with an assigned housekeeping person, laundry is done daily (same day), the wait staff is super nice, the office and shop staff is very helpful - and it looks like they really enjoy working together. They do try to go above and beyond.

Game: We were there in June before the start of the ‘great migration’, which meant fewer tourists, but we didn’t get to see the hordes of zebras and wildebeests that come from the lower part of the ecosystem (Serengeti in bordering Tanzania) to the upper part (Mara in Kenya). But we did see everything else you would expect in a safari (except for a rhino - next time!), including lions, leopards, cheetahs, giraffes, antelopes, and tons of elephant families. The latter won’t be there once the migration starts so there is a trade off. There is a lot to see close to the camp itself, but the actual Masai river is over four hours away on a loooong and bumpy (but beautiful) jeep ride.

All said, Cottar's was a great stop. Highly recommend it!

Room tip: No views from family tents; views from luxury and honeymoon suites or Bush villa only
Date of stay: June 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank allplanetsearch
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calvin Cottar, Owner at Cottar's Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2021

Thank you so much for your detailed review! We do have the best team in Kenya, thank you for your kind words. We've taken note of your comments about the family tent views, the spa treatments etc. We hope to welcome you back again soon! All the best, Calvin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2021 via mobile

We decided to finally push through despite repeated cancellations and rebookings. This place has been my dream camp to stay at. They surely did not disappoint.

We have stayed at a lot of beautiful hotels, resorts and properties throughout the world. I can surely say that more than the beauty of the property itself, the quality of service was excellent. It’s one of those places make you feel like you are part of their family.

We had some hiccups, due to pesky COVID. The staff rallied to make our stay as worry free as possible.

Thank you for going above all our expectations.

Thank you Perris, William, Phoebe, Isaac and all the staff, for our good food, nice warms beds, and keeping us safe at night.

Special mention to Wilson, our guide, for taking good care of us. Helping us see great wildlife and taking our numerous pictures. You made our safari experience unforgettable.

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Adventure_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calvin Cottar, Owner at Cottar's Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2021

We are so thrilled that even with 'pesky' COVID you still came to stay! I'm so thrilled that you enjoyed your trip so much and tat our team took such good care of you! We are so grateful for the amazing team that we have, they truly make the safari a trip of a lifetime. Thank you for coming, it means a to to us during this tough time and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2020

My husband and I were at this camp for three a nights in October 2019. It truly was beyond anything I could possibly imagined. And I had high expectations!!!
I could write a novel but will try to keep it a short as possible.
We were met at the little airfield by a man named Niboo. He ended up being our spotter for the next three days. Animals were right on the airfield!! We starting taking pictures. He laughed and told us not to waste our time on aminals so far away. before we even go to camp we saw families of warthogs and families of baboons both with babies. We saw herds of zebras , giraffes , a momma cheeta with her three babies, water buffalo. And believe it or not three different lions. Gazelles were as plentiful as deer . Elephants thus far were a bit in the distance but we saw them .
We arrived at the amp and it was amazing.
Our “tent “ was decadent with king bed running hot water all amenities . Lovely deck to sit . We heard nightLy visitors. Zebras . Monkeys. My husband heard lions roaring one night .
. We had our own person to help us out with anything we could possibly think of. Lucy. (Thank you ) arrived with coffee an treats every morning before our morning ride. When we came home our place was cleaned and perfect. She encouraged us to take a bush bath and arranged it fo us . Well worth it. Do it !!!
The meals were great. Things may be different now but we were at that point all encouraged to mingle with other guests and guides and spotters to exchange stories and pictures .
We took our breakfasts on the road by choice. We had everything from fresh hot coffee and omelets and croissants while watching lions or cheetahs in front of us .
The absolute high lite was Enoch . He was our guide. we were with him upwards of 12 hours a day including relaxing at meal times. His skill is beyond skill. A gift maybe. With one snort from gazelle he could tell we would find a leopard . With one odd look from a zebra he would know there was a lion. He and niboo really were an amazing team that found us animals and situations we never imagined. But we were always safe .
This is getting a little long so I will just say. I would go back thereina flash. And recommend this camp and especially Enoch and niboo
It was life changing

Room tip: All were amazing and private
Date of stay: December 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmkAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calvin Cottar, Owner at Cottar's Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2021

Thank you so much! I'm thrilled to hear what a wonderful time you had with us. You're so right about Enock and Niboo, they are amazing at what they do and help to make the safari a real trip of a lifetime. We really hope that you will be back with us again soon! All the best, Calvin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews