We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (10)
Filter reviews
10 results
Traveller rating
10
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
10
0
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 10 reviews
Reviewed 17 November 2014

My wife and i spent two comfortable nights in a Southern home with a Southern lady, making us feel welcome and at home. Our stay at Backstrom's Bed and Breakfast was perfect in every way.
The home was built with lumber from a century old store and is country in furnishings as well as structure. The three large and roomy bedrooms are upstairs, each with a private bath.
A large breakfast was served each day and was very tasty and special. The B&B is set back several hundred feet from the highway while trees keep the sound of traffic from disturbing the atmosphere of the home. A large front porch, with rocking chairs, would make for a perfect place to relax in good weather. The town of Columbus has beautiful old homes and other attractions.

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnnie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2014

Wonderful stay. Felt at home the moment you walk through the doors. The hostess, Betty Jo Backstrom, harkens back to when Southern hospitality meant opening up your home and providing food and comfort with grace and gentility as only the South can do. Spacious bedrooms and baths, antiques with personal history throughout and a breakfast that forgoes the need for lunch later. Only hope there will be an opening when we head back that way.-MSU alum, Savannah, GA

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JSFC55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Tucked into the woods outside Columbus, MS is a beautiful country house and a true Southern hostess. Backstrom's is a pleasure from from start to finish. The rooms are large and beautifully furnished. Each bedroom has its own bath. The house is filled with Southern antiques (many from the Betty Jo's family country store) and stained glass panels made by the late Mr. Backstrom. He was a true craftsman.

Betty Jo Backstrom was kind enough to tell us the history of the house and about how much of the wood came from her family's country store in Tennessee. She prepared a breakfast that was one of the best meals I have ever eaten - eggs, biscuits, grits, fresh fruit, poached pears, and poppy seed bread. You can be sure i will stop there the next time I am in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fred T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

A stay at Backstrom's will be a lifetime memory. We have stayed there twice now over several days each time and no two breakfast's were the same. The fresh fruit breakfast casseroles are to die for, and the breakfasts also include eggs of various sorts, breads, juices, fruit bowls, biscuits, and all freshly prepared each morning. Our imaginations still take us back to the baked pears! The house is immaculate and the 4 sleeping rooms are very large and equally spotless and comfortable, each with its own large full bath. Mrs. Backstrom makes guests feel at home as soon as they step in the door. In fact, she just sort of adopts you and can't seem to do enough for you, but is never intrusive. The house is really fun to wander though and observe so many wonderful items which fill the rooms. Be sure to have Mrs. Backstrom tell the story of the house which definitely is not the usual "older house story." It is a quiet and beautiful property, well maintained in a very natural setting!! Morning coffee on the front porch is a great way to start the day. We fully endorse all the wonderful comments made by other reviewers and strongly recommend a stay here, even if visiting Starkville, which is about 25 minutes away. It really beats the cookie-cutter hotels/motels in the Starkville and Columbus areas, and even costs less!! One of the best B &B's we have ever visited, and we are headed back there durng our next trip to Starkville.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great!!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We came in town for a pilot graduation at Columbus Air Force Base. Betty Jo adopted us as her own for the weekend and we truly felt like a part of her family. We had many conversations with her and really enjoyed our time there. The house was stunning and the rooms were large and cozy. Breakfast was served whenever it was convenient for our busy schedule and was delicious every morning. We loved this B&B and will be sure to stay here again if we are ever in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mspilot921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews