We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Wonderful food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Domacin Wine Bar

Domacin Wine Bar
Ranked #8 of 91 Restaurants in Stillwater
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 21 - US$ 30
Cuisines: Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
minnesota
2 reviews
“Wonderful food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

We had the 3 course tasting menu which included wine with each course. We added an appetizer and the chef added a cava paring at no extra charge. The food was exceptional, apple fennel salad, risotto and beef tenderloin with a demi glaze which was perfectly done. Each course accompanied with excellent wine in generous pours. The hostess decided to buy us dessert, a lovely vanilla panna cotta with raspberry couli. What a nice surprise! That attention from the chef and hostess was wonderful and unexpected. The downside was the ambiance, very crowded and extremely noisy to the point conversation was impossible. Tables close together so that you could not shut out the shouted conversation of the guests next to you. Also it became rather too warm for comfort. If this problem were solved I think Domacin is probably the most upscale restaurant in Stillwater. We would return on a less busy night because the food was so wonderful.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank yellowcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    36
    9
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
hutchinson,mn
Level Contributor
81 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“great food and wine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

the selection of wines and food variety was excellent.
nice atmosphere.
good service
excellent food

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank sharonHutchinson_mn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stillwater, Minnesota
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

Alex is so nice and welcoming. Delicous food and wine and the portions and price are great!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Margo04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Still hopeful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

The first time I went to Domacin I was blown away. The steak tartare was excellent and the pork belly was melt-in-your-mouth bacon-y, pork chop-y goodness. I had a few good visits after that-great soups, green apple and carmelized onion crostinis, tres leche cake...so I was disappointed when my last two visits were not so consistent food-wise. One of them I had a pasta, which was mostly good, but it came with a poached egg on top that was cold. Not lukewarm-cold. I know you can make poached eggs ahead of time and then warm them in water-but I would be surprised if the intention was for it to be served cold. It was not appetizing. Then the last time I went it had been awhile because I moved away and it was a special treat over the holidays. I was thrilled that pork belly was back on the winter menu. But it did not live up to my previous experience-not even a little. This time my pork belly was a sad, dried out hunk of pork. It almost had that "reheated in the microwave" thing going on. The sides weren't that good either. I was so disappointed.

The service has always been excellent and my overall experiences were good, so I will still give it four stars with hopes that the consistency of the food will improve and it will earn the fifth star back that I would have given it after my first few visits. Previously I enthusiastically recommended Domacin to friends and family-now I will do so with less confidence, if at all. I wouldn't feel comfortable having someone be disappointed as I was since it is a bit more on the expensive side.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kkb19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great wine and nice owner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

I came in for business and is really close to Lowell inn. Everything was outstanding.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mlickne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Domacin Wine Bar also viewed

 

Been to Domacin Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing