We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Travelocity
$1,926
View deal
Expedia.com$1,926
Hotels.com$1,926
Orbitz.com$1,926
FindHotel$1,972
Tripadvisor$1,926
Etrip$1,972
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (398)
Filter reviews
398 results
Traveller rating
371
14
7
2
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
371
14
7
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews game drives safari experience other guests other camps family tent bush bath three days great migration high end mara river bush breakfast under canvas gold star sand river luxury camp kenya tents
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 398 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2018

Our 3 night stay at Cottar's was exceptional in so many ways. The first being our party of 4 were the only guests at the camp for the 3 days we were there. When we left 16 people arrived and the next day another 16. Our guide, Joseph, was fantastic. Knowledgeable and funny, he made us feel welcome and taught us so much about what we were viewing. Even knew to hang around another 20 minutes because he knew the lions would be mating within that time frame. And indeed they did. Great rapport with us. A joy to be with.Douglas was the consumate camp director, always available and made us feel so welcome.. A true gentleman!The food was 5 star and beautifully presented. I, who never take a picture of my dinner, had to take the salad course that was magnificently plated.Our waiter, bar man and poor Elvis at the lonely pool made our stay so warm and sweet.Everything was first class and I highly recommend this lodging for an outstanding African experience.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank historybuff10
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calvincottar, Owner at Cottar's Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2018

I'm delighted to hear that you had such a fantastic time! Thank you for your lovely review, we really do appreciate it. We are very lucky with the wonderful team that we have and it's wonderful when our guests appreciate and enjoy their time as much as you have. We hope to have you back again soon! All the best, Calvin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2018

We had the pleasure of staying three nights at Cottar's and I highly recommend the experience. It takes you back to an "old time" safari experience with modern amenities that you expect. While the camp well done I must say that the guiding was incredible. We were lucky enough to be paired with Wilson and Maturo who took care of our every need and were unmatched in spotting wildlife. They were fantastic with our kids and spend countless hours showing us Massai traditions and telling us wonderful stories. They were the best!!

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calvincottar, Owner at Cottar's Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2018

Thank you Dan! This is so great to hear as we are extremely proud if our guides and the high level of guiding that we provide. Wonderful to hear that you had such a great time at our camp with your family. Thank you! Calvin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2018

The tents are luxurious. This retains the feel of its history, but with all the modern conveniences. The inifinty pool is beautiful, but not heated. The staff is wonderful. The safari guide stays with his group for all the meals and is a wealth of information. Lots of animals in this conservancy area and not too many other vehicles even in the national park. The food is excellent and the staff is accommodating. One thing to watch out for: Information on their website as to tipping is not correct. I states: "As a guideline, we recommend tips in the region of US$ 5-20 per guest per night for camp staff, with guides tipped separately (we recommend US$ 25 per group). Actually the recommendation for the guides (the safari guide and the spotter) is $25 each per day per person. Be prepared with cash.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank gmtravels7
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calvincottar, Owner at Cottar's Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2018

Thank you for your great review, I'm glad to hear that you had such a wonderful time! Please note that the amount you tip is completely up to you, we would not want anyone to feel pressurised into tipping any more than they feel is deserved. Thank you and hopefully we'll see you again soon! Calvin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2018 via mobile

We loved everything about Cottars. It has just the right mix of nostalgia and modernization. Do not miss having a massage or a luxurious bush bath on your veranda. Our guide, Ken, was perfect from the minute he picked us up at the airstrip. His knowledge of the animals on our drives, his friendliness, attention to detail, and kindness will stay with us. Our tent steward was lovely. The managers looked out for us in every way. We really felt welcomed. On the last night we were treated with a delicious surprise cake celebrating our anniversary. We would return tomorrow if we could.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank LaCostaHills
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calvincottar, Owner at Cottar's Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2018

We would love to have you back again tomorrow too! Thank you so much for your lovely review, it's always so great to hear that guests love our camp as much as we do. We hope to see you again, possibly for your next anniversary! Thank you, Calvin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2018

My partner and I recently returned from our second visit to Africa. This time we visited Kenya and Tanzania. I had heard about Cottars Safari Camp all my life as it had been founded in 1919. We were immediately met by Joseph and Kit, two members of the Masai tribes nearby. On the way back from the airport, we saw a cheetah, giraffes, you name it. During the next few days, we saw every animal imaginable, including the great migration. Micah Conway greeted us at the camp and could not have been nicer or more accommodating. We had the good fortune to meet the 4th generation director, Calvin Cottar, who was such a hands-on owner and a lovely man. We stayed in the Tiva Tent, which had two bathrooms, a large bed, and two single beds. All of the tents are decorated with period antiques collected throughout the last 100 years. The food is superb. The chef takes his work very seriously and they also provided me with a birthday cake a few days early, and it was very unexpected and kind.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 361johnmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calvincottar, Owner at Cottar's Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2018

Hello John, it was great to meet you and I'm so pleased that you had such a wonderful time at our camp. We love hosting guests like you and we hope to have you back with us again soon! We're glad you enjoyed the Birthday cake and we hope you had a fantastic Birthday. All the best, Calvin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews