We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jenna B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Outing Lodge at Pine Point
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
“Jenna B”
Reviewed 7 May 2012

This was my first time at a B&B and it was beautiful. I loved the "family" feel you got by driving up and seeing Choco (the dog) sun bathing in the parking lot, people working outside on yard work etc. We had purchased a crowd cut for this one night stay and was semi-satisfied with the room itself. I believe the Outing Lodge is remodeling all their rooms which is maybe why there were coupons at this time to lure people in still. I have no doubt that once it is done it will be spectacular. I Champagne and truffles were a nice touch as well as the jucuzzi (once we figured out how to use it). Overall, I would go back. They have lots and lots of fun activities to offer all year round. I wished we would have been able to stay for more days.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenna b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    81
    38
    26
    35
See reviews for
18
198
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
629 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

This setting reminded me much of the farm I grew up on, not too far from this location. It has a peaceful feel to it, surrounded by large, stately trees and beautiful gardens. The large park being in the backyard adds more space to find quiet solitude and commune with the outdoors. I do agree with previous reviews that the place does need to have a large clean up of the 'back forty'. I loved the history of the place and the historical themes of each room. If you are an early riser, make sure you ask how to get some coffee! The breakfast spread was delectable, with croissants and homemade apple tarts and plenty of fruit. It was difficult to find a date to use my Crowd Cut coupon and we ended up going during the week.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Robert Frost room and loved it. No jacuzzi in this room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlota1, Owner at Outing Lodge at Pine Point, responded to this review, 6 May 2012
Thank you so much for your review: we sincerely appreciate your posting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2012

We had a fabulous suite with a sun room off of the bedroom. The place is beautiful and the people are very friendly and accommodating. Oh, and don't forget Choco the Chocolate Lab house dog. The lodge is situated right on the Pine Point Park trails. We had a wonderful afternoon of hiking and exploring the woods. Then another urban afternoon in Stillwater which is right down the road. Don't miss this great place for an escape.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlota1, Manager at Outing Lodge at Pine Point, responded to this review, 6 May 2012
Thank you for your kind appreciation of the Lodge and our staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

I LOVE the idea of this venue. There were many positives, but overall the things that were negative greatly overshadowed those that were positive. The rustic feel of Outing Lodge is what really draws people to see you. It is charming. The grounds are fantastic as well as the gardens. What isn't fantastic...The back lawn/yard/dump area. It appears there are so many unfinished projects on site, that it becomes distracting from the overall ambiance. There are piles of wood/rubbish near the woods in the back yard that need to be burned or cleared, looks like something was demolished and dumped there and left to rot....what an eye sore! When you look out during day light hours while you're serving a fantastic meal...yuck! A bike sat in the bushes near the parking lot for the ENTIRE weekend I stayed...it just doesn't make sense. I read many reviews before coming to Outing Lodge and just thought I'd see for myself. I found myself wanting to dust the library, and organize clutter in halls and on tables. Seems like this place could be a GEM if the owners or management took a little more pride in their place and the presentation. I must add....the food was AMAZING, the breakfast selection could have been better (i.e. bacon or sausage instead of sliced deli meat?) The house that is currently being built in front of the lodge must be the main priority, but when people spend a good deal of money and expect certain things from an establishment like Outing Lodge, I found myself disappointed with what could have been.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cookieeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Oak Park Heights hotels

Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

My husband and I spent a night at Outing Lodge and found it to be quiet, restful, and truly beautiful. After going to Stillwater for dinner and exploring the antique shops, we returned to the lodge and went on a nice, long walk on the adjacent hiking trails (this is what I affectionately call their "fitness center"). We saw a hummingbird, some lovely wetlands, and a small lake, and, of course, loads of trees. It was so relaxing!

Following our walk, we went to the lodge and relaxed in the quiet and nicely decorated room with our computers (free WIFI). The room also has a nice, hot jacuzzi bubbly bath that was extremely restorative.

The building itself is BEAUTIFUL! It's not a Hilton, rather it is an old, rustic, wooden place that breathes "relax". Coffee and soda pop are served free, and the staff are willing to provide tours with a history lesson: the building used to be a poor farm, and it was completely restored in the 1970s.

Breakfast was satisfying: the coffee was strong and hot, and the food fresh.

I was thinking while there that it would be a great place for a long retreat, like a knitting or writing retreat, and also for a wedding. The grounds are so lovely, and the basement area has a dance floor and a stage for a band.

If you're looking for a fancy chain hotel, this is not your place. If you are looking for a locally-owned, quiet and rustic retreat with nice features (jacuzzi and WIFI), this may be your place. And with Stillwater nearby, it has loads to offer the weary traveler.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Park Heights
7.7 km away
Water Street Inn
Water Street Inn
#6 of 7 in Stillwater
328 reviews
9.1 km away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Stillwater
9.0 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#5 of 7 in Stillwater
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 km away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Stillwater
12.7 km away
Best Western Plus White Bear Country Inn
29.1 km away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Chisago City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outing Lodge at Pine Point? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outing Lodge at Pine Point

Property: Outing Lodge at Pine Point
Address: 11661 Myeron Rd N, Oak Park Heights, MN 55082
Region: United States > Minnesota > Oak Park Heights
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Oak Park Heights
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,280 - ₹ 16,824
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
19th Century History Preserved at the Outing Lodge European style 19th century country home, surrounded by lawns and gardens with 300 acres of wooded park land ~ a place where people would go to get away from modern city life. Pine Point was founded in 1858 as Minnesota's second "poor farm," a home for the chronically indigent or those temporarily down on their luck. Stillwater was a wealthy community in 1850, the territorial capital. In this abundant atmosphere, a desire to help the less fortunate culminated in the construction of this poor farm. The prize-winning dairy farm became both a home and a workplace to thousands of needy for almost 100 years. When the farm was closed in 1957, the land was planted in pine trees, now Pine Point Park. The house went on for 20 years as a Rest Home. In the 1980s, to save it from proposed demolition, Lee Gohlike began its renovation. He gutted its interiors with a reverence for its historic past: wide-planked wooden floors cut from old pine beams provide a perfect backdrop to the many elegant antique furnishings, numerous candelabra and massive fireplaces. Featured in Midwest Traveler, Star Tribune and other local & national publications, this beautiful Georgian home is a destination for exclusive retreats & events. Guests enjoy cross-country skiing, horseback and biking trails connecting to the Metro system. Theme dinner calendar of events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Outing Lodge at Pine Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outing Lodge At Pine Point Hotel Oak Park Heights

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing