We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, fair prices”

Forest Lake Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 45 Restaurants in Grand Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 31 July 2017

Enjoyed the food here and the log cabin flair. The bread is warm and delicious and the wait staff were very nice!

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank souldancer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 54 of 206 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2017 via mobile

Ate here twice, once for dinner in steakhouse downstairs (there is a downstairs street level door for those who can't do stairs) then a few days later for breakfast up stairs.

Dinner in steakhouse was outstanding with a diverse menu of steak, seafood and salads. We were a group of 7 with reservations at 6 but had to move back to 6:30 around 5. Called the restaurant they moved our reservations to 6:30 no problem.

Server was great she got our drink and food orders with no problem. I had steak and walleye which was delicious. Baked potato came out hot which unfortunately only happens half the time when dining out. One person had ribs and said it was very good. Everyone walled away satisfied.

We liked restaurant so much we decided to return for breakfast two days later. This time we had a party of 9 with no reservations. While restaurant was busy they moved tables together and accommodated us. Good diverse menu, pancakes were huge...and great according to the two who ordered them. I had eggs, sausage and toast everything was prepared as asked. Server kept coffee cups full and made sure our mom got her decaf coffee and kept it full.

Restaurant has a nice view of Forest Lake both from upstairs and downstairs. There is also a neat looking bar upstairs off to the right. Nice old pine bar with plenty of table seating as well. Nice beer selection on tap and they have a popcorn machine where you serve yourself.

Wonderful place for dinner or breakfast. They do lunch too. Will definitely be back when back in area. My brothers really enjoyed their dinner here 18 years ago and wanted to return which is why we chose the Forest Lake Restaurant for dinner.

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank Bob1775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017

The packed parking lot is a hint about the popularity of Forest Lake with the local folks. Some tables face the lake - and all the tables are nicely set for the feast you will enjoy. I enjoyed a walleye sandwich which was the best ever!

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank 349Charles25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017 via mobile

Great food. Great service. Relaxing time with friend. No rush at all
The flaming shrimp was the best ever. It had a spicy raise that was perfect. Our waitress was very good.

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

My husband and I love coming to Forest Lake. Great food and wonderful service. The food was cooked perfect.

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank Heather A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Forest Lake Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Forest Lake Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing