We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Nice boat ride but not a lot to do.

Three of us went to Ship Island on Oct. 3rd. The boat ride was nice and leisurely....the best part... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Chrissim27
,
Shreveport, Louisiana
Don’t miss this island

The water was warm and clear. We watched the sea life go by. The board walk to the other side was... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Heather M
Read all 308 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Biloxi
from US$ 12.50
More Info
from US$ 32.49
More Info
Reviews (308)
Filter reviews
303 results
Traveller rating
214
67
19
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
214
67
19
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fort massachusetts snack bar boat ride day trip chairs and umbrellas saw dolphins ice chest clear water concession stand wear shoes national park fort tour snack stand barrier island long boardwalk great family day umbrella rental
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 303 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Three of us went to Ship Island on Oct. 3rd. The boat ride was nice and leisurely....the best part of the day. We toured the fort which was small but really pretty neat. We stayed behind after the other folks left and got some additional information from the park ranger. He was 93 and still enjoying doing the tour!!!! It was extremely hot inside when there was no wind and when you had to stand in the sun. We had some burgers at the snack bar. Food was OK but not great. But didn't expect a great meal anyway. We watched the blackbirds in the seating area.....had fun with that, and that was the only place to sit in the shade. We walked down to the beach, but didn't stay as we didn't want to sit on the beach and had no swim suits. The beach was nice and the water was a bit clearer than back in Biloxi. We saw lots of rays and fish near the dock area. The ride back was pleasant. It was a very nice day trip.

1  Thank Chrissim27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The water was warm and clear. We watched the sea life go by. The board walk to the other side was well cared for. Don’t forget to take a tour of the fort it’s free and worth the trip alone.

1  Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My family and I LOVE Ship Island!! Great prices, great environment, and wonderful staff. I've been coming here since I was little and I've always loved it.

Thank MichelleSmith0908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2018 via mobile

So glad we decided to visit this beach!
It was about an hr ride on the ferry from Biloxi, and about 10 mins walk to the beach from the ferry dock. Around $30/person(adult) online purchase. We rented the umbrella and 2chairs for $25 @ they booth which is decent and recommended.
The water is clearer than Biloxi.
We saw some dolphins jumping around close to us.
The snack bar is very reasonable price for everything.
The shower(outside) and the bathroom facility available.
We will definitely go back!

Thank maruko3510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2018 via mobile

If you visit Biloxi take a day trip to Ship Island. Visit with Captain Pete - grandson of the original owner. The island is HOT!

If you like snorkeling find out about visibility before going. If it’s been windy you won’t see anything! The dock side has more rays, fish, and dolphins.

Great show on the trip back with dolphins jumping from the water!

The fort tour is worth it but watch for fire ants and mosquitoes.

Swimming is also good with very warm water.

1  Thank OregonRainGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018

The walk in the heat is worth the experience. The length of time on the Island is perfect. On the trip over we always see Dolphins, tons of jelly fish, stingrays. It is so peaceful and the water is wonderful, they sell inflated tubes for $3 or $4, great quality. Snack bar sells Mic Ultra so yay there!! Food is so-so but you can take your own lunch, water or snacks. This is a Must Do Day Trip!!! I plan my vacation around it.

Thank l0ve2travel4real
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018 via mobile

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our day trip to Ship Island. If you choose not to bring a cooler full of food and drinks or chairs with you, a snack bar is available and chairs and umbrellas are available for rent, all at reasonable prices. A tour of Fort Massachusetts is an informative experience. You can buy tickets online or at the dock. An excellent way to spend a day.

Thank G5399MYmelissaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2018

We generally take our own boat or wave runners when in town but for out of towners, the fairey is the way to go. Catch it out of the gulfport harbor, load up an ice chest and bring your tanning lotion.

1  Thank geeeeneeee2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2018 via mobile

It is a hike from the boat to the beach area, so if you have trouble walking distances, it might not be the trip for you. The facilities are very clean. The snack shop and gift shop are well stocked and reasonably priced. There really isn't much to do but swim, walk, sit on the beach, and tour the fort. The boat ride is a bit more than an hour from Biloxi. The chair and umbrella rental is well worth not carrying your own and it would be rough without them. The water is not as clear as the Caribbean but it was pretty clear. We are so glad we took this trip.

8  Thank CathyP217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018

Ship Island is a treasure of the Mississippi Gulf Coast and can be a great day-trip if you understand what to expect. First, unlike the barrier islands of Florida that are connected to the mainland and highly populated, Ship Island lies about 12 miles south of the Mississippi Gulf Coast and is only accessible by boat. The best place to catch the ferry to Ship Island is the Gulfport Harbor in Jones Park near downtown Gulfport. Ferry prices are quite reasonable and you can expect to see dolphins and other sea life on the short ride to the island. As it's not a populated island, a day-trip to the Ship Island comes with some necessary preparations. The island has full-time park rangers on site and a small concession shop that is open most days during peak season. However, be prepared to bring your necessities with you -- sunscreen, bug spray, bottled water, comfortable clothing and any other things you might need. Also, be prepared for some moderate walking. The ferry lands on the northern side of the island, and most of the beaches you'll want to access are on the southern side. An elevated boardwalk connects the two sides of the island and should be an easy walk for most people. Once you access the beaches, you can literally hike all the way around the island. Beach chairs are set up near the terminus of the boardwalk, but for those looking for more adventure, feel free to venture down the beach into more secluded areas of the island. In peak season, the crowds are relatively small so expect plenty of privacy and space. In non-peak season, you might feel like you're on your own private island unto yourself. Don't miss the guided tours at the ruins of Civil-War era Fort Massachusetts, located near the ferry dock. The park rangers there will tell you all about Ship Island's long and storied history as a debarkation points for immigrants coming to the French and Spanish colonies along the Gulf Coast, its military uses in the Civil War and afterward, and lots of other interesting historical tidbits. If you're a fan of eco-tourism, history or just looking for a day at the beach off the beaten path (with water that is much clearer and cleaner than on the Mississippi Coastal mainland) Ship Island is a great idea for a day trip getaway.

7  Thank AshLisEdwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews