We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“In spite of the weather, a good time was had.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nisswa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lykins Pinehurst Resort
Midwest
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“In spite of the weather, a good time was had.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2009

The Lykins are amazing at what they do...running a family resort and making sure all are entertained. The cabins were great. They were clean, in nice shape, and cozy. The location on Gull Lake is beautiful. We had amazing views right out the front window. It was wonderful eating meals and looking out at the lake.

My husband and I took our two small boys, ages 3.5 and 1.5 to the Pinehurst Resort for a fall getaway. The weather was not cooperative at all! We had promised them some fishing, playing in the sand - possibly water, and mini-golf. Unfortunately, we were not able to do many of those things. BUT, the Lykins did everything they could to try and give us alternative ideas of how to entertain our children. They had totes of toys that we were free to use, two Rainbow play systems, a game room, rabbit ears for our t.v. and suggestions of where to go for dinner in NIsswa. After three days of very little play time outdoors we decided we would go to a hotel waterpark in Brainerd and found that they are only open on the weekends after Labor Day. After sharing this disappointment with Roger Lykin, he called a resort up the road and they opened up their pool area just for us. We had a waterslide and zero-entry pool to ourselves for the afternoon. It was so nice and the kids had a blast.

We were really hoping to use the paddle-boat, pontoon, and play at the beach but the wind, rain, and cold weather prohibited all of that. It is such a nice, family-friendly place that we will definitely take advantage of those things next time we go. And next time we'll go during the summer!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HEAVENLYLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
DeKalb, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2009

There is no other place like Lykin's Pinehurst Resort. It is the only resort that when you arrive, you're greeted as if you're family that has been away for a year. And as far as Rodger and Judy are concerned, you are. A personal cabin that is rustic but with all of the amenities that one needs. A beautiful quiet and clean beach to swim at or just relax and sit near while devouring a book. This is just a short quick way to describe Lykin's Pinehurst Resort.
The Monday morning "Coffee and Donut Get Together" where all of the quests assemble to get acquainted or reacquianted and talk over stories, families etc. This is one event that over the years has always been a favorite of mine and something to look forward to.
The area has every type of shopping one would like while on vacation. Go one direction, and you can find everyone of the basics from grocery, to "big box" stores to restaurants. Go the other direction and you can come across some of the most interesting little stores where you can find some of the most 'treasurable' gifts and items to satisfy about everyone on your shopping list.
Oh and lets not forget the stars. There is no light pollution at night so if you are lucky to be there while the moon is not in the sky, on a clear night you can not only see all the stars in the heavens, but also satellites. And lets not forget to send the children out to count all of the meteors they see.
Gull Lake is a very clean and clear lake. The folks who live on this lake go out of their way to keep it clean and healthy and it certainly shows. You will enjoy time swimming in out or boating on it.
The best I can say about Lykin's Pinehurst is that by the 3rd day, you will have forgotten all about time which is the reason to get away in the first place.
You will not be sorry you have spent time at this resort and will look forward to going back again.
PS. A secret passion of mine was to enjoy an ice cream sandwich while sitting on the dock in the evening watching the last boat go across the lake for the night.

  • Liked — Hard to say... Everything?
  • Disliked — Nothing not to like.
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank 2WheelsontheMove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopkins, MN
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2009

We have been going to Lykins Pinehurst Resort for over twenty years. first when our kids were just babies and now in 2008 we started another generation with our new grandson. Roger and Judy treat their guests like their own family. Resort is warm, cozy, family-oriented with lots to do or total relaxation if that's what you're looking for. Cabins are spotless and well-equipped. The beach is great and there are many other activities for families. Fishing is always great on Gull. We would heartily recommend this wonderful family as hosts and their wonderful resort to anyone. We look forward to heading up again this May.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
Thank Grandmapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2009

Several years ago my father gave the family boat to my sister and I. We, my wife and I, and sister and husband, decided to take the boat for a week's stay at a resort. Being late in the summer, we found a resort that still had an open spot, but were not happy with it. So my wife and sister spent a day visiting and touring other resorts in the area. They came upon Lykins and loved it. After the husbands then came to see it and meet Roger and Judy, it was a done deal. We signed up for the following year, and have been going back ever since. None of the other resorts had the sincerity and warmth of Roger and Judy, nor were the cabins as warm and welcoming as these are. You are just like family, and there is always Monday morning coffee and donuts with the intent of everyone getting to meet and know each other. They will always be checking to make sure you have everything you need, that everything in the cabin is ok, checking on the fishing, or bringing candles when the storm blows out the electricity. Lykins is in a great location for restaurants, biking, golfing, shopping, etc. But once returning to the cabin and coming down the driveway the lake setting is ahead of you and it is.......just like coming home.

  • Liked — It was close to the lake so you could hear the water and the loons. The view was beautiful off the deck. The deck allowed us to be out in the evenings grilling and enjoying scenery and each other.
  • Disliked — I miss having a fire pit.
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank peyho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ankeny, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2009

Every summer except for a few since 1986 we have been taking our family vacations at Lykins Pinehurst Resort. The resort is beautiful, the lake is clean and the grounds are immaculate. You feel at home here and Roger and Judy Lykins treat their guests as family. It is more than just a business to them. They enjoy and care for all of their guests. That is why so many of us return year after year. Yes, it is about the lake, the beautiful cozy cabins and the sounds of the Loons but it is also about the Lykin's family themselves and the way they treat their guests. You don't see that all too often.

Once a year for a week, we gather as a family and leave our phones, TV's, video games, movies, and cares at home. We play cards and just enjoy being together as a family at this beautiful place called Lykins Pinehurst resort. So many family memories that you hold near and dear to your heart. Even our teenage children enjoyed going here and looked forward to our family vacations. That says a lot about a place, when your kids never out grow it. We just look forward to this every year. The woods, the beautiful clean lake, the great hospitality, the wonderful nearby towns and shops, and last but not least the Loons................!

Take your cares away and make your own memories at Lykins.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
Thank Loonloverankenyia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nisswa
8.2 km away
Cragun's Resort on Gull Lake
Cragun's Resort on Gull Lake
#2 of 3 in East Gull Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
7.6 km away
Madden's on Gull Lake
Madden's on Gull Lake
#1 of 3 in East Gull Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
11.9 km away
Arrowwood Lodge At Brainerd Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brainerd-Baxter
13.0 km away
Comfort Suites Rapid River Lodge
9.4 km away
Kavanaugh's Sylvan Lake Resort
Kavanaugh's Sylvan Lake Resort
#3 of 3 in East Gull Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lykins Pinehurst Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lykins Pinehurst Resort

Property: Lykins Pinehurst Resort
Address: 1414 Pinehurst Ln, Nisswa, MN 56468-8786
Region: United States > Minnesota > Nisswa
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Nisswa
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,705 - ₹ 24,400
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a smaller, family resort on the west shore of Gull Lake. Gull Lake is a premier fishing, boating, and swimming lake in Minnesota. Our resort has a great beach, clean comfortable cabins with AC, nicely secluded, park like grounds, playground equipment, basketball, paddle tennis and more. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing