We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So educational”
Review of The Raptor Center

The Raptor Center
Ranked #24 of 108 things to do in Saint Paul
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Established in 1974 as part of the University of Minnesota College of Veterinary Medicine, The Raptor Center rehabilitates more than 700 sick and injured raptors each year, while helping to identify emerging environmental issues related to raptor health and populations. An internationally renowned education facility, The Raptor Center trains veterinary students and veterinarians from around the world to become future leaders in raptor medicine and conservation. In addition, The Raptor Center reaches more than 150,000 people annually through its unique public education programs and events. Come visit the education raptors with a TRC interpretive tour guide. Tours are offered every thirty minutes, on the half hour and hour. 10:30 a.m.-3:30 p.m., Tuesday-Friday 12:30 p.m.-3:30 p.m., Saturday and Sunday Tour Admissions Ages 3-17 $3.00 Ages 18-62 $5.00 Ages 62+ $3.00 U of M staff and students (with ID) are admitted free. Formal programs and other education options available.
Reviewed 10 June 2017

Learned so much about the different birds. We were able to get up close, ask questions and take our time. Granddaughter enjoyed the play area too

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank Punky A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRaptorCenter, Program Assoc at The Raptor Center, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2017

Thank you so much for letting us know that you and your family had a great visit. We love hearing about how families can connect here at TRC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"university of minnesota"
in 5 reviews
"majestic birds"
in 3 reviews
"bald eagles"
in 3 reviews
"bird lovers"
in 2 reviews
"all ages"
in 6 reviews
"a small gift shop"
in 2 reviews
"ask questions"
in 2 reviews
"our tour guide"
in 2 reviews
"across the street"
in 2 reviews
"prey"
in 6 reviews
"release"
in 8 reviews
"falcon"
in 7 reviews
"nature"
in 5 reviews
"owl"
in 2 reviews
"educate"
in 2 reviews
"paul"
in 6 reviews
"visitors"
in 4 reviews
Filter

10 - 14 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2017

This is a good attraction for all bird lovers. I saw owls, kestrels, eagles, a turkey vulture, and a red tailed hawk. They each have names, like Omaha, Darmer, Lois, and Talon. I got the story behind how each one came to the raptor center. My tour guide was very knowledgeable about the birds and the raptor center. The tour is a half hour long. Part of the tour is indoor, part is outdoor. Tours here start on the hour and half hour, so it was convenient for me to come whenever I chose during the day. There is a pay parking garage nearby.

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank birdlady07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRaptorCenter, Program Associate at The Raptor Center, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2017

What a wonderful review, and thank you for taking the time to write this. We are glad you enjoyed it. Please come out again and bring family and friends to share your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2017

Our niece really likes birds so we brought her up to the cities to see some first hand at the Raptor Center. We sat in for the presentation and then went on a tour of the center. The presentation was informative and the tour was very good that showed a very nice facility for the injured birds to live in. Our niece got to see tick to items off her checklist. She saw a Turkey Vulture up close (She didn't really like it, go figure :) ). and see got to see a stuffed Snowy Owl (Her favorite bird). We got to see following live birds; a Bald Eagle, Northern Harrier, Barred Owl, Great Horned Owl, Red Tailed Hawk, Peregrine Falcon, American Kestrel, and of course the Turkey Vulture. Great place to visit if you are in the area when a presentation or tour is going.

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank Sid_and_Roxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRaptorCenter, Public Relations Manager at The Raptor Center, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know what you enjoyed. We are so glad you came to visit with family and friends, and hope you come out to see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2017

While visits family in St Paul, we visited this local attraction. Great place to visit in a cloudy cold day. Great for adults and children as well. Our tour was very informative and educational. Amazing that this incredible world renowned facility is operated on "contributions". Admission is very reasonable with reduced prices for children and seniors. Worth a visit and coNtribution as well.

Date of experience: March 2017
1  Thank jjflan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2017 via mobile

Went here after helping my friends rescue an injured eagle. Staff was very nice and helpful. They have tours that last less than an hour.

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank Aaron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRaptorCenter, Prog Assoc at The Raptor Center, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to help an injured raptor. We hope you know how much of a difference you made. Thank you also for staying for a tour to learn more about The Raptor Center.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Raptor Center also viewed

 

Been to The Raptor Center? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing