We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brief informative and captivating tour!”
Review of The Raptor Center

The Raptor Center
Ranked #25 of 131 things to do in Saint Paul
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Established in 1974 as part of the University of Minnesota College of Veterinary Medicine, The Raptor Center rehabilitates more than 700 sick and injured raptors each year, while helping to identify emerging environmental issues related to raptor health and populations. An internationally renowned education facility, The Raptor Center trains veterinary students and veterinarians from around the world to become future leaders in raptor medicine and conservation. In addition, The Raptor Center reaches more than 150,000 people annually through its unique public education programs and events. Come visit the education raptors with a TRC interpretive tour guide. Tours are offered every thirty minutes, on the half hour and hour. 10:30 a.m.-3:30 p.m., Tuesday-Friday 12:30 p.m.-3:30 p.m., Saturday and Sunday Tour Admissions Ages 3-17 $3.00 Ages 18-62 $5.00 Ages 62+ $3.00 U of M staff and students (with ID) are admitted free. Formal programs and other education options available.
Reviewed 10 February 2017

Our group consisted of a 3+Boy, 8, 10 year old girls, aunt and Grammie, we all found amazing facts and saw beautiful birds. The Raptor Center had educational birds and many we did not see that were in their professional care. Omaha, the turkey vulture was feeding and sunning while we stood in awe of her powerful beak and wing span. The tour is of a small part for the birds' benefits but well worth the time and small admission for the five of us.

1  Thank CST T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRaptorCenter, Program Assoc at The Raptor Center, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2017

Thank you for visiting, and bringing your family. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit and that you got to "meet" several of our winged ambassadors. Please come to see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"injured birds"
in 4 reviews
"bald eagles"
in 3 reviews
"peregrine falcon"
in 2 reviews
"majestic birds"
in 2 reviews
"live birds"
in 2 reviews
"great horned owl"
in 2 reviews
"all ages"
in 6 reviews
"ask questions"
in 2 reviews
"great place to visit"
in 3 reviews
"our tour guide"
in 2 reviews
"prey"
in 6 reviews
"vultures"
in 6 reviews
"admission"
in 3 reviews
"parking"
in 3 reviews
Filter

13 - 17 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2017

The Raptor Center is located on the St. Paul campus (University of MN). It is not particularly publicized or pointed out; I worked for 6 years on campus and had no idea of its existence. When I finally found it and visited, I was entranced. There is a tiny free parking area right outside the building (this is amazing on campus, believe me). Tours are every 30 minutes and led by trained volunteers who explain the mission of the Center and its habitants very well. Visitors can see an amazing variety of raptors up close and personal. These birds are amazing and beautiful. I especially enjoy seeing the owls. I have brought children, teenagers from other countries, and senior citizens and all have greatly enjoyed this tour.

This is not a zoo. The raptors on display are permanently injured and cannot survive in the wild. I am very grateful for this Center, because I probably would never see these birds in the wild, being extremely near-sited.

My last comment is that the guides speak extremely softly, perhaps so as not to startle the birds. This proved difficult for my 95 year-old aunt, who is extremely hard of hearing. Even so, she greatly enjoyed the tour, and I will be bringing more visitors in the future! It definitely tops the Mall of America, in my humble opinion.

1  Thank sewist2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRaptorCenter, Program Assoc at The Raptor Center, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to write and let us know you had a great time. We look forward to seeing you and your friends/family soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2017

If you're in the area, stop at the Raptor Center. Admission is affordable for the entire family. Our cost was $13 for 3 people. Meet some of the raptors with the tour guide. Young children can color and touch different feathers and talons.

Thank Tina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRaptorCenter, Prog Associate at The Raptor Center, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2017

Tina, we are so glad you enjoyed your visit, and that you brought your family. We hope you come again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2016

This is a great place for a brief "museumesque" experience. When the kids were younger, they were mesmerized by the birds.

Thank lbhtd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRaptorCenter, Program Assoc at The Raptor Center, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2016

Thank you so much for taking the time to write. We appreciate your letting us know you had a nice time. Hope "the next generation" will also come to visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2016

We were in St. Paul for a BMW motorcycle rally, and the Raptor Center was doing daily demonstrations at the fair grounds, They invited us to come to the Center for a Tour, of which we did. We were glad we did. The tour was very interesting and the guide was very thorough in their understand/explanations of the resident raptors. This will not allow me to put in our actual date that we visited, which was June 2014

Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRaptorCenter, Program Assoc at The Raptor Center, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Raptor Center also viewed

 

Been to The Raptor Center? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing