We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (835)
Filter reviews
835 results
Traveller rating
521
211
60
28
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
521
211
60
28
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rice park the grill high tea m street historic hotel aveda products landmark center mini bar valet parking the lower level old world charm twin cities room service old school rooms are comfortable winter carnival fitness center
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 835 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2018 via mobile

I stayed at The Saint Paul Hotel for 3 nights. It is a glamorous, historic hotel with a very inviting Lobby area and foyer. The rooms were classic and comfortable with great beds and pillows. The bathrooms were functional although there were very small shampoo/ conditioner/body lotion bottles which are insufficient if two people are staying in the room - and no shower caps!
We had drinks and lunch in the Grill bar, which is busy and buzzy and the staff were very good and flexible quite orders.
We had an issue with a blocked toilet which I reported at lunchtime and still wasn’t attended to that evening. The bathroom door locked one night when the door closed and couldn’t be opened from the outside so I had to call reception in the middle of the night to open! Apparently it sometimes happens so beware!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank h0lidaylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianS6947, General Manager at The Saint Paul Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2018

It was our pleasure to serve you. During your next visit, just give us a call and we will make sure all your bathroom amenities are met. We apologize for the bathroom door mishap. I will check on this.
Thank you
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018

This is a great place if you want a change from chain hotels and appreciate old-school glamour.

The foyer and public spaces are very glitzy, while the rooms are quiet and restful. The bed was amazingly comfortable and the shower was perfect, with lovely toiletries. And I was very impressed by the range of the minibar - the Saint Paul wants you to have a good time, I guess!

There was a little disappointment with the views, particularly since work is being done on the garden square outside, but there isn't really much the hotel can do about this. I'm sure it will be lovely next Spring.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianS6947, General Manager at The Saint Paul Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2018

Thank you for your kind comments.
Rice park located directly across the street is undergoing a multi million dollar renovation. As of today, they are almost completed! Stop by again and enjoy the beautiful lights this holiday season.
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2018 via mobile

I have stayed in the St.Paul many times ever since I was a child.
It is wonderful to see the attention to detail both in the rooms as everywhere in the property.
The rooms are classic, tasteful and well appointed. Very comfortable bed and nice linens. The chair was very comfortable as well and the desk and chair were convenient and of a good size for working.
Valet parking is convenient and the cost is not different from parking overnight in the nearby ramp.
You must have tea in the lobby. A very relaxing experience, well organized and in a beautiful surrounding.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank pedidoctx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianS6947, General Manager at The Saint Paul Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2018

Thank you for your kind comments!
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2018 via mobile

Located in downtown Saint Paul this hotel is a true gem. It feels like stepping into history but with all modern comfort. The staff will go the extra mile for the guests and the food is amazing. Everything is at a high standard!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank 694katrienv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianS6947, General Manager at The Saint Paul Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2018

Hi Katrien
Thank you!
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018

We make an annual event of high tea at the St. Paul Hotel and it is always wonderful. The menu is a six course, delicious event with wonderful tea and the option of purchasing other drinks including wine and cocktails. The wait staff are very attentive and the guests feel welcome. The atmosphere is lovely with beautiful furnishings and live piano music - perhaps request not to be seated too close to the piano because it might be intrusive to your conversation but we've been far enough away to be able to enjoy it as background music. It's a bit pricey but very fun for a special occasion.

Date of stay: September 2018
Thank Carol Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianS6947, General Manager at The Saint Paul Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2018

Thank you Carol!
The tea events are very popular. Stop by over the holiday's when the hotel is decorated. You will love what you see.
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews