We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Privacy Plus Tasty Breakfast!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Painted Lady of Columbus Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 5 Columbus B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 September 2013

My husband and I and another couple rented the entire Painted Lady for a couple of days and nights. We slept upstairs in very comfortable beds with on suite bathrooms that were very clean and well appointed with wonderful towels and toiletries. We used the library suite downstairs as our joint living space and it was perfect--room to sit and relax and an adjoining bathroom so we did not have to climb the stairs all day. Be forewarned if you rent only one suite--the Painted Lady is a true Victorian with steep (although wide with sturdy rails) stairs. Jennifer cooked us great breakfasts each morning and we enjoyed the privacy of the courtyard as well. Jennifer provided snacks and bottled water for our comfort. There is a large refrigerator and Keurig coffee maker in the community area upstairs and a small frig and another Keurig in the library suite downstairs so we were able to have coffee or tea whenever we wanted. We brought our own wine, champagne, etc and Jennifer provided glasses for us. We even used her orange juice to make mimosas for breakfast. Jennifer was a great hostess--she made us comfortable and then gave us our privacy. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YankeeLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2013

Our stay at A Painted Lady was everything we imagined it would be. Our room was clean and quiet and filled with lovely antiques. Jennifer was a gracious hostess who made us feel right at home. Breakfast was plentiful and superb. In a town where luxury hotels don't exist, A Painted Lady fills that need with good old fashioned Southern Hospitality and charm. Do yourself a favor and skip the mid to low end chain hotels.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RozLee2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013 via mobile

Beautiful 1890's Victorian style home that is perfectly decorated. I couldn't get over how clean it was in spite of all the trinkets and whatnots everywhere. We stayed in Dolly's room...slept like a baby in the king bed with ultra soft sheets. It was a little warm on arrival but the ac hadn't been on that long an it cooled down nicely. Breakfast was lovely and our hostess, Jennifer, shared stories about the house. Great comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SybinTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Wow! Words do not do this historic B&B justice. Innkeeper Jennifer Miller has lovingly restored this beautiful Victorian B&B to its former glory (make sure to ask her about the renovations made to the home on your tour, great for history buffs!). From the home's beautiful multi-colored stained glass and lovely exterior paint colors to the spot-on decor and fresh flowers in nearly every room, The Painted Lady shines in downtown Columbus. Miller has paid attention to the small details that make an impact. Tastefully chosen and period-appropriate antiques fill each room and everywhere you look in the house there is something new to discover. I love a well-appointed and beautifully maintained historical home, The Painted Lady tops my list of bed and breakfasts in the Golden Triangle area - highly recommend!

Room Tip: The Library Suite is the only bedroom on the first floor so those guests who are unable to climb one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lsaintj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

My husband and I stayed at this very lovely Bed & Breakfast while in Mississippi on business. The inn is filled with exquisite antiques everywhere you look. Jennifer, the innkeeper, did a fabulous job restoring the home to its original splendor. We stayed in the Library room, which was very spacious and comfortable. There is a beautiful courtyard where you can relax and enjoy the fountain and the flowers and a large front porch with lots of comfortable chairs. The inn is conveniently located close to the main street with restaurants and shopping only a short walk away. We will definitely stay at the Painted Lady again should we return to Columbus.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clare Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
painted41, Owner at Painted Lady of Columbus Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2013

Thank you for staying with us while on business. We try to accommodate our professionals as much as we can . We are glad you got to enjoy the relaxing courtyard and the front porch. The pollen is finally gone and the roses are in full bloom. Thank you for such a kind compliment and do come back to see us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.7 km away
Shadowlawn Bed & Breakfast
1.7 km away
Jackie O' House
Jackie O' House
#3 of 5 in Columbus
9 reviews
2.1 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 14 in Columbus
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Hyatt Place Columbus
Hyatt Place Columbus
#2 of 14 in Columbus
247 reviews
3.2 km away
Wingate by Wyndham Columbus
2.7 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Columbus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Painted Lady of Columbus Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Painted Lady of Columbus Bed and Breakfast

Address: 504 5th St S, Columbus, MS 39701-6710
Region: United States > Mississippi > Columbus
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Columbus
Price Range: ₹ 8,054 - ₹ 12,177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Painted Lady of Columbus Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy Southern Hospitality in this Queen Anne Victorian home located just one block from historic downtown Columbus Ms. Voted as One of the Best Places to Stay by Readers Choice Awards. Pillowtop mattresses, gourmet teas and coffees, homemade cookies and cakes, flat screen TVs, English toiletries, plush towels and robes, rocking chairs and fountains, rose gardens, on site gift shoppe are just a few of our amenities. Enjoy breakfast in our courtyard or under the crystal gas chandelier in our formal dining room. Come see why guests call us the True Spirit of Mississippi! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing