We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 170
US$ 137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aspen Lodge(Grand Marais)
US$ 167
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Spruceglen Inn(Grand Marais)
US$ 100
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 325
US$ 290
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
East Bay Suites(Grand Marais)
US$ 251
US$ 201
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 43% below average rates

The price you found is 43% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 353/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Valhalla Inn(Thunder Bay)
US$ 125
US$ 118
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 185
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 120
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn(Thunder Bay)
US$ 97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (248)
Filter reviews
248 results
Traveller rating
38
78
62
42
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
38
78
62
42
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthunder baypool and saunamiles down the roadlakeside roomlakeside viewmurphy bedfire pitfirst floorrock resortnorth shorehollowfirewoodrefrigeratorduluth
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 248 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2017

Grand Portage Lodge, Casino, restaurant, and shop(s) is in a beautiful, albeit remote spot on the north coast of Lake Superior. It is also the takeoff point for day trips to Isle Royale National Park (open summer only). That is its good point.

Rooms are pleasant and comfortable, although minimally serviced--if one doesn't put out a "make up room" sign, the room will not be serviced. The casino has a sinister appearance--dark, gloomy.

The politest term for the restaurant is "it has a great view of Lake Superior." The food is mediocre at best, and indifferently served. The wine list is sparse and mediocre.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are reserved for high rollers.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank James E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017

We were so impressed with the Grand Portage Lodge and Casino.. We stayed there on the 4th night of our vacation after staying for three nights at Hollow Rock Resort which is associated with Grand Portage Lodge and Casino.
Our room was nicely decorated and felt and appeared fresh. We had a king size bed and it was very comfortable. It was so nice having a large comfortable chair in the room and my husband quickly commandeered it. It had a refrigerator and microwave and coffee pot too.
The casino itself was smoky but when we returned later it seemed much better. There are not many games there that I like to play and it is small with about 400 slot machines. However, it was new and very clean looking just as the other parts of this establishment. We had a light meal which was very well presented and tasted great.
All in all we were very impressed with this place.

In a side note: we really love cabin 4 at Hollow Rock Resort which is also part of Grand Postage Lodge and 3 miles down the road. The cabins are very well furnished and everything was clean and neat. We wished we had known of this place before. We had a loft with a very comfortable king size bed. A Murphy bed was downstairs. Kitchen was fully equipped as was bathroom. The winding staircase made it easy to go up and down...much better than regular stairs which is difficult on my back and knee. The outside area just feet away is Lake Superior. They have fire pits set up and firewood. It has huge boulders you can climb or sit on and watch Superior. No cell phone or tv connections but even though we use both, it was not missed.

Room Tip: Lake side rooms which are not that much more expensive are really nice with great views.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boosgma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017

Our lake side room had a great view of the lake. The room it self was clean and well maintained. Like someone else said not much for dinning options. We had the buffet on Friday night and for $17.99 it was not worth it at all. Food was cold, over cooked and if it could be bought premade it was. The roast beef and the cheese cake was the same temp:(
The casino is small but very well kept up.
All in all it is a nice place to relax.

Room Tip: Make sure you book a lakeside room. Hotel is only 3 stories. The lower numbers are better, no lower roof in your view.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jeffandbrenda2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

Great location for visiting Grand Portage National Historic Site! The hotel is located right on the shores of Lake Superior and is walking distance to the monument! The only down fall is the limitation of restaurants

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank ELFDUDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017

We stayed in "cabin" 6 (it was a small house!). Right on Lake Superior, the sounds and views are stunning. Semi-private lake shore (shared with the dozen or so other cabins), this small resort is well worth the extra miles up the shore. Pretty clean, well stocked. Plenty of space with two bathrooms, a separate bedroom, large loft, and fireplace. The twin bed in the living room was a welcome bonus.

Check in is at the Grand Portage Lodge and Casino a few miles up the shore. We happily left that busier environment for the peace and quiet of Hollow Rock.

Room Tip: Many of the cabins are right on Lake Superior, one even surrounded on 3 sides!
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews