We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience”
Review of The Raptor Center

The Raptor Center
Ranked #24 of 108 things to do in Saint Paul
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Established in 1974 as part of the University of Minnesota College of Veterinary Medicine, The Raptor Center rehabilitates more than 700 sick and injured raptors each year, while helping to identify emerging environmental issues related to raptor health and populations. An internationally renowned education facility, The Raptor Center trains veterinary students and veterinarians from around the world to become future leaders in raptor medicine and conservation. In addition, The Raptor Center reaches more than 150,000 people annually through its unique public education programs and events. Come visit the education raptors with a TRC interpretive tour guide. Tours are offered every thirty minutes, on the half hour and hour. 10:30 a.m.-3:30 p.m., Tuesday-Friday 12:30 p.m.-3:30 p.m., Saturday and Sunday Tour Admissions Ages 3-17 $3.00 Ages 18-62 $5.00 Ages 62+ $3.00 U of M staff and students (with ID) are admitted free. Formal programs and other education options available.
Reviewed 15 January 2017

If you're in the area, stop at the Raptor Center. Admission is affordable for the entire family. Our cost was $13 for 3 people. Meet some of the raptors with the tour guide. Young children can color and touch different feathers and talons.

Date of experience: December 2016
Thank Tina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRaptorCenter, Prog Associate at The Raptor Center, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2017

Tina, we are so glad you enjoyed your visit, and that you brought your family. We hope you come again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"university of minnesota"
in 5 reviews
"majestic birds"
in 3 reviews
"bald eagles"
in 3 reviews
"bird lovers"
in 2 reviews
"all ages"
in 6 reviews
"a small gift shop"
in 2 reviews
"ask questions"
in 2 reviews
"our tour guide"
in 2 reviews
"across the street"
in 2 reviews
"prey"
in 6 reviews
"release"
in 8 reviews
"falcon"
in 7 reviews
"nature"
in 5 reviews
"owl"
in 2 reviews
"educate"
in 2 reviews
"paul"
in 6 reviews
"visitors"
in 4 reviews
Filter

17 - 21 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2016

This is a great place for a brief "museumesque" experience. When the kids were younger, they were mesmerized by the birds.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank lbhtd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRaptorCenter, Program Assoc at The Raptor Center, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2016

Thank you so much for taking the time to write. We appreciate your letting us know you had a nice time. Hope "the next generation" will also come to visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2016

We were in St. Paul for a BMW motorcycle rally, and the Raptor Center was doing daily demonstrations at the fair grounds, They invited us to come to the Center for a Tour, of which we did. We were glad we did. The tour was very interesting and the guide was very thorough in their understand/explanations of the resident raptors. This will not allow me to put in our actual date that we visited, which was June 2014

Date of experience: August 2015
Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRaptorCenter, Program Assoc at The Raptor Center, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2016

There are classes and camps for kids and adults. They also work with groups . There is a tour every 30 minutes beginning at 10. The tour lasts about 30 minutes. Great fun for all ages.

Date of experience: June 2016
1  Thank mlovett88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRaptorCenter, Program Assoc. at The Raptor Center, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2016

Thank you for your review, and we are so glad you had a great time. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2016

The Raptor Center is a great place to visit for an insightful, one-hour tour. Visitors can learn about the regular tenants of the Center, which include an eagle, a turkey vulture, a hawk, and numerous owls and other birds of prey that have been rescued. Tour guides teach about the birds and some ecological issues. After the tours, my youngest child likes to play in the imitation bird hospital, which has an X-ray screen, numerous plush birds, books, and more. Worth visiting, even though you have to pay for parking.

Date of experience: August 2015
Thank Elizabeth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRaptorCenter, Prog Assoc at The Raptor Center, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write, and we are so glad that we could offer a great experience for your family. Our young visitors are so important. We welcome you to visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Raptor Center also viewed

 

Been to The Raptor Center? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing