We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (73)
Filter reviews
73 results
Traveller rating
20
27
15
10
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
20
27
15
10
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot tub adjacent restaurant waffles paul bunyan clean rooms stay there again close to downtown four nights fishing trip continental breakfast leech lake easy access a great place to stay recommend this hotel walkers mn heartland
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 73 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2018

Four of us stayed at the Walker Hotel for four nights, while we biked the Paul Bunyan Trail. Driving up, it looks like a typical motor hotel on a state highway. As it turns out, we had an absolutely wonderful stay. The hotel is very nicely and recently re-modeled, and was very clean. The staff, in their quiet way, went out of their way to be helpful and friendly. Room was nice and big, and everything operated perfectly. (Rooms with two beds are bigger.) Very comfortable, new bed. Breakfast was pretty good. While our original focus of the trip was the biking, the hotel actually was a great part of our stay. Wonderful place!

Room Tip: Double rooms are bigger than king.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AndyandDonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shay M, Manager at Walker Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Thank you Andy & Donna , we are deeply grateful with your words of appreciation , they are well encouraging giving us moral strength to work on more progressive hard work.
We truly love Guests like you & wish to have more & more ! all the times !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2018 via mobile

This is the second time I have stayed here. They are in the process of getting new carpet which will be very nice when it is done! It is nothing fancy, but staff is kind and very friendly and the rooms are clean. That's what I am looking for when I get a room. We will definitely be back!

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank crazycampinlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shay M, Manager at Walker Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2018

Thank you very much, truly we all staff appreciate it. Thanks again !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2018

My wife and i were in Walker visiting the new Brewery, Portage Brewing Company (which is a great place) and didn't want to drive home. We thought it best to stay over and get up in the morning to drive home.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shay M, Manager at Walker Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2018

Thank you, Mike. for your time & review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017

We stayed here 2 nights as this is about the closest place to stay that is by Huddles. It is very close to downtown. The breakfast is very good. Loved the waffles :) Owners were also very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JMD1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shay M, Manager at Walker Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2018

Thanks !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017

This place is typical of a Hampton Inn. But my main complaint is the cleanliness of the common area. Our rooms were clean although the carpet was stained. But the lobby and main stairs were littered with dirt. The front desk could see the debris on the floor in the lobby area but did nothing all night to clean up.
First impression was lasting and not great.
Also, no elevator to access second floor.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doug G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shay M, Manager at Walker Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2018

Hello Doug, will definitely take steps to maintain this hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews