We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 88
US$ 86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 83
US$ 81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 64
US$ 58
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rivertown Inn(Stillwater)
US$ 385
US$ 375
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Inn - Hudson(Hudson)(Great Value!)
US$ 71
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lora(Stillwater)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (373)
Filter reviews
373 results
Traveller rating
78
68
81
72
74
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
78
68
81
72
74
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsirish publift bridgecroix riverdowntown stillwaterhigh ceilingsbrunch buffetroom suitehistoric buildingoverlooking the riverromantic getawaymain streetfireplacehistorygift
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 373 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2018

The best part about the Water Street Inn is that it is within walking distances to so many places; however, thats about the only good thing about this property. We were very excited to stay at this place as it appeared like very unique historical inn; however, it was very run down and in need of many improvements. The whirlpool was an oversized tub that had a shaky faucet that looked like it could easily fall off the wall. It was not the romantic idea of a whirlpool we had in mind. The sink bowl was also shaky and appeared like it could fall off at any moment. The property has a lot of potential but it is definitely in need of a lot of improvements! Again its accessability to all of the shops, bars and restaurants is wonderful but that is about it. We paid $219 for one night and I found that to be EXTREMELY over priced for what we got. For this price I would have rather had to commute into town to enjoy the shops. We will choose not to stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
1  Thank Lindsay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa H, Guest Relations Manager at Water Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2018

Lindsay,

I am so sorry you didn't enjoy your experience at our inn. We are preparing to do a major renovation which will include adding additional rooms, a brand new lobby, enlarging our pub, roof top dining and a clock tower. We have already begun renovations in some of our existing rooms. We strive for excellence and while your review is disappointing to read, we do hope you will give us a try again in the future.

Take care and have a GREAT day!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2018

Recently spent 2 nights. 2 room suite, made to look as it would have 100 yrs. ago, but wit Jacuzzi, fireplace, balcony with view of river, lift bridge & very cool ice castle! Never left hotel as restaurants & bar were excellent plus all the hotel offered were all we needed. Add the professional, friendly & attentive staff & we had the best stay we have ever had in any hotel!! Looking forward to spending a couple more nights on a very special occasion for us.

Room Tip: River view rooms are the way to go!
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank oldcarguy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa H, Guest Relations Manager at Water Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2018

Thank you so much for such a glowing review! We are excited for you to return so we can "WOW" you again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2018 via mobile

Don’t know where to begin here. First of all was gouged for over $300 a night because of Super Bowl weekend even though it was 35 miles out of town and worth about $90. Secondly, this is what they refer to as “one of the oldest active hotels in the country, dating back to the 1890s.” Not sure its been updated since then. Cavernous cold lobby that looks like it was designed by a decorator from Tombstone replete with “drapery wallpaper.” Rooms were cheap, antique beds for couples from the early 1900s with mattress size somewhere between Full and Queen. No tables to put anything on. No fridge. No microwave. Coffee maker complete with ONE styrofoam cup. Jacuzzi tub probably installed in the 1990s that you couldn’t have paid me to sit in. Analog TV (do they still make those?). Breakfast was excellent in the hotel restaurant. Dinner was wretched with gray marbled prime rib and salmon cooked on the outside only and raw on the inside. Just a horrible experience. We left after the first night even though they refused to refund us the two nights not used. That should tell you how much we hated this place. Stay away.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank marcusg123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa H, Guest Relations Manager at Water Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2018

I am so sorry you didn't enjoy your experience at our inn. We are preparing to do a major renovation which will include adding additional rooms, a brand new lobby, enlarging our pub, roof top dining and a clock tower. We have already begun renovations in some of our existing rooms. As for you checking out early, you had explained to both our general manager and the owner that the other person in your room was being moved to a hotel in Bloomington to be closer to the super bowl so she could be with her other work associates and cover the game. I am sorry you felt slighted because we would not refund your money. I understand that weekend was supposed to be a birthday celebration and she ended up having to work the super bowl instead. It was not our fault your company decided to move you to another hotel for business reasons. We strive for excellence and while your review is disappointing to read, we do hope you will give us a try again in the future.

Take care and have a GREAT day!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017

We stayed here on a Friday night in November so I know this is not their "busy season. We wound up here after I asked my husband to plan a quick weekend getaway and my only request was a fireplace ;) This request landed us here, at a historical inn on the St. Croix River. The Inn is a nice mix between a B&B and a hotel. You get some of the old world charm and decor of a B&B, yet the rooms have TV, updated bathrooms (great shower!), and more privacy than a B&B may have. Our room was very large with a sitting room, a bathroom and a large bedroom which included a large whirlpool tub and an electric fireplace and flat screen TV. We did utilize the whirlpool and I was pleasantly surprised that there was plenty of hot water to fill the entire thing. We stayed on the top floor which most likely contributed to the quietness, and that it is the off season. The bed was firm, but we slept fine, and there were at least 2 pillows for both of us which is always nice! One firm, and another soft, a perfect balance.
We ate at the Irish pub in the Inn was was good pub-type food. There was a live Irish band which provided us with great music. The only issue was that the pub is pretty small so with the band it was quite loud, but enjoyable.
I would definitely love to stay here again, with nicer weather, to be able to have enjoyed our little patio balcony attached to our room to look out at the River

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa H, Guest Relations Manager at Water Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2018

Hi Sarah,

I was so excited to read your review! I am so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope you come back and stay with us when it isn't quite so cold so you can enjoy our outdoor patio (the view is breathtaking!)

Take care and have a GREAT day!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017

The lady who worked the front desk (Lisa) was the sweetest lady and was beyond accommodating. She made our stay feel warm & welcomed with a awesome personality. The room was beautiful, a Victorian feel. A great place to celebrate an anniversary! Will definitely be coming back sometime. Really awesome that there are Jacuzzis in the room/bathroom. All the staff was friendly as well.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tiffany L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa H, Guest Relations Manager at Water Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2018

Hi Tiffany,

Your review just made my heart sing!!! I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please come back and see us again.

Happy Anniversary!!

Take care and have a GREAT day!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews