We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A Memory Built to Last!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 11 Duluth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Memory Built to Last!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012

A perfect balance of refinement and hospitality! In all areas, this very magical place doesn't miss a single mark. You will notice many reviews compliment the breakfast and rightly so. I have worked as a chef in boutique hotels in the city of Washington DC and can assure you that Ms. Allen's cuisine is the best breakfast available in Duluth. Delivery, whether in the gorgeous and sunny dining room, or in a joyful basket at your door (highly recommended!), the flavors, the portion levels, the choice of cuisine, all gentle and fulfilling. Our room impeccably clean and decorated for royalty! The colorful gardens and the gazebo lighted throughout the night added a touch of romance and comfort. Tim and Angie have the warmest smiles! This is a flawlessly decorated and very organized B & B with new movies available, games, wine, assorted beverages, great in room massages (Thank you, Margaret!), and delicious warm cookies when you arrive from treks and adventures in pleasant Duluth. "C'est magnifique!"

Room Tip: We stayed in the quaint Salyards room and would have a hard time even wanting to try another on our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Escoffier7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

725 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    717
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
619
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liberty, Texas
Level Contributor
231 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

We stayed here due to it being the number one bed and breakfast in the U.S. on trip advisor.
We were greeted warmly by Angie and given a tour of the property. We stayed in the Lake Superior Suite which is a separate building from the main house. I have almost decided in our stays at different B&B's that I would rather stay in the main house instead of having to walk over. There is no ice in the carriage house and you have to walk over to get it. The breakfast was good, each day had something made with a wild rice that is native to their area so it was not to my particular taste. The property is very clean and we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scook112301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le Sueur, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

We have stayed at all types of places and in all kinds of places including several trips to Duluth but never have we had such a relaxing time. Thank you to Tim and Angie for an outstanding job with their home, their grounds, their service and don’t get me started about the food. Mother Nature may not have cooperated but in our Lake Superior Suite we did not care. All the special touches they provide will keep you happy no matter what the weather may do.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Minnesota
Level Contributor
101 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

We've stayed in a number of B&Bs. While most were very good, only a few were exceptional. The A.G. Thomson House is one of the exceptional ones. Our room was large and spotlessly clean. Angie and Tim were excellent hosts and breakfast was outstanding. The neighborhood was very quiet.The little touches like the chocolates on the bed and water, wine and soda in the refrigerator illustrate the first class treatment there.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MN_Fernando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Thomson House during our stay in Duluth for my wife's 30th birthday and it was the perfect place to stay! The Lake Superior Suite was gorgeous and made us feel at home. It was even nicer than the pictures! We enjoyed the suite and also spending time in the living room and sunroom of the main house just talking or browsing through all the interesting books and magazines. Ameneties such as the supply of delicious goodies, and a wide selection of DVD's to enjoy were also very nice. The breakfasts were delicious and Tim and Angie were also helpful in accommodating diet restrictions in the meals (I think it was the best french toast I've ever had!). All in all, we had a wonderful stay. The Thomson house is a true gem!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Duluth hotels
4.9 km away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
4.5 km away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
4.0 km away
The Inn On Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
4.1 km away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
5.0 km away
Pier B Resort
Pier B Resort
#13 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast

Property: A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 2617 East Third Street, Duluth, MN 55812
Region: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Duluth
Price range (per night): ₹ 17,096 - ₹ 23,839
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casual elegance abounds perched above majestic Lake Superior amid towering pines nestled in the heart of Duluth's Historic Congdon Mansion District on two acres of private grounds and among award winning gardens. Our Duluth Bed and Breakfast features seven guests rooms with wonderful amenities such as King or Queen Beds, Fireplaces, Lake Views, A/C, HDTV/DVD, and so much more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
a.g. Thomson House: Historic b&b
a.g. Thomson House: Historic Hotel Duluth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing