We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“ok but missing some details” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aurora Staples Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stillwater
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Aurora Staples Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Stillwater B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“ok but missing some details”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2011

The good: the room was very pretty and had a better view than even the website let on. The hostess was kind and made useful suggestions. She is an excellent cook, breakfast was great!
The bad: the bed was very loud and squeeky-not what you might want for a honeymoon. I actually felt quite awkward eating breakfast with a group of strangers right after they probably heard our bed squeeking... I would have also liked 2 full cups of coffee delivered to the room (we each got enough for half a cup and never saw those muffins).the tub was comfy and visually clean but when we filled it with water, there was dead skin or something floating all over.the toilet clogged in the morning.
All in all this this b&b was ok but there atr definately better ones in the area.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thompsonamanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    319
    19
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
40
252
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2011

The Inn is beautiful, the service was excellent, the location is perfect, the breakfast was delicious, the price was right! One of the most relaxing and enjoyable stays I've ever had!

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jaletky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2011

My wife and I live in the Twin Cities and have "escaped" to this Bed and Breakfast on numerous occassions; staying in different rooms on every occasion. Every time we have gone it was just what we needed. The rooms are private and beautiful. The beds are cozy and the whirlpools perfect. When you first arrive you are greeted at the door and given a quick tour of the Inn. You are shown to your room and brought cheese and wine. After that you feel as though the house is yours. Even when the Inn is filled, we have not seen or heard anyone. That is until morning when again you are greeted with coffee or tea while you prepare for the always delicious breakfast either in the dining room or brought to your room. Downtown Stillwater is a short two blocks away. My wife and I have tried other Bed and Breakfasts and always seem to come back to the Aurora Staples.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vasquezsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2011

We stayed in the St Croix Suite, very generous room, lovely see through fireplace, that you can also see from large hot tub. The bed was very comfortable. Lots of room to sit and relax.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sue318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chanhassen, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2011

We So enjoyed our relaxing whirlpool with a glass of wine & appetizers. The room was spectacular. Cozy, comfortable, relaxed atmosphere. The homemade food is exquisite!
The owners are gracious & inviting. What a fabulous time we enjoyed! We plan to make this an annual event to stay in each of the different rooms. The decor is exceptional!

Room Tip: They are all beautiful! Experience each one!
See more room tips
Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Peg5748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stillwater
Water Street Inn
#6 of 7 in Stillwater
3.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Comfort Inn & Suites
#4 of 7 in Stillwater
3.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis
Downtown
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
#9 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurora Staples Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora Staples Inn

Property: Aurora Staples Inn
Address: 303 North Fourth Street, Stillwater, MN 55082
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Stillwater
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Stillwater
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,729 - ₹ 12,098
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing