We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (388)
Filter reviews
388 results
Traveller rating
321
47
17
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
321
47
17
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews water taxi marlborough sounds queen charlotte track new zealand degustation dinner floor to ceiling windows very special place wine tasting spa treatments motuara island pool and hot tub stunning location slice of heaven bird song one bedroom apartment three nights each evening
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 388 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2018 via mobile

This place is good for the soul! It was a perfect relaxing 48 hours to break up our busy itinerary. The weather gods gifted us with gorgeous sunny weather the entire time. Has to be one of the most peaceful places on earth! The only sounds you hear are the array of different birds (sometimes a noisy penguin), the water lapping on the shore, and the very occasional boat/helicopter. Rooms are raw and beautiful, each has their own special private view of the bay. Beautiful bathroom amenities that reminded me of being in a day spa. On a side note, the day spa is only open in the warmer months starting in October however I believe there are plans in place to have the spa open all year round soon. Very grateful for the guest laundry as our busy itinerary has restricted our ability to do any so far on our trip. Also a large array of books, board games and dvds to take back to your room if you wish. Couple of great hikes nearby, one to a waterfall and one to the Lookout. The lookout hike is very challenging but rewarding. Use the hiking sticks provided! Lots of slippery little areas. Took me about 50 minutes to get to the top and I walked very slowly and stopped often (bad knees). There is also a short night-time walk which leads you to some magical glow worms. We also made use of the complimentary kayaks and met a very laid back seal having a sun bake in the water, seemed completely unfazed by our presence. We did a 7 course degustation at the Foredeck restaurant for dinner and it was just divine! One of the best I’ve had. Reasonably priced, every course just so so delicious, and we left feeling quite satiated. Staff go above and beyond to make every guest feel welcome and to help them achieve the type of stay they wish to have, whether it be adventurous or more laid back. You will never ever want to leave this exclusive corner of paradise!! Hope to be back again. And thanks to the very reliable complimentary WiFi which is allowing me to write this review :-)

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GDS9664, General Manager at Bay of Many Coves, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2018

Wow - what a fantastic review and what a pleasure to have you stay with us this week.
We have a great team here at the Bay of Many Coves who are passionate about exceeding guest expectations - and I am proud to say that in almost every case, they achieve this.
Thank you for highlighting all of the things you found positive about your stay - in particular the many hikes around the property.
I hope you are able to come back and join us again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018

I must admit, I was a little sceptical when my wife said she wanted to spend 4 days there, but at the end of the stay, we actually did not want to leave. As we are city folk with the stress, hustle and bustle, this place was really a slice of heaven for us. You wake up with stunning views, have breakfast in front of stunning views....get the point.. we even took the opportunity to hike around the surrounding areas along the queen charlotte track, beautiful scenery and peace. The hotel was fantastic and the service was excellent. A shout out to Graeme and Kim and the team for making our stay very memorable and we really felt at home. Did I mention the award winning food...fantastic..delicious.. and ingredients coming from the surrounding areas.. Another highlight was the dolphins swimming in the waters near the hotel....

Room Tip: there is no bad room.. all rooms face the water
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ctb1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GDS9664, General Manager at Bay of Many Coves, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

Thank you guys for this wonderful review and endorsement of what we set out to achieve here at the Bay of Many Coves. I recall having a conversation with you on the Kumatge deck one morning about the beauty of the Marlborough Sounds during the Winter.
We are of the belief that the Winter months are even more beautiful that the Summer months with the increased wild life and the beautiful crisp mornings.
Thank you for acknowledging the stunning views and the local walks from the Resort which make for some very cool activities right at our back door. Thank you also for acknowledging the wonderful
food that our chefs lovingly serve day in, day out.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018 via mobile

Bay of Many Coves Resort is one of our favorite places in Queen Charlotte Sounds and frequent it often throughout the summer months.
We decided to take a visit at this time of the year, August as it was a stunning Sunday and thought of nothing nicer than sitting on the deck by the water at Bay of Many Coves.
Arriving just after mid day we were surprised not many people there and actually pulling up on our boat the place almost looked like it was not open!!
A few tables outside not many like peak season no umbrellas, certainly not what we thought it would look like on such a brilliant Sunday!
We were met on the jetty by a new face and I am afraid there was no greeting not really even a hello no sign of him helping to tie us up. Normally we are greeted cheerfully and that person usually helps guests tie their boats up and generally makes them feel welcome there was certainly no sign of that from this guy.
We sat ourselves down family of six and a very nice German waitress served us, she actually made us feel like we were welcome which was very nice.
Within a few minutes another few boats tied up and came for lunch so suddenly more tables had to be brought out obviously the three tables they only had put were never going to be enough on this gorgeous day!!
Finally a little later an umbrella was put up for a table.
Our meal was ok but we felt quite expensive for what we had there was no wow factor with any of the food. Having two children with us there are no children’s menus offered which our children reminded us they had last summer! Maybe they will come once the high season kicks in.
Our table service was very good and the Manager very pleasant as usual but what I want to say it seems such a shame first appearances were not how they should be.
It was the perfect opportunity to showcase the resort on such a beautiful Springlike day and have tables all out doors open and umbrellas up and a nice friendly greeting at jetty. Unfortunately non of this happened and if it was a first time visit I am not sure I would be in a hurry to return.
Bay of Many Coves is such a beautiful and unique spot it needs to be marketed in that way and it’s not hard to do!
We will return as we llove the place here’s hoping things will improve during the Summer months.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank KiwiAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GDS9664, General Manager at Bay of Many Coves, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

This is really disappointing feedback - particularly given you are comparing the Summer Season where can serve 200+ covers a day to last Sunday, in the Winter, where we served 9.
During the Winter we do not roster people into the Bight Cafe as such but as you experienced, Madeline was on hand to welcome you to the Cafe and look after you and Kim and I came down to say hi once we realised we had boats in.
As an aside - we have never done kids menus - even in the Summer but pride ourselves on the fact that we will prepare a bespoke option whenever our customers request it.
We place enormous pride in or proactive approach to our locals who are our lifeline during the Winter months and apologise if you felt that we missed the mark on this occasion. Unfortunately - you will be well aware that even on the most stunningly beautiful Sunday afternoon - it remains very quiet down in the Sounds. We would be very keen to see that trend change so that the Summer feeling you speak of can be a year round thing.
See you in the Summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2018 via mobile

Wow, have never arrived at accommodation by boat before! Very impressive. Friendly staff at the pick up point and lovely transfer. Amazing scenery on journey. Couldn’t believe this place, such a beautiful setting. Very welcoming staff, who explained all about the resort and the accommodation. Seen to our lodge - absolutely perfect, great size lounge, bedroom and bathroom. Really lovely having a small but well equipped kitchen with everything you would need. We enjoyed making our own breakfasts for a change and sitting out on the balcony to enjoy the gorgeous views - thought I’d died and gone to heaven. Lovely linens too - always welcome. Fabulous restaurant on site, more very professional staff who were lovely to talk to too, superb food and wine. Great too that there was a guest laundry on site - at last. Took the hike up to the top - not for the feint hearted, but persevered as other guests were taking this route too - worth the effort for the views from the top and a much easier route back down to the resort. Didn’t want to leave this gorgeous resort - can highly recommend.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank lizh215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GDS9664, General Manager at Bay of Many Coves, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

Thank you guys for this wonderful feedback. You have managed to detail all of the things that make the Bay of Many Coves such a wonderful place and also the things that we are most proud of.
We have a very friendly team who all work hard to make your stay a memorable experience - be it the detail in the housekeeping, the spectacular food prepared by our international team of chefs, the service provided by our professional front of house team or the beautiful way our grounds team present the property - they all contribute to making the Resort a very special place.
Your recommendation is really appreciated and we hope to see you back here again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2018

My partner and I could not review BOMC highly enough. We had an outstanding weekend away here. The service was friendly, the grounds were beautiful, the apartment was comfortable and everything you could ever need, and the small details made it all the more better- fresh coffee beans and a grinder in your room, kayaks for free hire, board games and a library, top notch cleanliness, and more. We thoroughly enjoyed using the spa pool and our breakfasts and dinners at the restaurants were delicious and fairly priced. We loved being able to go for little adventurous walks to see the glow worms and waterfall, and waking up to enjoy a hot bevvy on our apartment deck with the most picturesque view. We will definitely be back again one day.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KateF1361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GDS9664, General Manager at Bay of Many Coves, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2018

Thanks Kate for your review. We enjoyed having you stay with us here at the Bay of Many Coves and are very pleased that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay.
You highlighted all that we are most proud of - along with one of the must professional teams I have had the pleasure of working with.
We hope you are able to join us again soon guys.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews