We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jasper Motor Inn”
Review of Jasper Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Jasper Motor Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hyde Park
Reviewed 16 February 2016

Having just disembarked from the Queen Elizabeth Cunard at Adelaide we stayed overnight at Jasper Motor Inn Hyde Park SA which was so convenient to where we dined at our friend's house in next street but found it such a disappointment to us. Having the signage out front telling us it was a Golden Chain Hotel we thought we would be so safe in staying over. I was unable to even find them on the listing so why do they still have their signage out front? The rooms are so tired and old as even the TV is a small box style on bench that you had in the 60's, the airconditioning worked well but very noisy & is the old time rattle box up in the wall, the linen was tired & needed upgrading as did the mattresses. They required a 'sacrificial burning' but the room was large, tiny fridge/freezer wasn't sufficient for our use with medications, mesh curtain ripped & untidy, dark marks on shower walls, exhaust fan needed a good clean as did the windows, bathroom door squeaked, pedestal basin in bathroom with no bench space as everything had to be on the floor but bathroom large with plenty of hooks & large railings to hang stuff. Managers were Chinese (Asian) & were pleasant but difficult to make understand of what you require, just smiled & laughed (not getting to the point) but they did understand the word 'fresh milk' so the man brought over a litre of milk to me. A nice cuppa with fresh milk rather than UVF. Try telling them that one! But to be fair, pleasant enough but just not able to comprehend well enough to be in business. I do believe they need to take down their sign out front which advertises their business as Golden Chain if they are not a member as this is false advertising. Correct me if I am wrong or not up to date with their listing. What a wonderful location for a Motel, very quiet area being off main road but if only it was more up to date with modern amentities especially in such a prestige suburb of Adelaide as Hyde Park. Very disappointing! Not sure of who could stay whether it be couples or solo but I guess 'whatever' as may suite some but I would think again before staying in future as not up to the standard I would like!!! Very low budget & fine for those who find price & amenities sufficient. Go for it!

Room Tip: Depends on what you like as all rooms looked similar to me but one thing is they are quiet with lots...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Classyofnhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 34 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2016

Stayed for 2 weeks on a budget. Room wasn't clean so I bought some disinfectant wipes. Vanity basin was cracked and dirty. Some mould on ceiling where the roof had leaked. Nice lady at reception but limited English. Bed wasn't too bad comfort wise. Close to some nice cafes down King William Road. Photo on Trip Advisor page is not accurate. Definitely not for date night!

Room Tip: close to Tabor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Margaret L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2016

My mum and i booked this motel in a rush to find a place to stay while we visited a family member in Adelaide. When we arrived we were greeted by the lady host of the motel and she was VERY friendly and such a lovely lady. Unfortunately the Motel didnt have the same atmosphere. The room we stayed in was the “Superior 2 bed room + bathroom” - I can assure you this room was NOT superior at all. The only clean part of the room were the pillow cases and sheets, even the duvet cover had blood spot stains on them, which i didnt notice till the day time the following morning. The bed was shocking, it even had a huge rip in the end of the bed on the side which i can tell you is most likely used to “hide certain paraphernalia” .. The doors , cupboards and desk had greasy yucky finger/hand prints all over them. The toilet didnt even have proper toilet paper , they provided toilet paper squares. There was a kettle and some tea bags and tiny dusty glasses to use. The kitchen provided was a communal one at the front of the office entry and was very unorganised and messy. I would not cook in there. The towels provided were stiff and old. In conclusion I did not enjoy writing this review, because the owner was so lovely and kind, but clearly does not know how to run/clean a motel, which is very unfortunate because she was so lovely.

Room Tip: unfortunately there are no good rooms, all old and dirty
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LozC222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2016 via mobile

Greeted by reception who could only speak a little english and even pointed to the computer screen to try explain but it was in chinese so he printed out the page in english. Got to the room, carpets dirty, wood panels varnish rubbed off, paint cracking off ceiling, tv an old 43cm with a set top box, 240volt cables tapep up, air con held together with packing tape an old wall one, tiles in bathroom cracked, toilet bowl stained, vanity stainef and water damaged and the list goes on. Only booked here as it was recommended by a relativevwho stayed here some time ago just wished ee had askrd how long ago. We would have asked for a refund but after travelling from the country for medical and the bedding is cleanand we are to exhausted to lok for other accomodation. Would never recommend or stay here again

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Bert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2016 via mobile

Our room smelt like a chain smoker had lived there for the last year and you couldn't open the windows. A good location and comfy bed. Pretty standard motel dirty carpets is probably where the overwhelming small came from. I couldn't wait to get out of there.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Hannah V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hyde Park
3.1 km away
BreakFree Director's Studios
5.9 km away
Adelaide Meridien Hotel & Apartments
3.4 km away
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Adabco Boutique Hotel
#4 of 55 in Adelaide
1,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 km away
Adelaide Inn
Adelaide Inn
#27 of 55 in Adelaide
338 reviews
2.6 km away
Rydges South Park Adelaide
Rydges South Park Adelaide
#30 of 55 in Adelaide
444 reviews
2.6 km away
Chifley on South Terrace
Chifley on South Terrace
#37 of 55 in Adelaide
1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jasper Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jasper Motor Inn

Address: 17 Jasper St, Hyde Park, Adelaide, South Australia 5061, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide > Hyde Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hyde Park
Price Range: ₹ 3,267 - ₹ 5,973 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jasper Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Jasper Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jasper Bed Breakfast
Jasper Hotel Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing