We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Appointment/Reservation scheduling issues, average resort” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand View Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand View Lodge
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Nisswa
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Appointment/Reservation scheduling issues, average resort”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

I stayed at the Grandview Lodge for a girl's weekend with a friend. The space was what you'd expect from a 100-or-so year old resort. We stayed in the main lodge. The room had a sofa, small patio, king bed, etc. The bed was WAY too firm, I've stayed at a lot of resorts where people complain about the bed's firmness (primarily in Mexico, the Caribbean) and none of them made my back hurt like this one (I'm in my early 30s, for reference).

We had some issues with reservations. I was able to make a 10 am appointment for my friend and myself to get a hot stone massage. The practitioner was great - but the big issue is that, though we were told 10am, we were actually scheduled for 9:45. We lost out on 1/4 of our massage, and still had to pay full price. Bummer.

The second issue was with reservations at CRU. My friend called to make a reservation, the person on the phone mentioned, 6, my friend asked for 7, they offered 6:30, then settled on a 6:45 reservation. I heard the actual conversation. The issue was that we came in at 6:45 and were told that we missed our reservation because it was at 6pm. Augh!

Finally, our cleaning crew didn't refresh water or coffee - we had to head down to the front desk to ask for them. That was not a big deal, just a nice to know.

I don't know that I'd stay at Grand View Lodge again. There are a lot of great resorts and cabins that we could rent that are closer to home. Maybe I'm spoiled by all the resorts that function like a well-oiled machine, but I was not impressed.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kenzielarae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

485 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    316
    94
    30
    27
    18
See reviews for
202
126
9
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maple Grove, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

I just spent a great weekend at Grand View Lodge with my sister. Arrived on Friday 3/16 for massages, mani/pedi at the spa - as usual it was a wonderful day. Services started on time, staff professional, friendly, spa was clean. Loved the lemon & cucumber infused water in the relaxation room! Cabin 126 lakeside was great, we enjoyed a bottle of wine, snacks on the deck. Fri dinner @ Northwoods Pub was awesome (spinach schrimp salad, wild rice soup & cosmo martinis...okay we are RELAXED gals. Power walked around the resort, shopped Brainerd, back on our deck by 5 for wine, cheese & crackers. Friendly cabins neighbors, weather had most folks outside but it was relaxed & felt like we were in our own little peice of heaven on that deck! Dinner at CRU, we had reservations. I travel frequnently, own a lakehome an hour from GVL. Born/have lived in MN my entire 50 years.... dinner at CRU was one of the best I have had in Crow Wing county in years, perhaps ever (except that I am lifelong fan of Norway Ridge on Kimble Lake) Okay back to GVL: staff at fronk desk awesome, same for Pub & crew & spa - no complaints what so ever. Constrruction underway at main dining room, looks to be ready by May & will be beautiful, we hear a new menu is coming as well...just got home hours ago & we are already planning a couples long weekend and will be back for spa weekend &CRU by the fall for sure. Resorts guests were diverse- gals weekends, couples, families and everyone we chatted with or observed seemed like us...happy, relaxed and enjoying themselves.

Room Tip: lakeside cabins have great access to pool area, playground, paths everywhere which make it easy for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
94 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

We have stayed at Grand View Lodge numerous times but I believe the time has come to look elsewhere. There were some good things:
>Registration process and staff
>Wait staff for breakfast
>Beautiful new conference center
>Breakfasts served were good
But there were plenty of TERRIBLE things:
>Pool---its getting old; it was dirty; there is no place to swim per se---just plain dirty
>Work out facility--its getting very old; equipment not working well; room is dingy
>Loon Lodge: filthy; mold; carpet was disgusting; old refrigerators; oven was dirty and created smoke in the lodge; TV's were broken; furniture was old and dirty.

Room Tip: Only ask for remodeled places to stay in---so many of their places (like the Loon Lodge) are dirty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank HLICguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkTine, Public Relations Manager at Grand View Lodge, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
We thank you for your observations and want to let you know the 2012 year brings many new renovations. Most projects need to wait until spring to get rolling but we are excited about being able to start early this year. First, our waterpark and fitness center are currently going through a “refresh and renew” project that will be making significant visual changes to our Waterpark Center. Also 20+ cabins along the lakeside are receiving large renovations including Loon Lodge, which many will be receiving full kitchens, flooring and so much more. We take pride in our property and amenities and work hard to make sure our guests have an opportunity to create wonderful memories. We hope you visit again soon to see all the new and improved features to Grand View in 2012 which also include our Lodge Dining Room and the Lakes 9 at the Pines Golf Course.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otsego, Minnesota
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

This was our family's 2nd stay at Grand View Lodge. Both trips were awesome. Check in was quick and easy. The staff members are all very friendly and helpful. And they also have movies that you can rent out for free, which was nice for our weekend getaway. We stayed in room #568 which was a Roy Lake Golf Villa. It had 2 bedrooms- each with a queen size bed and tv, and a loft which had 2 queen beds and a tv, as well as a foos ball table. The villa was beautiful! The fireplace was very nice to warm up by after coming in from playing outside. And we loved being able to have a full kitchen because we brought a bunch of food to cook, instead of having to go out. But we did go to the breakfast buffet (which was included in our package) and it was very good- lots of variety and fresh! Our family had a great stay and there's always lots of things to do at Grand View Lodge. We will continue to visit for many years to come!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkTine, Public Relations Manager at Grand View Lodge, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
We thank you for recent return to Grand View again. We are always pleased to see that our hard work and dedication are appreciated and it means a lot to our staff. We have many new improvements happening this spring and look forward to your family’s return to another experience “Up North” at Grand View.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Frances
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

We returned for my wife's birthday. Wonderful accommodations, with fireplace. We took in the Special French meal with specific wines and a somolier teaching us about the wines. Great value.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank curious2807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nisswa
11.7 km away
Madden's on Gull Lake
Madden's on Gull Lake
#1 of 7 in Brainerd
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
12.4 km away
Cragun's Resort on Gull Lake
13.5 km away
Arrowwood Lodge At Brainerd Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Magnuson Hotel and Suites Nisswa
14.7 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Baxter
13.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brainerd-Baxter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand View Lodge

Property: Grand View Lodge
Address: 23521 Nokomis Ave, Nisswa, MN 56468
Region: United States > Minnesota > Nisswa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Nisswa
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,806 - ₹ 19,883
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand View Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Create a lifetime of memories at Grand View Lodge Golf Resort and Spa, located along the beautiful shores of Gull Lake in Nisswa, MN. The Historic Grand View Lodge offers deluxe accommodations, exceptional dining, 45 holes of championship golf, the world-class Glacial Waters Spa, full-service meeting, events and wedding facilities, and activities galore on 2,500 feet of beautiful sandy beach. Grand View's lodging facilities are immaculate, convenient and comfortable, accommodating up to 900 people. Spread across several hundred acres, Grand View provides the maximum privacy, enjoyment, and scenic views for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Grand View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand View Hotel Nisswa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing