We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Overall Very Good Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Palace Casino Resort
Ranked #3 of 47 Hotels in Biloxi
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Instead of going to Las Vegas this year, I went to Biloxi, mainly because I could drive there and avoid the hassles of the Atlanta airport. I spent a week at the Palace in May. This casino/resort has many excellent features: it is totally smoke free--yes you read that correctly; all the people I encountered were helpful and friendly; it had a $3.00 blackjack game going 24/7 with rules very favorable to the player; it also had $3.00 craps and roulette games Sunday through Thursday. My room was large, clean, and comfortable with a pleasant view of the marina, the bay, and the bridge going over the bay. The pool was large and the water temperature was perfect.

I did encounter some minor annoyances. These include the following: the water temperature in the outdoor hot tub was tepid; no shower cap in the room and none available from housekeeping; the elevators did not always activate when I inserted my room key in the appropriate slot.

The Palace's biggest shortcoming is the quality of its restaurants. I had at least one meal at Mignons steakhouse, the buffet, Stacks Grill, and the Cafe and Bakery. The food and service at Mignons was excellent and worth the money. The buffet strives mightily and too often fails to achieve mediocrity; the food is largely tasteless, it is mostly fried, and there are too few green vegetables. I would certainly be willing to pay more for better quality food on the buffet. The food at the Grill tasted better than the buffet, but it too is mostly fried. The Cafe and Bakery serves pre-packaged salads and sandwiches.

On a one to ten scale, the Palace rates an 8.5. I'll be back to gamble and relax at the pool, but unless the quality of the food improves, I'll eat elsewhere.

Room Tip: A room with a view is worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank lowstakesgambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (951)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

766 - 770 of 951 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2012

My husband and I went to Biloxi with out daughter for a 2 night stay. However, we decided we'd had enough after one night. Nothing was horrible, but NOTHING was outstanding or top notch except the waitress in the buffet. She was our best experience there!

Your $100 deposit will not be refunded to you for 30 days, according to the lady who checked us in. That's a bit extreme. I got my tax refund sooner than that! The staff is not very helpful or friendly- some of them were though, to be fair. We were told "I don't know" for example, rather than, "I will find out for you." The bell hop told us only about a quarter of the things we would have liked to have been made aware of. I mean basic stuff! They need to sharpen their guest services skills. The elevators are slow. The fact that you need a card to get anywhere on an elevator is ridiculous. The pool is not that great. Good luck with the salt water treatment and haze in the water. Yuck! The room had a broken closet door, a broken stopper in the tub, a great view of the roof and air condition units, no fridge, and a dinosaur of a TV. Guest services took a long time to answer the phone- both times we called. The buffet was okay, but nothing to write home about. It took a long time to seat a line of 4 couples. The bathroom in the room was tiny. The pool took all but a secret password and handshake to get to. It couldn't be less accessible if they tried!

Overall- thumbs down. We saved a few bucks staying here, but will pay the extra few bucks and stay somewhere quality next time.

Oh, and by the way, Keith Crosby, General Manager, please don't insult my review by adding one of those redundant and insincere apologies left for all of these other negative reviews. I'd just rather you correct some of the problems. Thanks.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Too good to be true, but it is! We stopped on our way home from vacation so that we could watch a soccer championship game. Being in a smoke-free environment was fantastic! The employees were courteous and professional. We'll keep it on our "favorite" casino list for sure!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shelley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keithcrosby, General Manager at Palace Casino Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2012

Thanks for visiting the Palace Casino Resort and enjoying our smoke free property. Hope your team won the game!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

I've been staying at the Palace for many years but never wrote a review. Overall my wife and I are very pleased with the hotel and casino. All employees we encountered are very friendly and the room is overall satisfactory. The smoke free enviroment is a big plus for us.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MKC18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 July 2012

Thanks for the kind words and your business over the years. We are about to begin making the selections for our upcoming hotel room renovations. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

The only reason I did not give them a top rating is because I requested a room overlooking the bay, similar to the one on their website but with two queens and was assured I'd be on that side of the hotel, WHAT I GOT was a room overlooking a roof and eventually out on the horizon the gulf. I spoke to the front desk on arrival but could not be accommodated. It was my Mother's birthday so I was disappointed. The smoke free casino was awesome though and the buffet was very good.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 July 2012

Thanks for the comments and I'm sorry about our failure to honor your bay side room request. That will be addressed with the hotel manager. We hope you will visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Biloxi hotels
3.4 km away
IP Casino Resort Spa - Biloxi
2.7 km away
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Biloxi
9.1 km away
Treasure Bay Casino and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
White House Hotel
White House Hotel
#1 of 47 in Biloxi
943 reviews
7.7 km away
South Beach Biloxi Hotel & Suites
4.3 km away
Hampton Inn Biloxi
Hampton Inn Biloxi
#5 of 47 in Biloxi
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace Casino Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Casino Resort

Address: 158 Howard Ave, Biloxi, MS 39530-4744
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Mississippi > Biloxi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Biloxi
#2 Luxury Hotel in Biloxi
#3 Romantic Hotel in Biloxi
#4 Family Hotel in Biloxi
Price Range: ₹ 3,713 - ₹ 10,096 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palace Casino Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palace Casino Resort is the only smoke free casino on the Mississippi Gulf Coast and the premiere destination for luxurious accommodations, superior guest service and endless excitement. Nestled along the beautiful Gulf of Mexico and Biloxi’s Back Bay, the resort offers newly renovated hotel rooms and suites with stunning views, award winning restaurants, non-stop gaming, championship golf at The Preserve Golf Club and amazing amenities to complement your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Palace Casino Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Biloxi
Palace Biloxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing