We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Superior Shores Resort
Nearby Hotels
Country Inn of Two Harbors(Two Harbors)(Great Value!)
US$ 161
US$ 155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 177
US$ 160
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Viking Motel(Two Harbors)(Great Value!)
US$ 143
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Voyageur Motel(Two Harbors)
US$ 99
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 201
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (469)
Filter reviews
469 results
Traveller rating
177
132
70
54
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
177
132
70
54
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsburlington baymedia roomthe main lodgefull kitchenthe indoor outdoor hot tubnorth shorelake homesking bedmaster bedroomelectric grillgirls weekendgas fireplaceview of the lakeget awaystate parkstayed two nightsbetty's pies
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 469 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2017

In need of some fresh air, my husband and I headed north to Lake Superior. We discovered this resort along-side the northern shoresThe staff was warm and welcoming, knowledgeable about the area. Our room was clean and HUGE! I was so surprised at the size of the jacuzzi tub!

Stayed: September 2017
Thank AnnieQ41412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenna P, Manager at Superior Shores Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Hi AnnieQ,
Thank you, graciously, for your review! We are grateful that you took the time to share your experience. We can't wait to have you back to the North Shore!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

My wife and I have stayed at Superior Shores several times over the last 19years. It saddens me to say based on our recent visit this will our last stay. First, we were placed in the Burlington Property which we knew, but had no idea the condition or lack of amenities this property offered. We made the mistake of assuming it was a nice property because if the Superior Shores name. What a mistake that turned out to be. The elevator was broken (fine), the security was non-functional, the carpet in the common areas was deplorable, there's no outdoor fire area, and the duct work along with other mechanicals in the pool area are covered in rust. Oh, I almost forgot to mention the bugs in our first room. They were so bad the staff agreed to change our room after the first night. Then if things weren't bad enough we tried the restaurant. My wife's dish was fine, but my taco salad came without meat. What a nightmare! Sadly when these issues were brought to management they were dismissive and unapologetic

Room Tip: Stay away from Burlington.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank troyj967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenna P, Manager at Superior Shores Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Hi Troyj967,
Thank you for your review! I am dismayed that you did not enjoy your stay at Burlington Bay. We are very proud of our property, and we will work to ensure your concerns are addressed. Our Burlington property has security locks on the vestibule doors into the building, and when checked, they were in working order. We've never had any security issues at any of our properties, but we did install these to ease the minds of our guests that stay, due to the lack of a front desk at Burlington. I personally inspected your unit, as well as called our local Guardian rep, due to your mention of bugs, but we found that you were referring to fruit flies due to food being left out - those are a nuisance, and can be kept at bay by refrigeration of foods that require it or adequately storing opened foods/containers. You mentioned in your personal email to me that the restaurant was able to remedy your meatless salad in minutes - I am very glad we were able to take care of that on the spot! I am also saddened that after 19 years of good service, you would choose not to come back for these issues. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017 via mobile

Read mixed reviews on this place but booked anyway for a last minute weekend getaway. Peak “leaf peeper” weekend, so the area is busy. Helpful staff, clean room, adequately furnished, multiple pool/hot tubs plus sauna, outdoor fire pit and pool, easy walk to lake, dog friendly! Well-kept property with Wifi adequate for streaming Netflix. We would come here again.

The only iffy thing about the room was since it was a suite with living room and kitchen and two-sided fireplace, if you were putting the kids on the pullout couch in the living room and thinking you and hubby were going to have “alone time”, be advised any living room peeps can see right thru the fireplace glass to the other side in your bedroom. Not sure if other rooms are this way.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank JanaCraft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenna P, Manager at Superior Shores Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Hi JanaCraft,
Thank you for the review! We greatly appreciate your staying with us, and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully, you got to see the area in its prime!! Thank you for the words of wisdom :) We can't wait to have you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017 via mobile

It is clean, staff is friendly, view of the lake is superb. All of that is great. We had one of their suites. Bedroom with king, jacuzzi tub. In September it was almost 300 a night with taxes (taxes were $50 a night). The room was large. It had a deck. And a gas fireplace in living room and bedroom. Plus a kitchen.

The place needs a face lift. The restaurant was passable but very low ambiance. We heard someone taking a shower and couldn’t believe it was in the room above us. Yikes it was loud. For the features, not a bad place. Right on the lake and you can walk directly on shore.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Williamrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenna P, Manager at Superior Shores Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Hi Williamrush,
Thank you for your review! We are grateful you took the time to share your experience. We are working on room updates this winter season - and we hope to have you come back to enjoy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017 via mobile

Took our dog with this trip. Very puppy friendly! Our 1 bedroom suite in the main lodge was our first experience in the lodges (previously we have stay in the Burlington Bay). It was pleasantly decorated, extremely comfortable.

The resort has lots to offer for couples and families. A girls weekend would be so fun too at Superior Shores.

During our stay we took many walks, got to see the beaver while walking across the bridge to go down to the lake.

Bring your paints and/or markers to decorate a rock or two, add it to the collection.
So calming and relaxing! Look forward to our next stay.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Judy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenna P, Manager at Superior Shores Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Hi Judy,

Thanks for the review! We are so glad you (and your pup) enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for sharing your experience ~ we can't wait to have you back - whether you come for an anniversary, for a vaca with your four-legged friends, or with the girls for some wine...er, wilderness adventures!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews