We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (359)
Filter reviews
359 results
Traveller rating
340
12
4
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
340
12
4
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews masai mara game drives calvin cottar mess tent safari experience family tent top notch once in a lifetime our honeymoon his knowledge three days great migration unique experience guide ken landing strip out of this world whole experience
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 359 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2018

Cottar's is the " Real Deal " when it comes to African Safari Trips. Hands down the best ! The staff, the management, the accommodations, the wilderness & of course the wildlife = A1. If you go take the time to meet Elvis the pool caretaker an interesting man in a amazing place.

Date of stay: September 2018
Thank RoamingTs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calvincottar, Owner at Cottar's 1920s Camp & Bush Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

Thank you for your wonderful review and thank you for choosing come on safari with us! It's great to hear that you had such a wonderful time and enjoyed getting to know our team and chatting to Elvis, Cottar's has the best characters! We hope to see you again soon. Thank you, Calvin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2018 via mobile

We were at Cottar’s camp 10 year’s ago and always said that we would be back, well we made it and it was better than the first time they have done a lot of work new pool, Spa, a history tent
The staff are the best we had a great game guide Wilson has a great sense of humour
Thank you for all the memories

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank joan t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calvincottar, Owner at Cottar's 1920s Camp & Bush Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

Wow, thank you Joan! And thank you for coming back! It's always a pleasure hosting you and we hope to see you again in another 10 years, if not before. Thank you so much, Calvin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2018

We just returned home after spending an exceptional 4 nights at Cottar's, August 20th - 24th. From the pickup at the airstrip by our guide Ken we spent the next four days experiencing the Maasai Mara as we could never have imaging. Everything was looked after, we arrived at the camp and were warmly greeted, we were shown to our tent, and to describe the accommodations as a tent does not do it justice, it's the same as any 5 star hotel with soft sided walls.
The food was amazing, any requests were looked after without any question, but the highlight was the 4 days we spent on the game drives. Our guide Ken was so knowledgable about all aspects, from game to birds to the environment we saw it all.
To Calvin, thank you to everyone at Cottar's for making this adventure a highlight of our trip.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cavelti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calvincottar, Owner at Cottar's 1920s Camp & Bush Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

You are so very, very welcome! This is what we love to do, host you and show you the Masai Mara in all it's glory. Thank you for your wonderful words here and I'm so glad to hear all about your stay. Ken is truly a fantastic guide and it's great to hear that he looked after you so well. We have a great team at Cottar's that I'm extremely proud of. Thank you! Calvin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2018

We stayed 3 nights and 4 days at the Cottars. We had a Family tent that was beyond "glamping". The history kept at the location with old pictures and memorabilia were so interesting. The staff went out of their way to take care of us. Each morning served a delicious breakfast. they arranged our tours of the Mara with some amazing guides. We explored the Mara with Wilson and Matura who were very knowledgeable and also made it lots of fun. Lunches were also delicious buffet style. After delicious dinners we would be escorted back to out tent by a Maasai Warrior for protection.
We couldn't ahve asked for a better experience all around.

Date of stay: July 2018
1  Thank jennifercerneka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calvincottar, Owner at Cottar's 1920s Camp & Bush Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

Thank you Jennifer! It's great to hear that you found our safari history interesting, we are very proud of it. I'm so glad to hear that you had such a great time and were so well looked after by Wilson and Matura. We hope to have you back again soon! Thanks, Calvin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018 via mobile

We recently stayed at Cottar’s in a family tent. The accommodations were great! The tents are spacious with all the extras you might need.
The staff was excellent. Our driver and “spotter” were well versed and we enjoyed all our trips out to the Bush.
The food was also excellent and there was something for everyone.
Would certainly recommend staying at Cottar’s when thinking about a safari vacation.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 503mac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calvincottar, Owner at Cottar's 1920s Camp & Bush Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

Thank you very much for your kind words about our 1920s Camp and your experience in our tents and on safari with us. We hope to have you back again with us soon. All the best, Calvin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews