We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing”
Review of Elmwood House

Elmwood House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Minneapolis
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Elmwood House
Ranked #9 of 10 Minneapolis B&B and Inns
Nashville
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed 12 August 2008

My husband and I love B & B's and booked this one for 3 days. However, it was gloomy and unwelcoming. The innkeepers don't live there, they only come in for breakfast, so there's no one on-site for upkeep and hospitality. Our room was spare with not even a travel recommendation book in sight. The towels were shabby and the bathroom light did not work. Worst of all, the bed linens were uncomfortable and scratchy. We left after our first night. Breakfast was pleasant where we met 2 other couples. But this was, by far, the most disappointing B & B experience we've ever had!

  • Liked — Meeting other travelers
  • Disliked — Unwelcoming, gloomy quality
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank intruth7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

4 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    1
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
1
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2008

I stayed 2 nights at Elmwood House. It was pleasant. My room was really a nice size, though the lighting was not conducive to reading in bed, which was disconcerting. The caretaker, Kathy, was very kind and friendly, I liked her very much. Breakfast was OK, though I've had better" yogurt, cereals, fruit...The first morning I was the only one dining, and breakfast was all that, nothing more. The second morning, there were 4 of us, and there were pastries and a quiche lorraine.

One thing that surprised me is that nobody entered my room at all to empty the garbage or to make the bed. The last B&B I stayed at, in Palo Alto, CA, they did that.

I would, and intend to, stay at this B&B again. A great location south of downtown.

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Claire55812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2006

My partner and I stayed at the Elmwood house and had a wonderful time. Our room was charming, the bed comfortable, and the location is incredibly convenient to Uptown and to many lakes and parks. Our hosts were so generous and welcoming, and made us feel right at home. I've already recommended the place to friends visiting soon -- and be sure to try a walk or run on the creek path nearby, which takes you on a lovely trip through residential Minneapolis and ends at Lake Harriet.

  • Stayed October 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wessiecobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 4 April 2004

I visited the Elmwood House in December 2002, and was surprised of the comfort.Mr. and Mrs. Schlosser were very nice and i had some beautiful days living in their house.A perfect place to stay ! For me it was like a part of Europe moved to the US.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis
Downtown
Le Meridien Chambers Minneapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis/Downtown
Downtown
Hotel Ivy, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Minneapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elmwood House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elmwood House

Property: Elmwood House
Address: 1 Elmwood Pl E, Minneapolis, MN 55419-2607
Region: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Minneapolis
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,553 - ₹ 8,075
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing