We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Perfect for us, but more soundproofing needed” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of University Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
University Inn
Ranked #12 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect for us, but more soundproofing needed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

My daughter and I stayed here for a family wedding. The location is great--easily navigated from I94 and in a fun, university neighborhood. The shuttle made getting to the reception site a breeze. I used a Groupon and the staff were welcoming and took extra care to see that we received all that had been promised. There was a mistake on our bill at checkout and it was resolved promptly and courteously. My only complaint was the fact that we could clearly hear conversations in the hallway when trying to fall asleep.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BeckyWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    99
    25
    8
    1
See reviews for
93
54
30
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whitefish Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

My son attends the U of Minn, and this is the most convenient hotel in terms of location. The staff is very friendly and the hotel offers a great rate for parents of students and alumni association members. Some parts are a bit dated and you can hear the plumbing in neighboring rooms, but the price and convenience make up for that.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dna6412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, South Dakota, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

The hotel is in the middle of fraternity row. We stayed during homecoming weekend and it wasn't actually too bad.
We stayed there as we couldn't find a hotel near the Amplatz Children's hospital that wasn't charging $215/night. The hotel staff were immediately accomadating. Helping us with the rate and being caring and helpful. Our baby was having a very difficult and stressful surgery and we were just looking for a place to lay our heads at night. We were astounded by the staff's helpfullness and caring.
The hotel is not white glove clean, no. But it was certainly clean, and nice. It was not the Radisson, but we really enjoyed it. I preferred this hotel over a lot of hotels we have stayed at. It was quiet, it was clean. No ice machines, elevators, kids running up and down the halls, no pool smells. It was a great place to just relax and sleep.
If you are in need of a place to stay to relax this is the place. And you won't be charged an arm and a leg for all the silly "amenties" the big name hotels have.
Stayed Oct 2011 for over a week

Room Tip: We stayed in a room near the front door and one on 2nd floor at the end of the hall. Both were quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berkeley
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2011

The location of this hotel is not bad, this is also quite cheap. However, I spend a terrible week there. The hotel is definitely too noisy. Not that the guests are particularly noisy people, but the bathrooms (air ventilation and shower) are extremely noisy. I basically woke up every morning around 5:30 because someone was taking a shower.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tac t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winona, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

Room was clean when we arrived with refrigerator, stove and microwave. Dishes even provided. Don't expect a maid during your stay, if you need towels changed ask at desk.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis/Downtown
Downtown
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Days Hotel University Ave SE
#33 of 49 in Minneapolis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Inn

Property: University Inn
Address: 925 4th St SE, Minneapolis, MN 55414-1944
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > University / Dinkytown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,978 - ₹ 11,251
Hotel Class:2 star — University Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated hotel just 4 blocks from the University of Minnesota. All rooms feature kitchenettes and are ideal for both longer-term overnight stays. Free parking for hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing