We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Superior Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Country Inn of Two Harbors(Two Harbors)(Great Value!)
US$ 161
US$ 155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Superior Shores Resort(Two Harbors)(Great Value!)
US$ 197
US$ 172
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 177
US$ 160
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Viking Motel(Two Harbors)(Great Value!)
US$ 143
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Voyageur Motel(Two Harbors)
US$ 99
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 201
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cove Point Lodge(Beaver Bay)(Great Value!)
US$ 262
US$ 245
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 168
US$ 125
Official Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 109
US$ 100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 114/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (587)
Filter reviews
587 results
Traveller rating
309
143
68
33
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
309
143
68
33
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssplashing rockbeach housenorth shoregooseberry fallslog homeswedding receptionwood burning fireplacebedroom cabinview of the lakebeautiful locationhot tubfamily weddingget awaywalleyesplit rock lighthouseour honeymoonlake home
Filter
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 587 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2017

My wife and I stayed in one of the private log cabins (#507) for our 30th anniversary and it was a great experience. The cabin faces the lake and has an amazing view from the living area and private deck. Even thought the lodge and another cabin were next door it was very peaceful and private. The wood burning fireplace was a nice treat even though the weather was not that cold.

Splashing Rock Restaurant in the lodge building served excellent food - breakfast, lunch and dinner. We really enjoyed the omelets, Reuben sandwiches, and medallions of pork tenderloin - excellent! Be aware that during the off-season and when school is in session that service during the week is slower because many of the wait staff are college students and are off at school. Mello out, be patient YOU ARE ON VACATION! Some people get all worked up if they aren't served immediately - they don't seem to realize they are out on the North Shore of Lake Superior, not downtown Minneapolis!!!

I was able to walk to Gooseberry Falls State Park each morning, it is only about 2 miles away and if you go early in the day there is almost no one there.

This was our second visit to Grand Superior Lodge and we will be back!

Room Tip: Don't stay in the lodge - choose a cabin.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017 via mobile

We went to Grand Superior Lodge in the off season, to avoid screaming children and crowds. The days were warm and sunny in late September.

We had a 2 bed cabin that overlooked Lake Superior.

The adjoining Splashing Rock Cafe is awesome with a Superior chef.

Leave your cities expectation of super fast service. Remember you are eating fine cuisine in the middle of nowhere and you will be fine!

The overall experience for our 6 days was a 9 out of 10. This is our 30 year wedding anniversary!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank aedarshani5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

$350 per night for a ground floor one bedroom condo I find expensive for what you get.

These are side by side town homes with separate entrances for 3-4 upstairs apartments (not include in the rate for the first floor). The construction is pretty (log) but poorly constructed . You will hear every footstep in the apartments above as well as the noisy front doors of the adjacent main floor room.

Restaurant in the lodge is mediocre.

There was a wedding reception in the town house next door with several tables set up between the two buildings. Lucky for us it rained and that limited their partying to their porch. It went on until 2 am.

View to the lake was beautiful but you have to keep 1/2 the shades pulled so the town home next door isn't staring into you living room.

I expect a lot more for that price point.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank AccuracyFirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

Our lodge room overlooked Lake Superior with a marvelous view. At nightfall we hoped to settle down and read our current novels-unfortunately the low wattage of the lamps inhibited easy reading. Also a fire pit directly below our room brought campfire smoke and loud revelry through our window - which we later discovered needed adjusting when we checked in the morning .Finally at 11:40 pm , the raucous chorus of baritone voices and soprano shrieks from the "thirty-somethings" around their campfire pit abated. Their campfire smoke was still evident, sad to say. At dawn, loud yelling began again. Hmmm? Lots of early morning checkouts yelling good morning cheer to each other as they all exit? No. It was a genuine morning Dawn, the hotel clerk. Hollering on the phone to potential guests . Lengthy and loud conversations. Then, a debriefing of the conversation by Dawn to a colleague with details describing the nature of the previous cranky caller. Great view of Lake Superior for $230, but not much rest. Also,it is a bit chintzy that complimentary newspapers weren't provided for the price we paid. They are offered to guests at other lodges on the North Shore. Fix the noise levels and this would have been a lovely stay- but overpriced for such a noisy atmosphere .

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank kmlprospect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017

We stayed in the lodge of Grand Superior Lodge a couple of weekends ago. I chose this resort because of the close proximity to Gooseberry Falls and Split Rock Light House and the pictures looked nice online. When we arrived we had to walk through a group of 5-6 people all smoking at the front door. We got to our room and it looked very nice (except for cobwebs). I was excited to step out on the balcony to see our view of Lake Superior. The view is beautiful until you look down. The balcony is right above the deck/patio for the resort restaurant. So from morning until night people are out there eating to see the view so no privacy for you on your balcony. Also, there was a wedding set up on the back lawn that started a half hour after we checked in so we couldn't use our balcony without intruding on the wedding. We could hear reception noise all night and room doors were slamming all night. The pool/hot tub is right by the room that they hold their receptions so if you want to use them you get to walk right past wedding guests. When I said something to the people at the front desk they didn't seem to think it was a big deal. We thought ok well one night we'll just deal with it but they had a wedding the next day too. This was never mentioned to me when I called to book the room. After my stay the hotel sent an email asking about my stay. When I responded with this same information they still haven't replied back to me two week later.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the lodge and ask if there are any weddings booked there when you are staying there.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sjancel9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews