We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be careful, no elevator!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Northfield
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Northfield
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Be careful, no elevator!”
Reviewed 15 October 2011

My wife and I did a last minute booking, attending a funeral. Got the last room available when we called the hotel. When we checked in and the desk clerk said "room 204", I asked where the elevators were............reply, "no elevators, just stairs".
My wife has two replaced knees and a replaced hip, so stairs are just a bit of a challenge.
My complaint is that this is so unusual by today's standards, it should be clearly disclosed on their web site. Apart from that, no complaints, and I agree with other posts that the rooms are quiet, as they say.

Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Callawassieguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guy0611, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Northfield, responded to this review, 21 October 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property after your stay with us in Northfield.

As you mentioned - we unfortunately do not have an elevator in our two floor hotel at this time. We do take requests for room placement on the first floor if booked in advance or if first floor rooms are available at check-in. I'm sincerely sorry that your location on the second floor made your stay difficult.

Should you be in the Northfield area again please don't hesitate to call in advance and request a first floor room - this way we can guarantee your comfort! I hope the rest of your stay was favorable and again thank you for reviewing us on Trip Advisor.

Sincerely,

Paul J. McGuire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    50
    22
    4
    2
See reviews for
85
10
12
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2011

Fantastic! I think this is the only hotel I've ever stayed in where I couldn't hear the TV or shower from next door. What a relief! Very restful and relaxing. The furnishings were fine, the comforters were cozy, the room and public areas were clean. Service is friendly. My only quibbles: the in-room coffee isn't very good, and the pool area didn't seem too clean. But the Jacuzzi was great! I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoxburyRusset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 April 2010

Thank you for a lovely stay. We know that there can be good and bad experiences at any hotel you stay at but Americinn really went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. We love the new bedding in the king room and the manager said they will be doing it in the whole hotel soon. Great place!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Markym2242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2010

Stayed for one night with a friend while visiting Northfield. The lobby is clean and nicely decorated and the front desk staff are friendly. We had a first floor room and it wasn't as quiet and sound-proof as the hotel claims it is. For example, the following morning the alarm clock went off in the guest room next to us and woke us up! Every time someone came or left a room on our floor, it sounded like an iron door slamming. The beds were very hard and uncomfortable - see the photo of the box spring - the beds are in dire need of replacement. The continental breakfast was good, but the batter in the waffle dispenser was either clogged or almost empty because it took about 5 minutes to fill a 6 ounce cup. I would probably consider another hotel next time I visit Northfield.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank checkdot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Covington, Washington
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2009

We stayed three nights at the end of May for a family reunion. The rooms were clean and the soundproofing was as advertised. While the breakfast was the usual continental plus waffles, we were disappointed that there was no black tea any of these mornings. We asked, but none was to be found. Each day the supply of teabags got lower and lower and consisted only of herbal and flavored teas. For those of us who like coffee, there were flavored syrup bottles next to the coffee, which looked promising, but they were empty. We even had to ask for cups for the coffee one of the mornings.
The other thing that we noticed was that it appears that they rent out the pool and breakfast room for private parties. As Northfield is a small town, I'm sure this is appreciated by the community, however, it limited the time we could enjoy the pool. As the weather was quite warm, this was an inconvenience. A pool full of screaming children is not where I want to go to relax.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northfield
2.0 km away
Archer House River Inn
Archer House River Inn
#2 of 5 in Northfield
131 reviews
1.7 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Northfield
17.3 km away
GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Faribault
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 km away
Boarders Inn & Suites Faribault, MN
16.8 km away
Days Inn Faribault
Days Inn Faribault
#4 of 5 in Faribault
273 reviews
17.0 km away
Americas Best Value Inn - Faribault
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmericInn Lodge & Suites Northfield? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Lodge & Suites Northfield

Property: AmericInn Lodge & Suites Northfield
Address: 1320 Bollenbacher Dr, Northfield, MN 55057-3609
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Northfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Northfield
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,558 - ₹ 9,884
Hotel Class:2.5 star — AmericInn Lodge & Suites Northfield 2.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your AmericInn Lodge & Suites Northfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americinn Hotel Northfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing