We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite disappointed”
Review of Cafe Latte

Cafe Latte
Ranked #2 of 29 Dessert in Saint Paul
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 0 - US$ 20
Cuisines: American, Deli
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, View
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch
Reviewed 27 May 2018

overpriced and skimpy portions. I tried the pork and chicken liver pate sandwich; never had this before and thought it may be interesting. The preparer smoothed the thinnest schmear across the bread. When I saw this, I added tomato, peppers, and cucumbers. The result was a vegetable sandwich with absolutely no taste from the pate. At $9.95 for the sandwich, it was vastly overpriced for the resulting sandwich. I also tried their clam chowder which turned out to be equally disappointing. I only found one piece of clam in the cup of chowder. The only reason I give it two stars is while a disappointment, it was clean.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sailuver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (564)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

30 - 34 of 564 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2018

9:00 on a Friday night. $12 piece of cake and a small pour of red wine that wasn't very good for $10. Not impressed. The music in the back was fabulous! The service was nice. I might go back to experience the lunch scene.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank YearsofTravel4Fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2018

This is cafeteria style dinig but nothing like the schools I grew up in. There are two sides to the cafe. One sidei s the pizza and more like Red Rossa pizza. Good pizza and overall a little more “bar like” on that side. This is the side to pick up or order a whole cake. Day old bread is for sale on that side. The day olds sell usually early, but not always.

The other side is where most of us end up. The cakes and desserts are the first thing in the cafeteria lne. Simply said what restuarant can beat that. Order a slice of cake, grab your tray and start sliding your tray down the bar. Next is your choice of 4-5 salads. Samples are given if you ask. Next the sandwich section. Very good. Then my favorite the SOAPS. Usually 6 to chose from. Soups and salads all come with a bread. There is usually 4-6 of those to chose from. Try the orange curant. Finally drinks including fountain pop, bottled pop and coffees.

The lines can be long, and it is not a quiet cafe, but is usually easily tolerated.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank tasso p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2018 via mobile

Excellent place for lunch. Many choices are available. This is a cafeteria setting.
Lines move quickly and you can pass sections of no interest. There are many salad choices as well as souls and sandwiches as well as pasta dishes with choices of small or large. There are a variety of types of breads as well as sandwich choices. There are a variety of non alcoholic choices as well as wine.
Of course desserts are exceptional.
There are many seating options, upstairs and in a back room. Staff come and pick up plates etc. A very nice lunch!

Date of visit: April 2018
1  Thank jammerspot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018

Four of us went to a theater production downtown and then here to Cafe Latte for coffee and dessert before heading home. Two story seating after you go through the very long cafeteria line. We only wanted the desserts and coffee so it was quick and it was not busy about 10 pm. Two of us ordered the Turtle Chocolate Cake and two of us ordered the Raspberry Cream Cake. So delicious. My only 2 small issues are that the coffee menu is next to the desserts, but you cannot order coffee until you reach the end by the cashier....soooo I could not see the selections when deciding to buy a Cafe au Lait. The other issue is that it was served in a glass. Too hot to hold, why not a cup? Otherwise a very nice experience in an old -renovated very nicely- building.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank traveltheworld012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Cafe Latte? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing