We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Victorian Lover's Dream”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Painted Lady of Columbus Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 5 Columbus B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Had such a lovely stay... I did not want to leave! Best B&B I've ever stayed in! The magnificent restoration and attention to period details made the owners' educational and professional background obvious! The rooms/beds were divine and the food absolutely delicious! Definitely will return if ever the occasion arises!

Room Tip: Dolly's room was large and lush! The period bathroom was equally fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RachelRains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
painted41, Owner at Painted Lady of Columbus Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Thank you for a great review! We have done extensive research on getting every little detail correct as to what an 1890's would have been. We are so glad our guests appreciate the details we put into the home.
Please come back to visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2013

We had a lovely one night stay here on October 26th. A beautifully restored, classic Victorian mansion made even lovelier by the innkeeper Jennifer. My Fiance' and I rested comfortably on the plantation style bed and had an amazing breakfast served up by Jennifer and her daughter. The house itself is beautiful and one wishes that its walls could tell stories long forgotten. We will stay here again in a heartbeat, the next time we visit Columbus, MS.

Room Tip: After seeing all the rooms before others arrived, it would be hard to choose one room over another...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
painted41, Owner at Painted Lady of Columbus Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful review. We strive to make our wonderful guests feel comfortable and at home. Please come back to see us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

If you can slow down, you will love this place. Mother, daughter and friends run
A Painted Lady in the antebellum heart of old Columbus. Katie Rose made
breakfast pudding for us. Excellent. My brother settled in the magnificent
Library rooms for two days. We toured neighborhood mansions. He wouldn't
leave his "study" and the back garden. "I'm happy. I'll stay and read my book,"
he quipped. He missed the river walk, but we pried him away for some local
soul food cooking and a fine restaurant that Jennifer recommended. I could
go on about the flawless decor, the antiques, the gentle player piano music
while we sat on the front porch. Instead I'll close with a suggestion. Start your
trip a little earlier so you can spend more time here. If you can relax, it's perfect!
-- Rod B. --

Room Tip: Downstairs grand. Upstairs various sizes, prices and amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rod B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

On our quest to visit all 50 states, we chose the small town of Columbus, MS to get a taste of Mississippi. The Painted Lady B&B added a delightful charm to our visit. Jennifer was great - very warm and welcoming. The house itself is wonderful and we had a great stay. Jennifer was also very helpful in suggesting tours of 2 of the antebellum homes, which were also charming. Don't miss Waverly and hearing all the stories! Thank you, Jennifer, for a wonderful short visit.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lovestotravel2z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We just returned from a trip to the South and had the most wonderful experience of staying, for the first time, at a bed-n-breakfast. It was "A Painted Lady" in Columbus, Mississippi. What a joy!! The Lady of the house, Jennifer, is a true southern charmer, as is her bed n breakfast. You are transported back in time to the Old South with all of it's hospitality, charm and romance. Very warm and welcoming. Breakfast was delicious!!!!!!! A must, if you are planning a trip to the south!!!!!

Diana B.

Room Tip: The Dolly Room or the Library are the best for couples, the other two rooms would be fine for friend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.7 km away
Shadowlawn Bed & Breakfast
1.7 km away
Jackie O' House
Jackie O' House
#4 of 5 in Columbus
9 reviews
2.1 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 14 in Columbus
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Hyatt Place Columbus
Hyatt Place Columbus
#2 of 14 in Columbus
247 reviews
3.2 km away
Wingate by Wyndham Columbus
2.7 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Columbus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Painted Lady of Columbus Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Painted Lady of Columbus Bed and Breakfast

Address: 504 5th St S, Columbus, MS 39701-6710
Region: United States > Mississippi > Columbus
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Columbus
Price Range: ₹ 8,074 - ₹ 12,208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Painted Lady of Columbus Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy Southern Hospitality in this Queen Anne Victorian home located just one block from historic downtown Columbus Ms. Voted as One of the Best Places to Stay by Readers Choice Awards. Pillowtop mattresses, gourmet teas and coffees, homemade cookies and cakes, flat screen TVs, English toiletries, plush towels and robes, rocking chairs and fountains, rose gardens, on site gift shoppe are just a few of our amenities. Enjoy breakfast in our courtyard or under the crystal gas chandelier in our formal dining room. Come see why guests call us the True Spirit of Mississippi! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing