We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Good small cottage in outstanding position”
other travellers have booked this property
Seal Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Seal Cottage
Portnahaven Bay Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
10 reviews
Seal Cottage
Portnahaven Bay
Living Room
Stove
View from front door
Kitchen
Plate Rack
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Bathroom
Seals in Bay
Dolphins with Skiff
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Portnahaven, Islay, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Derek S
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good small cottage in outstanding position”
Reviewed 11 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This little cottage is in a fantastic position. From the front window you see seals at every glance. Across the bay is a a friendly little pub, good food too and from the top of the garden you can see Atlantic waves crashing on the rocks.
The location on the island was the best we saw as we toured the island and would certainly revisit Seal Cottage.
Rooms were tidy with ample heating and storage. There are also books and leaflets to help plan your stay and a very useful pair of binoculars at the window (seals).
On the down side due to the age and construction of the old building there is a dehumidifier on to control the moisture. The biggest bugbear was that the chopping knives need sharpening - I left them a note.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2017
Thank you for your review - it was great to have you stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Passenger...
1 review
“Islay magic”
Reviewed 3 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Seal cottage Portnahaven amazing location.It's got it all beach seals in bay spectacular sunsets such welcoming people Then there's the rest of the island to explore a real gem it's wildlife beaches distilleries and much more .we had an amazing week and would love to return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2017
Thank you for your review - it was great to have you stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Journey68...
1 review
“ Great stay!”
Reviewed 1 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

A cosy cottage in beutiful Portnahaven. We had a wonderful week on Islay. We got married in Portnahaven. When we go back to Islay we would probably want to stay in Portnahaven again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2017
Thank you for your review - it was great to have you stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
7 Sep 2016
Thanks very much for your kind words John. We aim to keep it that way and hope to see you back again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
travelsof...
Cowal
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cosy Seal Cottage”
Reviewed 20 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely stay at Seal Cottage. It's small but adequate. A nice log and coal fire. It was great to see the seals in the harbour. Portnahaven is a lovely village. There is plenty to do on Islay. We will be back! .

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2017
Thank you for your review - it was great to have you stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing