We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Otters Holt - Godford Farm”
other travellers have booked this property
Godford Farm  Owl Hayes Nr Sidmouth, Exmouth, Lyme Regis, Exeter, Taunton, Tiverton, Honiton,
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Godford Farm  Owl Hayes Nr Sidmouth, Exmouth, Lyme Regis, Exeter, Taunton, Tiverton, Honiton,
Sitting room with french doors to patio and sunny garden.  Ideal BBQ suppers. Dining area - high chair available
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Godford Farm  Owl Hayes Nr Sidmouth, Exmouth, Lyme Regis, Exeter, Taunton, Tiverton, Honiton,
Sitting room with french doors to patio and sunny garden.  Ideal BBQ suppers.
Dining area - high chair available
Double Room
Twin room = 2 single beds
Games Barn - table tennis, pool and bar skittles
Sunny patio for outside eating and relaxation.  Floral gardens.
North side of cottages.  Plenty of parking in front of cottages.  All size vehicles welcome
Owl Hayes - famous Honiton pottery name plate.
primroses on side of Buckerell Nap - wellies & camera  to enjoy amazing views of the valley belo
Bluebells on hedgerows and views across valley to the farm
Godford farm is in centre of pic - Blackdown Hills Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty
Bathrooms
Hayrack used as room divider, cottages were origionally stables in the 1700's.  Historic farm.
Wellies are everywhere on a farm! and very useful!  Sweet smelling roses.
Reference books for circular walks and places of interest
sunny gardens and orchard
Floral gardens and patio area
A real working farm with young animals for the dairy herd.  Easthill pedigree prefix.
Optional farmhouse breakfasts available 24hrs notice treat yourself to a morning off!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Awliscombe, Honiton, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
pennymabl...
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely location but disappointing cottage”
Reviewed 23 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

I visited this cottage with a friend for a 3 night walking holiday. Owl Hayes is ideally situated for exploring the south Devon coast. It's a short drive from Sidmouth and the South West Coastal Path. Even closer are the restaurants, shops and amenities of Honiton. We had a lovely meal at the Honiton Wine Bar.
The cottage however was disappointing. It is very small and would be a very crowded with more than 2 people. The twin beds weren't made up when we got there although the daughter of the owner was more than happy to provide us with bedding for us to make a bed up. The kitchen is very small and can only accommodate one person at a time. There was no foil, cling film, very little washing up liquid and dishwasher powder and a very old washing up brush. The double bed that I slept in was very comfortable but not so the settees downstairs. We were pleased that the weather was good so that we didn't spend too much time inside. The shower over the bath was inadequate, very little pressure and I had to bend down to stand under it.
The shower curtain had seen better days and overall the furnishings were a little tired. The garden, which looks lovely on the website was overgrown and in need of some TLC. I have experience of many holiday cottages over many years and this one is very average.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The shower
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jul 2015
Thank you for taking for taking the time to write a review. It was a misunderstanding on my part regarding the beds for which I apologise.
The cottages are annually inspected and have always been rated 4****, this includes exceeding the minimum space requirements for 4 persons.
I have purposely chosen to have Leather suites rather than fabric, as they are easier to keep clean and more durable and hard wearing, but appreciate they are not to everyone's liking.
Water pressure is not normally a problem here, there is a lever on the side of the shower cradle to change its position and height.
The gardens are regularly maintained and had recently been cut back to remove the white asters and other flowers that had gone over. The hanging baskets above the French doors and barrels of white agapanthus on the patio are in full bloom. The Buddleja 'Devon' is almost out in flower and will attract many varieties of butterflies, once it is a sea of blue. With a combination of bulbs, shrubs, climbers, annuals and perennials there is always something in flower whatever the season.
Every year the cottages are painted throughout during February and this year we bought all new carpets, lino and mats and also changed all the heating. It has been our policy since we started, to reinvest and renew.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick I
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Otters Holt - Godford Farm”
Reviewed 20 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
4
people found this review helpful

We stayed for the 2nd time with our 2 young children (6 & 8) for 3 nights. The accommodation is very clean and caters well for all needs. The farm itself was brilliant for the children who enjoyed helping with the feeding of the calves and were made to feel so welcome by Sally Richard and the rest of the staff/family. The surrounding area has plenty to do and we spent time in Honiton/Lyme Regis and a visit to Crealy Park. I highly recommend this location, the children are nagging to go back already...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Towniecou...
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Lovely bijou cottage on a friendly farm”
Reviewed 3 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We stayed in the sister cottage Otters Holt for 3 nights, whilst visiting family nearby. The cottage is small but has everything you could need with a full size fridge freezer, mini dishwasher, washing machine and electric oven. The main living room looks over the garden, with seating area which is secluded from the main farm. Sally was friendly and helpful and there was a welcoming basket of goodies including fresh local eggs, bacon, sausages, bread a slice of pork pie and some cereals and milk. There was also tea, coffee and sugar, so all the basics for a great breakfast.

The cottage was warm and cosy, and it was great being able to park right outside. We were woken by mooing cows and the sound of tractors on our first morning (it is a working farm after all!) and it was lovely to see the Blackdown Hills from out bedroom window. The only downside (maybe a plus side for others) was phone reception was almost non existent apart from on the upstairs landing. But you can live without a phone for a couple of days, and if you wandered into the yard you could pick it up. Our teenage children were more troubled by this than we were!

Awliscombe is set in a beautiful area and the cottage was full of details of walks and rides that you could do locally, as well as other good tourist information. The road outside is a bit busy at times, and the traffic is quite fast so you need to be careful if walking up to the village where there is a decent pub.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendly helpful owners and great kitchen for a small cottage.
Liked least: Wifi was a bit intermittent - but you can live without it!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vivian D
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect little country escape”
Reviewed 22 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We are a family with young children and decided last minute to go away to the countryside for the easter weekend and found this little cottage advertised on the net and available for the 3 nights we were after.
The landlady, Sally, was very prompt in her correspondence and we found it very easy to make the booking.
We arrived to find this charming, little, self-contained, rustic cottage furnished very beautifuly and neatly with a small thoughtful food hamper awaiting us in the kitchen. The cottage (a well-done up barn conversion) is set in a working dairy farm with lots of outdoor space for the kids to play in and is surrounded by the picturesque Blackdown Hills. Sally was very helpful in giving us some pointers in terms of nearby areas of interest and the children (ages 9 and 4) enjoyed running about both indoors and outdoors.
Owl Hayes is ideally situated to be a local base whilst exploring Devon - nearby beaches we visited were Seaton and Sidmouth (Jacob's Ladder). Honiton (nearest town) is a 10-min drive away and has a good range of shops and pubs/restaurants/takeaways.
We were pleasantly surprised having found this little gem of a place and will definitely visit again whilst exploring the gorgeous Devon countryside.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean and rustic set up, additional extras (collection of boardgames, kids toys, hair dryer, iron, fully equipped kitchen)
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irene B
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply Perfect”
Reviewed 26 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Found Owl Hayes at Godford Farm to be a gorgeous cottage, equipped with everything we needed plus set in the stunning Devon countryside. Not far from Sidmouth and Exeter, its perfectly located to explore what Devon has to offer. On the days when we didn't want to go far there were plenty enough walks round the farm fields and the immediate countryside. It was a beautiful holiday and would definitely go again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing