We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Travelocity
$1,926
View deal
Expedia.com$1,926
Hotels.com$1,926
Orbitz.com$1,926
FindHotel$1,972
Tripadvisor$1,926
Etrip$1,972
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (398)
Filter reviews
398 results
Traveller rating
371
14
7
2
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
371
14
7
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews game drives safari experience other guests other camps family tent bush bath three days great migration high end mara river bush breakfast under canvas gold star sand river luxury camp kenya tents
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 398 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2018

This is the only way to go on safari. From the moment we were met by our guides at the bush airport to the time we took off again this was a holiday of non-stop amazing wlldlife experiences, fascinating cultural knowledge, sublime villa accommodation, fantastic friendly and unobtrusive staff service and so much happiness and laughter. The villa is itself is low-key, elegant and relevant luxury - nothing flash or jarring to remind you of life outside the bush - just comfort and class all the way.

The quality and the flexibility of the guiding is superlative - and the bush walks, warrior school and mountain biking provide so many different ways to experience the wildlife, flora and fauna. This is a remote camp with stunning views from its vantage point. Being able to sit and spot wildlife ambling around in the late afternoon sun with a sundowner in hand is an unreal experience.

We went just after a period of lengthy rains leaving the grass high - 2 metres in some places. Notwithstanding this we saw so much wildlife, including the Big 5 in the period of two days. The guiding from Make and spotting from Kitipa was just phenomenal - and so much fun too. Five gold shiny stars all the way

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank JaxnDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calvincottar, Owner at Cottar's Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

A massive thank you! This is what we love to hear! I'm thrilled that you had such a wonderful time in the Masai Mara with our team, and what a team we have. Thank you for your lovely feedback and it's great to hear that you were so well looked after and had such a wonderful time! Amazing that you got to see so much wildlife, you're right, Mako and Kitipa are phenomenal! Thanks again and we hope to have you back to stay again soon. Cheers, Calvin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018 via mobile

If you’ve ever thought about a safari holiday then look no further. Cottars is absolutely incredible. The accommodation at the Villa and the camp are beautiful and authentic, with superb views across the Mara.

There is a huge abundance of wildlife in the surrounding area and we saw all of the big five, beautiful birds and a few of the small five. Our brilliant guide and spotter did an incredible job and we are so thankful for their skills and enjoyable game drives. We went out every day and saw lion cubs, a leopard, a rhino, baby elephants, impala, buffalo, antelope, giraffes and many more.

Cottars offer a range of activities from game drives, bush walks, sundowners, spa treatments to Masai Warrior School. The latter was so much fun and is great for children too. We had a drink in the camp mess tent which was very much “Out of Africa”.

My husband and I stayed in the villa and is without a doubt the most beautiful home we have ever stayed in. We cannot fault anything.

Cottars are passionate about conservation and local community projects including a school which you can visit.

All members of staff are an absolute credit to Cottars. They can’t do enough for you and always with a smile on their face.

Thank you all for the most memorable holiday.

Gaynor & Pat

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank LadytravelsEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calvincottar, Owner at Cottar's Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

What an amazing safari Gaynor and Pat! It's wonderful to hear that you managed to see the Big 5 and much, much more. Thank you for your fantastic feedback and I'm thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our Bush Villa so much. We do have amazing staff, we are extremely lucky, thank you for recognising the great work that they do. We hope you have a wonderful year ahead and that we will be seeing you again soon. All the best, Calvin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2018

Cottar's is truly a hidden gem in the middle of the Masai Mara. The facilities are stunning, the food was delicious and totally customizable and the staff is five star. They plan everything for you and it's totally bespoke. Every day there is a different itinerary based on your likes and wants. The bush bath, dinner in the room, the spa, the dining, the guides - all the very top of the line and best in service. We were upgraded to the honeymoon tent which was large, clean and extremely comfortable. To name a few outstanding people: Kenn, our room attendant, Mako, our guide, Kitiba, our spotter, William, Frances and Patrick in the restaurant, Christna at the spa, Micah, the manager. Absolutely perfect honeymoon stay.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calvincottar, Owner at Cottar's Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Thank you Jessica! And thank you for appreciated and naming the outstanding staff on your safari, they work tirelessly and I'm so glad to hear that you were so well looked after. Thank you for all your wonderful feedback and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Cheers, Calvin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2018

We stayed at Cottars for 5 days to celebrate our honeymoon. I searched for months for the perfect place to end our honeymoon and seriously we couldn't have picked a better place. The property is beautiful, the main dining area is like out of a movie. I felt like in the movie Out of Africa. We stayed in the honeymoon tent and it was absolutely stunning and the view was breathtaking. The food, breakfast, lunch and dinner is so delicious and very nicely presented. The service is top notch and everyone is super friendly and willing to help with anything you may need. We enjoyed every game drive-expect something different every day. We did see the big five, even with the high grass. Enok was incredible and super knowledgeable. We asked him a million questions and he always had an answer. The stars at night is like nothing I've ever seen before. We enjoyed gazing at the stars at night from the fire place area. We visited the Maasai village which we loved, such an interesting culture. Please do yourself a favor and get the canvas bath- best bubble bath we've ever had. The massages are also unbelievable, we had one almost every day. We met Calvin Cottar and he was such a cool, down to earth guy- he has done an incredible job running this camp. Simply put, our stay was PERFECTION. It's worth every penny. We hope to be back very soon. Thank you to each and everyone at Cottar's for making our honeymoon pure bliss.

Much love,
Mariana & Roberto

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mph04
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calvincottar, Owner at Cottar's Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Dear Mariana & Roberto, I'm really glad that I got to meet you during your stay with us and thank you for all your lovely comments. Congratulations again on getting married and I'm so happy to hear that you had such a wonderful time with us! I agree, the Bush Baths are out of this world, definitely a must and Enock is an amazing guide that we are extremely proud of. I wish you all the best and we hope to have you back again with us soon! Calvin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2018

Wow, wow, wow — how to summarize our magical week at Cottar's? It was one of the most beautiful, incredible, and memorable experiences of our lives. We have been lucky to travel all over the world and do some amazing things, but this truly might have topped them all. Thank you to all of the staff, and especially to Mako and Kitipa; we miss you already and feel like we left pieces of our hearts with you in the Maasai Mara. I would hit the Trip Advisor character limit before mentioning even a fraction of the things that made our visit special, so I'll simply echo one of the reviews below and say go — just go. You can safari in a lot of places, but you can't do it as you would at Cottar's.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Allison E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calvincottar, Owner at Cottar's Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2018

Wow! How to respond to that. Thank you. We have the dream team at our camp and we are so very lucky. I'm speechless, and that dosen't happen often... Thank you so much for your wonderful comments and for enjoying the Masai Mara, our home and our brilliant bunch of Cottar's characters. We hope to see you again, Calvin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews