We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Twin Cities Marathon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Capitol Ridge
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Saint Paul
Reviewed 3 October 2017

I stayed here for 3 nights recenty with my wife and two 6-year old daughters. We were in the area for me to run the Twin Cities Marathon on Sun., Oct. 1st.

As far as the location, I would highly recommend it to any future runners looking for a place to stay directly next to the finish line. My wife and daughters were able to walk out the front door of the hotel and almost literally be right at the finish line of the marathon to see me finish the race.

I thought the value as far as price paid for what you get was great as well. In other words, the price was very reasonable for such a great location next to the finish line as well as the quality of the hotel.

Also, we thought the quality of the hotel was great. Everything seemed clean. Check in and check out was very easy. Computers in the lobby with easy printing for boarding passes. Restaurant near the lobby, which I did not personally eat at, but my wife and daughters at breakfast there while I ran the race and only had positive things to say. Parking was easy. The beds in the room were extremely comfortable. I could go on.

Lastly, we took the shuttle to and from the hotel on Saturday to go to the RiverCentre for packet pickup and expo for my race. We had a great experience with that. The shuttle runs on demand. The driver immediately took us and dropped us on when we notified them we wanted a ride, and immediately came and picked us up when we were finished and called back to the hotel to let them know we were ready for pick up.

Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel, particularly if you are going to the area to run the Twin Cities Marathon.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 308. Rooms on this side of the hotel face the freeway but also have a stunning vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Will S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee F, Manager at Best Western Plus Capitol Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Thank you for staying with us here in St Paul! We hope to see you again soon.
Next year we plan to do even more to celebrate the Marathon.
It was a great event and fun for us to see the focus and determination that so many of the runners have.
Thank you again for the remarks and valued feedback!
Lee Fundanet
Hotel
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (462)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 39 of 462 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2017

Everything was clean and well decorated. The bed was very comfortable. The shower head was tall enough that I didn't have to contort to wash my hair. The hot breakfast was delicious.
But above everything else, the staff is what stands out in my mind. The front desk clerks, the shuttle driver- everyone was friendly. Even the housekeeper that I passed in the hall smiled and said "good morning."
I have to call out the breakfast staff, in particular. I'd had a late night out and tried to sneak in at the tail end of breakfast, expecting to get a very quick meal before they shut everything down. What I found was not what I expected. I had time to sit down and didn't feel rushed at all. The food was still hot and the eggs were not dried out. Josh asked a few times if he could get me anything else or if I needed more coffee. He and Yolanda really made it a pleasant morning, even with my hangover.
The hotel was also very easy to get to, for those of us who don't drive in the city very often. That's part of why I chose it.
I would recommend this place without hesitation.
If I had to find something to complain about... the bathroom in the room was beautiful, but the counter was small. That made it a little challenging to get ready for the night out. And the wardrobe in the room was a little musty- not dirty by any means, but it had a strong scent just from being closed up and unused so I didn't want to hang my clothes in it.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cindy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee F, Manager at Best Western Plus Capitol Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Thank you for the feedback and staying with us here in St Paul. We look forward to seeing you again next time your in the area.
Have a great week!
Lee Fundanet
Best Western Plus Capitol Ridge
Hotel GM
952-373-1567

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

Staff was attentive to my inquiries. Breakfast staff was especially attentive and sociable. Food served for breakfast wa quite good for a buffet - great selection. Got an extended checkout time with helped with my travel arrangements.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank richardkU2330CG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee F, Manager at Best Western Plus Capitol Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Thank you for the comments and choosing to stay with the Best Western Plus Capitol Ridge. I look forward to having you back to see us again soon!
Have a great week and safe travels if your out and about:)
Lee Fundanet
Hotel GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017

I was a late arrival. Greeted immediately by friendly staff. Hastle free stay. I enjoyed there spa (hot tub). Pool area clean and nice. This was my first stay at this best western plus. The breakfast buffet was hidden behind the bar. For those who dont know.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank verysatisfied87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee F, Manager at Best Western Plus Capitol Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Thank you for the comments and choosing to stay with the Best Western Plus Capitol Ridge. I look forward to having you back to see us again soon!
I like your comment about the breakfast location. Ill look into a sign that will direct guest to its location. We had some new folks in this morning that had that look of (where is the buffet?)
Thanks again!
Lee Fundanet
Hotel GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017

I was very impressed with the great staff and the hotel was spotless. Very good food there as well. Breakfast was great. The rooms were very nice, having a fridge, microwave & coffee makers. They had a great menu as well to choose from if you dined there.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank 490geralyna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee F, Manager at Best Western Plus Capitol Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Thank you for the comments and choosing to stay with the Best Western Plus Capitol Ridge. I look forward to having you back to see us again soon!

Lee Fundanet
Hotel GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Paul hotels
1.4 km away
InterContinental Saint Paul Riverfront
1.2 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown
1.7 km away
Hyatt Place St Paul / Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
#9 of 16 in Saint Paul
326 reviews
1.1 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Paul - Downtown
0.9 km away
Hampton Inn and Suites Downtown St. Paul
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Capitol Ridge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Capitol Ridge

Address: 161 St Anthony Ave, Saint Paul, MN 55103-2382 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Kelly Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Saint Paul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Saint Paul
Price Range: ₹ 8,382 - ₹ 16,699 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Capitol Ridge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of St. Paul's best hotels, the BEST WESTERN PLUS Capitol Ridge provides lodging accommodations near the Xcel Energy Center, Rivercentre Convention Center, The Minnesota's State Capitol, and the Minnesota State Fairgrounds. We are also convenient to area businesses such as Lawson Software, Ecolab, and 3M and area attractions like the MN Science Museum and the Ordway Theater. When visiting St. Paul, Minnesota make the BEST WESTERN PLUS Capitol Ridge your first choice for St. Paul Minnesota hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Capitol Ridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Kelly Hotel Saint Paul
Best Western Kelly Hotel
Best Western Saint Paul
Saint Paul Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing