We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where's the hot tub??”
Review of Super 8 Mankato

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Mankato
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Mankato
Sauk Rapids, Minnesota, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Where's the hot tub??”
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We booked two rooms at the Super 8 Mankato. One was for me and the other one was for my daughter's Boyfriend's family. We were in Mankato for Family weekend at Minnesota State U-Mankato where my daughter & her boyfriend go to college. Although I knew we wouldn't have a ton of time to spend in the hotel, I was looking forward to and expecting to be able to sit in the hot tub to comfort my arthritis. After the 3 hours car ride to Mankato and several more hours of walking, touring and attending events, I needed the hot tub. BUT, to my surprise, it didn't exist. I was clearly listed in the information I had and was even stated on the back of our room door, but it didn't exist. When my daughter & her boyfriend asked about it at the front desk, they were not givine a direct answer. In fact their question was avoided all together. Due to no hot tube, I spent much of the weekend in pain. False Advertsing I'd say. We won't go back there again.

Room Tip: If you go looking for a hot tube ask for proof before you book the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    34
    53
    30
    17
See reviews for
58
20
22
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toledo, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2009

Priced a little high, but service was very good at the Front Desk. No complaints.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dirk S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2009

I tried to be thrify and booked a room for two nights at Super 8 in Mankato. Our room was in the basement, which was a smoking floor. Who knew hotels still had smoking floors, especially in a state that has banned smoking everywhere else! Our room was smoking and smelled horrible. I have a two year old and an infant and could not subject my little ones to the smoke. The hotel was unable to change our room to non-smoking. The counter tops were sticky, the carpet was dirty, and the air conditioner had mold around it. We did not stay at the Super 8. We moved to a different hotel in town.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ang_Zoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter56001, Manager at Super 8 Mankato, responded to this review, 15 June 2010
We at Super 8 hope to make each and every guests stay a pleasant experience. We apologize if your stay was less than that. While we do have a limited number of smoking rooms, we do try to accomodate each guests room type request. We are very sorry that we did not have a non smoking to offer you . If you call ahead to book your room, we do tell you what room types are available. Again we are sorry that we not able to move you to a room that was more to your liking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Postville, Ia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 March 2009

We had a very enjoyable time in Mankato. I decided to try the Super 8, because I thought that the previous review was a bit MUCH!. Well, I was right. The hotel was certainly adequate. All three rooms we had were clean and nicely supplied. Two of the rooms had recliners in them and all three had very nice flat panel televisions. The rooms had refrigerators and microwaves that were very handy.
The staff was very accomodating, and even let us have quiet soak in the hot tub, even though we got in after hours. And to make up for all those calories I'd taken in on Sat night, the exercise equipment was available to keep me in line.
To give the bed bugs a fair shake, I lifted up the mattress (nicely padded, by the way) and checked, and there were NO bugs. I do have to admit that this was the first time I ever did that.
The breakfast was very basic, but for the inexpensive rates we were given, I didn't feel unfairly treated. I had checked rates at almost every motel in the city, and the Super 8 rates were easily in the most affordable category.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rest-my-head
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
illinois
1 review
Reviewed 16 January 2009

I came to Mankato to see my family and to take my daughter back to college. I decided to stay at the Super 8 because it was close to the road and pretty cheap. What I found in my room made me nauseous! BED BUGS UNDER THE MATTRESSES! I didn't even both notifying the front desk because they were rude to begin with so I just left and stayed at a different place. I didn't even want another room because they are all probably infested and if any of these things happened to get into my clothes my home could've been infested as well. I will never stay here again and fair warning for anyone else who decides to stay!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — bed bugs
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bsimpson4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter56001, owner at Super 8 Mankato, responded to this review, 26 April 2009
We here at the Mankato Super 8 pride ourselfs on our cleanliness and friendly service. We have our property inspected twice monthly for any bugs or pests. We use Plunketes pest control. This is a preventitive measure and has worked well for us. I can honestly say that we have NEVER had bedbugs. I am saddened that anyone would believe differently. Please feel free to stop by and check out our clean and comfortable rooms.,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mankato hotels
5.3 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Mankato
6.6 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mankato
1.4 km away
Budget Host Inn Mankato
Budget Host Inn Mankato
#9 of 16 in Mankato
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 km away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Mankato _ Conference Center
2.0 km away
Best Western Hotel & Restaurant
5.4 km away
River Hills Hotel
River Hills Hotel
#10 of 16 in Mankato
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Mankato? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Mankato

Property: Super 8 Mankato
Address: 51578 US Hwy 169 N, Mankato, MN 56001-6583
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Mankato
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Mankato
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,255 - ₹ 6,383
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Mankato 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Mankato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing